Ratings based on 838 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.7 out of 5
67% of guests recommend
2.7 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very bad

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Very bad, it was raining in my room! The TV was working very bad. I will never go there anymore. Better to pay a little more and have a decent room.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Worst hotel ever

Posted Nov 10, 2014
From start to finish, there were no positive comments on this hotel, pretty facade and downhill from there, if there had been another hotel nearby that wouldn't have broken my bank book we would have left and gone elsewhere. Staff were most interested in selling transportation to and from NYC than about the guest experience, I usually stay at Hampton and Hilton hotels,this was a big mistake, I can't believe we paid for this ,already telling people to not go to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom meriden,CT

Posted Nov 3, 2014
the guest service desk staff on my morning of departure was very helpful to make sure i was happy with my breakfest. they brought supplies very quickly to my room. for the price to sleep it was a deal.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Newport News, VA

Dirty

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: Nice TV. Internet.
Cons: Cleanliness, (vacuum behind those beds!) If stains can't be removed out of the linens, throw them out. A mattress that's not just a packet of springs.
Location: Had great access to the PATH trains to get into the city. Target and Walmart nearby.
I have never stayed in a hotel this unclean in my life. I didn't even want to pull back the sheets. I slept on top of the sheets with all my clothes on and used one of my clean t-shirts to put over the pillow. Various unidentifiable stains on the sheets. The washcloths and towels had stains on them. The floor was not vacuumed and looked like it hadn't been changed since the 70s. The bed in the pullout couch was also disgusting and no sheets were provided for it even though a sign said there was some in the closet. (sheets probably would have been dirty anyway) I didn't even bother to complain to the staff because I bought a non-refundable reservation (won't do that again) And I see why it was non-refundable, because everyone would ask for their money back otherwise. I understand it's New York and things are expensive, but for the amount I paid, I think a clean room is not an unreasonable thing to expect. It felt like I was in one of those hotels that have hourly rates available. When I saw that it was a Howard Johnson, I really thought I was getting a good deal. If it wasn't so cold I would have just slept in my car. I took pictures and wish I could upload them here.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new york

bad experience, never go there again

Posted Oct 25, 2014
Pros: nothing
this hotel is next to the route 1, the traffic noise never stop in the whole night. you can't sleep at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Boston

Worst Hotel ever stayed at....

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Pros: It had walls and a door.
Cons: Knock it down and start over.
Location: A Taco Bell and A Wendys.
Well we got there checked in no problem but when we entered our room which were at the top of this 80 degree incline. It looked like a room from a hotel that was in Robo Cops Detroit. It was terrible and the smell that hit you when you entered was indescribable. There were stains on everything and marks all over the walls. The TV had to have cost 40 dollars it was god awful. The picture came in all messed up and the sound was scratchy. So within minutes it became clear that we were not staying in these rooms so we called the number on the Howard Johnson website and complained within 15 minutes we got a call from the manager of the hotel and they asked what was wrong with the rooms which was everything. So they moved us to different ones which were 100 times better but still had their own issues. Anything would have been better but these rooms at least had functioning TV's but they still had stains on the sheets and towels and what looked like mold in the bathrooms. The shower curtain rod was broken so the curtain would just slide open also the cable line to the TV was exposed and when you shut the door it would cut out. I will never even look at this hotel again it should be taken off expedia.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is the most disgusting hotel i have stayed

Posted Oct 12, 2014
I wonder how it got 2 star rating. It was flithy. Carpets were not cleaned. Sofa had stains
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom new england

Do not stay there

Posted Oct 8, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: tear it down start over
Location: Poor location
Dirty,dumpy,continental breakfast shared with all staff and contractors or anyone that came thru the door. Contractors had a habit of parking anywhere blocking people in. Built on side of hill lots of walking or stairs. Can't get to office,breakfast or ice without going outside. Very noise air cond.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Economic and met our expectations.

Posted Oct 6, 2014
We found the staff to be very accommodating and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Sep 24, 2014
This hotel is about a 15-20 minute drive (depending on the time of the day) to manhattan. The rates were very cheap and that's why we stayed there. You get what you pay for though, not the cleanest room and the towels were a bit gross. There was other peoples hair on the floor and in the shower, toilet didn't look cleaned. Room was very small and we had to pay $10 a night for a crib where every other hotel offers it for free. Not the friendliest staff either. Shuttle bus departs every hour in the morning, although turns up late every time. It's $7 each one way. We stayed here for 4 nights but next time I'd stayed closer to town and pay more. Oh and it took 1.5 hours by taxi from the airport as there is no public transport that goes to the hotel. It cost us $130