Ratings based on 481 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth, Australia

Icefields Parkway Spectacular view

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The location, the view & the staff
Location: Ice Explorer, Glacier Skywalk
I've rated this hotel 5 stars because for the location - its as good as it gets. Be warned when you get to the Athabasca glacier, there's no connection to the rest of the world - no mobile coverage by anyone, no wifi - nothing. Just you & the ice. This place operates only for 6 months in the year, the rest of the time it is abandoned/closed. For that it is better than I expected - rooms were clean, staff were very pleasant, helpful & cheerful - and of course the view is absolutely spectacular. The restaurant isn't cheap but the food is good. There is also a café but in my opinion the restaurant is better value for money than the café.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Didn't enjoy my stay

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Hotel is extremely hard to find at night. There are no lights and no signs to guide you to where the parking lot is. Finding the place was extremely frustrating. Hotel bed sheets smell very stale. The rooms look very creepy/eery. The walls are poorly insulated so noisy neighbours are an issue. Food on the 2nd floor is extremely overpriced and extremely poor quality. I really did not enjoy my stay and couldn't wait to get out of here. No matter how cheap, I will not be booking here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Better than expected

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The size of the rooms. Plenty of space for everyoi
I read many of the reviews; they got me worried, but in fact I reckon those folks were just extra- fussy. The reception area was easy to find, I didn't expect wifi in the mountains, the rooms were large and very clean. We took food for supper and breakfast -- and all was well with our world.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location across from Columbia Icefields

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pleasantly surprised! We had a corner room that was very large and had a fabulous view of the surrounding mountains and glacier. It was off-season so nice nd quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing experience

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Room is very hot, and noise, smelled like you were living a kitchen.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom alberta

Less than impressed

Posted Oct 10, 2014
I was very disappointed in our stay, my husband and I were booked to stay for 2 nights and we left after the first night. There was no wifi or cell service, the restaurant was over priced, the hotel room had wallpaper coming off the wall and we almost drove past the hotel because it was not very well lit. We did not see any signs with the hotel name on it so we almost drove past it and we arrived after dark and found that the walkways into the hotel were poorly lit.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

Hotel Entrance

Posted Oct 9, 2014
Pros: The view of the glacier from our room was spectacular.
Cons: Hotel guests need better signs for registering and parking.
Location: We did the Glacier Sky walk. Jasper is only a 100 kms away.
The entrance to the hotel was not well marked. Too long of a walk from the car to the hotel. Too far to carry luggage. The hotel parking was not marked, we parked in day use and climbed a number of stairs to find the lobby. It took 10 minutes trying to find the Lobby to register.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Halifax, NS

Nice experience, beautiful view

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: The location of course.
Cons: As per above experience
Location: The hotel is between beautiful mountains. The Skywalk is only a few minutes by bus. If you like to take pictures, this is the place.
Finding the lobby, which everybody seem to have a problem to locate is non sense. More directions are needed. We were 4 person in our party and none of us could find it. After, you find the lobby, then you have to deal with getting your luggage in your car, which is very far from the hotel. Guests should be able to bring their vehicle closer to the hotel to unload, then parked it the other side of the bridge. After you are ready to go to your room(s) everything is fine. Nice hotel, nice room, nice dinning room. The problem is that after check-in, which is not a pleasant experience, your expectation(s) are low, but don't worry, everything is excellent after that process.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified travelerfrom australia

Only stayed because of location

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: Big rooms. Noise level ok. Location to glacier- hence the recommendation to a friend.
Cons: Carpet cleaning , new pillows. Lift and entry looks worn and run down.
Location: Glacier!
We knew we had a huge day of driving and exploring planned from Miette hot springs so booked this as we expected to be in late and had arranged to do Skywalk and Glacier Adventure... So figured overnight here, for early morning glacier. On arrival we were greeted very rudely and arrogantly by a young Australian girl. Anyhow, room was as expected- worn carpets, furniture ok, cleanliness a pass. It's not awful but it needs a bit of TLC. Kids loved the fact that they had an upstairs bedroom to themselves. So, space was a plus. Lumpy pillows. Noise level ok. Saw mountain goats from our window in morning. Great view of glacier from hotel restaurant. Chinese dinner at restaurant was unexpectedly good.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Edmonton

nice view of glacier

Posted Oct 5, 2014
Pros: Room clean and view nice
Cons: More lighting in the parking lot and more than one restaurant to choice from. No convenience store open late after five pm.
This Hotel was extremely hard to locate. It requires a large sign on the highway, there was none to be found from Jasper to and past the interpretive centre. Only a small sign on the entrance door of the interpretive centre. There was no address on the internet for a gps to follow and no address on my confirmed email neither.