Ratings based on 763 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel near the path train

Posted Jul 23, 2014
This hotel deserve better rating. No it is not new, but yes, the hotel is really clean et the staff is really nice. I will definitely get back there next time I will go in New York.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy access to NYC, Jersey City, and Hoboken.

Posted Jul 21, 2014
No frills, but a clean room with new furnishings. Easy access to PATH train to NYC (short walk during day, short taxi ride at night).
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy hotel with great front desk staff

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: The front desk staff are great and very helpful. The breakfast is good.
Cons: The hotel is dirty and smells bad. The pillow has a lot of bumps, is very uncomfortable.
The hotel is next to holland tunnel. It is noisy. If you are a light sleeper, this is not a hotel for you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego CA

4th of July 2014

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Great location tunnel at back door mall across the street good pastry in the AM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to NYC

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: Free parking!
Great breakfast, with high quality pastries. Friendly staff. Easy walk to the Jersey train to NYC. Fast trip to NYC.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Convenient, affordable stay just outside the city

Posted Jun 28, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, affordable stay, free breakfast, noon check-out, free parking, free wi-fi
Location: It's just outside the Holland Tunnel, a few minutes away from NYC.
My husband and I brought our two children on a trip to NYC and stayed at The Holland Hotel as an alternative to way more expensive options in the city. The room was clean and comfortable, the staff was friendly, and the price couldn't be beat. With only a short walk to the train station, we were able to get into the city quickly, leaving our car safely parked in the hotel's free onsite lot. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone interested in seeing NYC without the hassle and expense of staying there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Easy access to Manhattan

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: The price was right and the room was clean and nice.
Cons: The breakfast area is very small. You have to take breakfast to your room or outside to the parking lot.
Location: It is a short walk to the PATH train which we rode to 33rd St to get us close to Times Square and it also goes to the World Trade Center.
This hotel is an easy commute to Manhattan on the PATH train. It was our first visit to New York and we decided to stay here instead of Times Square or somewhere in Manhattan to reduce the cost of our trip. The hotel was very clean. The room was small but nice and we had no problems getting to the city. There is breakfast and coffee is available all day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cake Boss visit

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: Clean rooms, helpful staff for information about resturants. Breakfast was fresh.
Location: Shopping. Carlos Bakery is 1 mile away.
Check in was easy. Room decor is older but very clean. Wife even made comments on how clean bathroom was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by S & D from Gold Coast, Australia

Holiday

Posted Jun 7, 2014
Pros: It was really well situated for us.
Cons: It could do with a "breakfast room" as the breakfast items were situated in the entrance, but it was well stocked and clean and easy to take to room.
Location: It is close to Newport Mall which is quite big and close to PATH train & the light rail. We went to Liberty Park and had many train rides to New York.
The hotel was easily accessed from Newark airport. It was also very easy to get to New York city itself from the hotel using the PATH train. My husband and I arrived late and the lady on the front desk was cheerful and very welcoming. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. The room was a good size and clean. The hotel was "old" looking but convenient and well maintained. (Though the air con was a bit noisy).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jacqui from London

Great location, friendly staff, very comfortable

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: Location and comfort
Really easy to travel into Manhattan and staff were friendly and helpful. Room spacious and very comfortable - the best pillows I've ever slept on! Loved the breakfast doughnuts and smooth coffee.