Ratings based on 260 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel & close to public transport

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Cons: Breakfast should have some more variety.
Experience was very good. I had to go NYC for daily work and there is bus stop just outside the hotel, which was great help to me.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 25, 2015
no good............................................................................................................................................................................
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new jersey

The Room smelled .

Posted Dec 20, 2014
The room smelled of curry .. Was not properly cleaned .. Bed was hard . The smell kept me up all night .. I td tbe front desk and he did not offer any solutions .. Told idiot .. Never stay here again ..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 1, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Diana - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are disappointed to hear that you did not have a pleasant stay with us. In response to your feedback, we will work with our housekeeping staff to ensure our rooms are always clean and fresh. We will also review your comments with our staff to make sure we are accommodating our guests to the best of our abilities. Thank you again for your review. We do hope that you will return to our hotel or any of our other brand locations across the U.S. and Canada in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northfield, NH

Convenient Location.....close to all amenities

Posted Dec 10, 2014
This was our first experience with Extended Stay America. When we arrived, we were shown to our room. The heater did not work and the room was very cold. Went to the front desk and we were shown to a different room which was comfortable. We were in the process of putting our groceries away and making a snack when we noticed that their were no eating utensils in the drawer, no plates in the cupboard and no coffee cups. We called down and they told us we had to go and pick them up down at the front desk. You did not receive fresh towels every day, you had to ask the front desk and retrieve them yourselves when you wanted them. I have never been in a hotel where you do not at least receive fresh towels every day or at least the offer for them. I would stay here for the convenience factor only. The front desk manager was very helpful and very pleasant, always had a smile on his face and very upbeat.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. I am sorry to hear that we did not explain our housekeeping policy or our dish delivery procedure at check-in. I discussed your comments with the team, and we are going to be fully communicating these policies at check-in to avoid confusion and the avoid any inconvenience for the guest. I am grateful for the feedback you provided so we are able to continually improve our hotel. I do hope that you will return to our hotel, or any other Extended Stay America location in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Barbara Jfrom Bronx ny

Good job

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
it was awsome the only thing missing was a coffee maker and some cups other thsn that no complains
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Neilfrom Montreal, Quebec.

Very well worth the price to stay and travel to NY

Posted Nov 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very pleasant surprise! We were two couples who did not want to pay 300-400$ a night stay in NY and gave this idea of staying in NJ instead a try. We were all very pleasantly surprised. The Hotel was 1/2 the price of NY, No parking fee. Hotel was clean, free Wifi,good size room with full kitchen (bring your own utensils etc)The bathroom clean. The Staff was amazing! VERY friendly and VERY helpful! They guided us for the bus, which is the 129 to NY. Once you get used to the schedule (grab the schedule on your first bus ride), it was a piece of cake! It brings you to Port Authority in NY (42nd and 8th) and from there walking or cabbing is easy. The buses were never too full,never late. The morning breakfast is small but perfect for us to get on the road, and dont eat huge breakfast meals. They have coffee, hot chocolat, oatmeals, snack bars,fruit and muffins. Just enough to get started. Now for the only bad part of staying in NJ IF you decide to cab (which we all felt was a waste of money) The buses are fast and very efficient and cheap! The cab to Metlife was $20 . The cab ride to NY is 60$ plus 13$ fee = $73! Its not worth it. The bus- 15-25 min max depending on traffic, and cost 3.75$ each way pp. Thanks to the staff for being so welcoming and helpful :-) Rhonda, Frank, Neil and Carol from Quebec :-)
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. I truly appreciate your comments regarding the staff. It is so great to read that you found our hotel to be such a good value for the location, and that you enjoyed our amenities. Please note that there is no need to bring your own utensils, as you can request kitchen equipment from our front desk and we will deliver it at no cost. I do apologize that my staff did not properly inform you of this at check-in. I will be working with my staff to ensure that we are better informing guests of this availability moving forward. Thank you again for sharing your experience with us. We would love to see you again, should your travels bring you back to our area.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Virginia

Hotel of last resort

Posted Nov 5, 2014
This hotel needs to be cleaned and aired out. With no ventilation, the rooms (and hallways) smell of grease and cooked food. Had to move rooms once because of the smell. Beds were okay for the one night, but decor was mis matched, counter tops chipped. Only reason we would stay here again is if there is no other option.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

ok but............

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have stayed here many times before but found a few things disappointing this time.The room was dirty and dusty.The bathroom door was very squeaky when opening or closing it.Plug did not work in bath tub and room stank of stale smoke[there are very good industrial air freshers out there to combat that problem]Stayed for a week and requested a quiet area with nice view and got a noisy area with no view.Will stay again due to the convience of area but standards will hopefully be better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 30, 2014
I have generally enjoyed staying at Extended Stay in other cities but Secaucus proved to be quite disappointing. The room is comfortably big, the location is good but you need to figure out a way to quickly get to New York if that's what you want. But there were several drawbacks. The toilet wasn't cleaned and there were many brown spots in the commode. They don't put the cutlery in the room but you have to go all the way down to the front desk to fetch them. They had Showtime and HBO but no AMC!! At breakfast they didn't have any muffins for both the days we stayed there and they had only oranges for fruit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michaelfrom union city

great

Posted Oct 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was for only one night but the service and stay was great. Definitely would do it again.