Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice enough.. But average

Posted Oct 16, 2014
I was expecting the decor of my room to be that Of matching the grandness of the hotel But instead it looked like a normal room from a house, not a hotel, strange! Very comfortable bed :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from UK

Hotel de France in October 2014

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Pros: Very grand with a spacious feel and a relaxing atmosphere.Good undercover free car parking. Saffrons restaurant excellent.
Cons: Provide robes in all rooms.Improve soundproofing between rooms particularly adjoining rooms
Location: A bit remote with nothing to do nearby.At least a 20 minute walk to decent restaurants.
Lovely spacious hotel and spotlessly clean.Charming staff,polite and knowledgeable.Only downside was the remoteness of the hotel from the town and waterfront.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Good hotel centrally located

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Pros: location, food, staff and pool.
Cons: Complimentary water in the rooms after all it is 4 stars,
Location: The Bays, Durrell Wildlife Park, Jersey War Tunnels, St Helier/Elizabeth Castle and Restauants we did Saffron, the Oyster Box and Ocean.
Staff very helpful throughout our stay, Restaurant was excellent as was the leisure facilities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from epsom

Excellent hotel

Posted Sep 28, 2014
As anticipated, high standards maintained throughout. No issues, would have to look for fault. Just thought of one - uncomfortable dining chairs in the Cafe Aroma! Food excellent. Bill precise and correct. Staff couldnt be more helpful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from breton

Fantastic

Posted Sep 25, 2014
Was on my own made to feel very welcome will stay again when I go back
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Stoke-on-Trent

Memorable

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Pros: Spa, staff, restaurant, ambience.
Cons: Some rooms are not air conditioned.
Location: Beautiful beaches, countryside, walks, restaurants.
This is a top class hotel with well-trained staff, extensive and impressive facilities, and a seriously progressive main restaurant featuring fine dining of Indian flavours. After a ropey first night with a noisy wedding party and a hot room, management dealt efficiently and admirably with my discontent. My thanks to the staff who turned a tricky start into a marvellous stay on the island. The spa and pool facilities are some of the best I've enjoyed, impeccably clean and well-managed. Saffron restaurant reviewed separately. Continental weather throughout the week certainly helped, but Hotel De France was a large part of a holiday week that was memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hampshire

Great place to stay.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Staff, food, facilities.
Cons: Our room was quite warm, although the hot weather did not help. Air conditioning would be a lot better than the fan we had.
Location: Hotel on steep hill and about 15 minutes to St Helier town centre. Here you will find plenty of shops, bars and restaurants.
Hotel du France was a great place to stay on our short break exploring Jersey.Very pleasant friendly staff who were always happy to help.We stayed for 4 days and thoroughly enjoyed our time there. Excellent wide array of good food at the buffet breakfast. Hotel also has very good restaurant. Good facilities including spa, and nice indoor swimming pool. Next time I am in Jersey this is where I shall stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from South Wales

A large Hotel- difficult to please everyone

Posted Sep 8, 2014
Pros: The cheerfulness of the general workforce, and their willingness to carry out their work cheerfully and efficiently. My view of St Helier was good.
Cons: It was not possible to open the windows more than three inches- probably for safety reasons, so they were not clean, restricting the view mentioned.
Location: Plenty of walks available- for the fit and willing, pubs on way to town, and pleasant parks not very far. All needed maps- provided,- to find and see
Primary feeling that Taxi transport was expensive- in some cases, no option available. The hotel was large and pleasant looking, and the reception team were friendly, cheerful and informative, Our room, now recognised as being one of the old ones, was adjudged by my wife as being small with a slightly "crowded" feeling. This was even more of an observation on the bathroom. The "ancient looking", rather limited brass showerhead was changed before we made a complaint, to a far more efficient fitting. Food was excellent and variable, albeit dinner, drinks and snacks could get expensive if taken every day.The service was impeccable. Tea on the patio was a notable feature. The pool in the spa substituted for the sea, and a spacious lawn the sandy shores. Courtesy transport was available into town, and if you were lucky, the service buses could take you anywhere on the island.If not, and other means were necessary, one paid for a taxi, or took the long walk home!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berkshire

Lovely hotel , brilliant pool and spa .

Posted Sep 7, 2014
Pros: The hotel has a beautiful blue indoor pool and spa which we used every day . Also try the afternoon tea before you leave .
Cons: There was no air conditioning in our room, but they provided a fan ,for hot Jersey nights. .
Location: Jersey beaches are a delight . The War tunnels should not be missed and cleverly tell the history of the Island under Occupation during the War .
I have just come back after a three night stay at this lovely hotel with a friend . The rooms were very comfortable. All the.the staff we met were very helpful and friendly. The walk uphill from town may be difficult for some ( particularly when its hot ) but there is the local bus and an occasional shuttle bus from the hotel .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A delight to be in !

Posted Sep 5, 2014
Pros: Hosptialtity, facilities and the breakfast
Cons: Loveed it all
We arrived for a full 5 days of fabulous sunshine and 5 days of cricket. Little did we know that the weather had other ideas! When the cricket was called off we started to explore the hotel and found the hospitality to be excellent. We used the spa, pool etc everyday and even the coah to travel into and out of town. Fabulous 5 days looking forward to the next 2 years as my son will be playing, if not then there is always the hotel!