Ratings based on 589 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Across the river 2 stops from World Trade Centre

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: Reliable known quality. Location less fashionable than Time Square but in fact ideal and quiet. Very classy area to stay. Amazing night views.
Cons: Language understanding in restaurant. Free WiFi needed throughout the hotel. Only free in reception. Even in the Arizona desert it is free.
Location: Great position with subway station 5 minutes walk. Only 2 stops to World Trade Centre. Easy access to Ellis Island & Statue of Liberty.
Great location to visit NYC. 2 routes from nearby subway to either World Trade Centre or 33rd Street. Jersey City is very modern and fully developed. Felt like Dubai! Hotel was great but got bored with the same menu we had seen in several Double Trees across America over 4 weeks. Big language problem in dining room where wrong meals were brought out on consecutive days, twice one day! Chef came out and apologised after meals corrected. Very happy with response and their concern. Only free WiFi is in reception which is a pain. All over US it was free everywhere. Well positioned to visit Ellis Island & Statue of Liberty from Liberty Park. Overall a great place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Good location

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: The location and the nice quiet room.
If you don't want to pay New York hotel prices, but want to be near to everything, then this hotel is perfect. We spent three nights prior to our cruise, and three nights after our cruise, at this hotel and found everything we needed within good reach. There is a nice shopping mall within ten minutes easy walk and also a supermarket. The location in relation to the PATH train is also a bonus with a $5.50 return ticket giving quick and easy access to the centre of New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BERMUDA

EXCELLENT LOCATION!

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: LOCATION, CLEANLINESS, FRIENDLY STAFF!
THE HOTEL STAFF WERE VERY GOOD AND VERY FRIENDLY. THE ROOM WAS A VERY GOOD SIZE. THE HOTEL WAS IN A GOOD LOCATION. VERY CLOSE TO THE PATH TRAIN TO GO TO NEW YOUR CITY. ALSO WALKING DISTANCE TO : NEWPORT MALL, TARGET, BED AND BATH, HOME DEPOT, MODELS, BEST BUY,AND MANY OTHER STORES.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great hotel, wonderful location.

Posted Sep 26, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness of room, attractive lobby. Proximity to PATH trains and restaurants nearby.
Cons: Charging for WIFI is ridiculous given room rates. No hotels charge for this anymore. Parking charge for self parking kind of steep.
Location: Liberty Park nearby where you can catch the ferry to Ellis Island and the Statue of Liberty, nice park to stroll around. Touching 911 memorial nice.
This is a wonderful hotel in a great neighborhood, Newport in Jersey City. The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. There are many restaurants and nice walking path by the water nearby. Best of all it is a short walk to the PATH train which makes trips to Manhattan a breeze..no need to drive to NYC. Hotel staff was very helpful with transportation and directions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very comfortable, close to Path

Posted Sep 23, 2014
Location: Located close to the Newport Path station with easy access to Manhattan. Nice walk along the Hudson shore to Paulus Hook ferry to World Financial Ctr
Spacious room with good, but not great amenities. Quiet, comfortable bed. Grocery store nearby, refrigerator in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Farmington Hills, MI

Perfect Place to stay if you're touring NYC

Posted Aug 4, 2014
PLUS: Great Location … close to food and mall/shopping area ... 5 minute walk to NYC bound subway ... Beautiful view of NYC from boardwalk across the street. Not So PLUS: No Pool ... $25 a day vehicle parking ... That's about it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Just what we wanted.

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We asked for a quiet room were assisted by 2 staff members so that we did indeed receive it! Clean room, comfortable bed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Jennifer Silvera Gonzales from Houston, Tx

Convenient location

Posted Jul 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was fine. We had no complaints, we would return although the price was a bit high for just a regular jr suite
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nevada

Very clean room. I had a comfortable stay.

Posted Jul 15, 2014
Pros: Very clean room and bathroom.
Cons: Free wi-fi should be given considering the high rates of rooms. Other hotels with lower rates give free wi-fi.
Location: Location is near the shopping Mall, near the train station, near grocery, near plenty of restaurants. The hotel location is perfect.
Aside from excellent room condition, the staff of Double Tree were very helpful and friendly. I enjoyed my stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ronald

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com