Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

extremely bad service for a 5 star hotel

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff at reception is incapable of providing basic service for a 5 star hotel. Its a shame and disappointment.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Staff has to be more efficient. Perhaps upgrading the IT systems will help.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Andy from UAE

Great service and restaurants

Posted May 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
The service at the hotel really is first class as it the Chinese restaurant, which is probably the does best Chinese buffet I've had anywhere. The spa is very good and reasonably priced compared to many 5 star hotels and the pool is very nice. My only complaint is that they will not give you a late check out after 12:00 regardless of how long or often you've stayed there etc. After spending over US$2,000 at the hotel I thought that a request for a 2 hour extension was quite reasonable, but they weren't interested. Saying that this is still one of the best hotels in Jakarta and something of an institution. I will be staying there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Vijay from singapore

Great service great food

Posted Apr 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quality hotel, conveniently located. Friendly staff and great food options
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rashid from abu dhabi

hotel near famous shopping malls

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: cant think of any
Location: a lots of things to do beside shopping
the hotel is clean with all facilities you would like to have, staff are polite and great help, its one of the best hotels I have stayed in across the globe, simply great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from London

Good location in traffic and green surroundings

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: Great service, food, pleasant pool bar, large comfortable rooms
Cons: Awkward having no ATM onsite and the nearest one is a dark walk around heavy traffic to the gas station behind the hotel or a taxi to the mall
Location: Senayan mall 20 minutes walk
The Cafe lunchtime buffet is excellent and good value Compared to Shangri La for example, traffic situation is a little easier
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dan from Australia

Time to find a new person to manage this hotel

Posted Mar 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
My partner and I stayed for two nights at The Mulia to celebrate her Birthday.i chose this hotel as I believed it was the best hotel in Jakarta. I know know that not to be the case. First of all please retrain your restaurant staff, no sooner had we sat down at their Japanese restaurant for a romantic dinner to celebrate , when the waitress demanded we either buy a bottle of wine or sake . After informing her that neither of us drank alcohol she laughed and continued to ask us, it was quite uncomfortable. Then after she left another waiter came over and started to ask us again to order alcohol . We had to ask to change rooms as the room we had at the front of the building was far too noisy to sleep , and yes everything is dated in the room , the televisions are old , at least they no longer charge for wifi , but it is a very uncomfortable feeling at this hotel where at breakfast the staff are in a hurry to get you finished with even though it wasn't overly busy. The gym is poor by 5 star hotel standards considering that we share it with " members" . Systems need to be put in place as far as taxis are concerned and restaurant staff need to be trained to reach the standard of other hotels in Jakarta .
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Frequent traveller from Singapore

First and last time

Posted Jan 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
As a very regular hotel guest in Jakarta I always wanted to try out the Hotel Mulia. It was a big disappointment. The moment I arrived at the counter, I was confronted with a hard sell to extract additional money from me as the hotel stay was prepaid. Heavy handed and in-your-face security is evident throughout the hotel. Nothing discreet about it! It actually made me feel less secure as I wondered what necessitated all these people dressed in black. This became apparent when I was prevented from taking a beverage to my room from the hotel cafe.by one of them. The business center was very expensive and used "unauthenticated software" and expired anti virus software. Overall a rather pretentious and very expensive hotel lacking the charm and graciousness of many other hotels in Jakarta. This was my first and my last visit!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Security and Customers Service
I stayed in this hotel alone for business. What I love the most about this hotel is that the security excellency, I felt very safe in the hotel. I was also very impressed with the police men (I think they are hired by the hotel itself) outside the hotel who were so helpful in giving direction and even stopped the traffic just for me to cross over to the other side of the road (there was no zebra crossing). Besides that, the hotel staffs are extremely helpful, friendly and well versed in English. I was very happy with my stay in this hotel and I would highly recommend anyone who plans to have a business trip to Jakarta to stay in the Mulia Hotel!