Ratings based on 44 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by ldickeyfrom Gentry Ar

bad location

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
the room did not look at all like the picture, it was dark and narrow made me feel claustrophobic . our room was 10 feet from the front desk. ended up not even staying the night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Manesh, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Sorry you did not like our location or rooms. The majority of our guests are pleased with our spacious rooms and scenic location. We are conveniently located off of Hwy 75 and 121st Street in Glenpool, OK with easy access to shopping, restaurants, local attractions and surrounding communities. We hope you enjoy your travels. Manesh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J.from Cambridge, MA

Convenient and very clean

Posted May 31, 2014
Pros: Off Hwy 75 near Sapulpa and Jenks--easy to get to Tulsa Very clean Friendly staff Comfy beds Large rooms & bathrooms Outdoor pool
Location: Hwy 75 near Sapulpa Restaurants, Walmart in mall across hwy 10 min. to River Spirit Casino & Aquarium 20 min. to Tulsa; 30 to airport
It was a perfect place to stay for my class reunion nearby. The rooms were spacious and the place was very clean. Felt very safe and it was nice to have a quick breakfast in-house before leaving for the day. Staff was polite and courteous and grounds were very well kept. Will definitely stay again next year!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manesh, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are pleased you found our accommodations to be acceptable. We hope you will return again in the future. Thanks again! Manesh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Fatinafrom Cibolo

close to new upcoming area

Posted May 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Quality of service was great. Nice pool. Located near good food and a new shopping area. Also, close to Oklahoma Aquarium in Jenks.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Manesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review. We are glad you liked our location and service. Hope to see you again soon! Manesh
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location

Posted May 23, 2014
Most of the staff was very helpful and pleasant with the exception of one who did not want to be there and made it clear. Could stand to have another computer in the business center. Coffee around the clock was a nice feature.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2014 by Manesh, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comments. Your feedback is much appreciated and we will try to make improvements on your suggestions. Manesh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Wonderful staff and facility!

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was extremely friendly and welcoming. I would definitely stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Manesh, Hotel Management
Wow! Thanks for your comments. My staff appreciates your kind words. Hope to see you again! Manesh
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Vikkiefrom Oklahoma

Great place to stay

Posted Apr 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were nice, location was great!
1 out of 5
by Brandyfrom Oklahoma

Don't waste your money!!

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: N/A
Cons: Hire professional and honest staff.
After a check in where I found out that I WAY overpaid for the room and was lied to (strike #1), I just wanted to go to bed. The next morning I went to take a shower & there are no bath towels (strike #2 at the point). I called down & towels were brought. As I went to get ready using the sink, I noticed that there was a clump of long black hair on the provided toiletries!! I have blond hair, so it either had to be from a previous guest & the bathroom had not been cleaned at all or housekeeping did not do a thorough job cleaning (strike #3!!). Makes me wonder if the sheets had even been changed from the previous guest!! DISGUSTING!!! I will not return to this unprofessional hotel at all & will let others that use this hotel know. It was a poor representation of the Comfort Inn company!! I even let the attendant know about all 3 complaints & he informed me that they a lady in housekeeping who is new and not good. He supposedly wrote my complaints down on a post-it and was sorry for my experience. Very unprofessional to talk about your employees in that manner to a guest. ABSOLUTELY UNPROFESSIONAL on all levels!! We overpaid for a room that was not clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2014 by Manesh, Hotel Management
Dear Brandy, Thank you for your review. I can assure you that the rate you paid on Expedia is the same rate you would have paid had you chosen to book with the hotel directly. You have not overpaid for the room. Your negativity is stemming from this misunderstanding. Our housekeepers work tirelessly, most of the time without recognition or appreciation, to provide a clean, comfortable environment for our guests. Bath towels are provided on the rack in the shower. They are often overlooked by our guests. If there is a problem with housekeeping, please understand they are human and can make mistakes, just like you. Sincerely, Manesh
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 13, 2014 on Hotels.com