Ratings based on 150 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jules from Ottawa

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
An excellent stay in a gracious elegant hotel in a period setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Sydney, Australia

Lovely Boutique hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: I really felt like I was coming home after a full day exploring Jerusalem and it's surrounds. Loved the free 20 minute international calls per day!
Location: Location in East Jerusalem good , with 10 minute walk to Jaffa Gate into Old City of Jerusalem from hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alex from scotland

The American Colony hotel was excellent

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: see above, but it was simply "excellence + excellence = more excellence".
Cons: no suggestions as none are necessary
Location: Again see above. The Old City is close by within easy walking distance. For the pilgrim everything they need to see is relatively close by.
My wife and I ate a meal many years ago in this hotel and we were so impressed that we decided that on our next visit to Jerusalem we would stay there. The hotel was everything that we anticipated it would be with a quiet excellence pervading every service it provides. The staff were exemplary and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is not a big plasticky 5 star affair but an understated and elegant former residence which became the centre for Americans living and working in Jerusalem. It is located quite close to the Damascus Gate so access to the Old City is easy. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and all of the facilities are there including gym and swimming pool and everything is kept in crisp shiny condition. Frankly, I prefer Boutique hotels for my trips abroad and this one is right up there with the very best. A sparkling highlight was/were the decorations the staff were putting up to celebrate Christmas. Quite quite superb! I particularly enjoyed the pleasure they so obviously were getting from the work. The cuisine is first class, and everyone from the manager to the porters were just amiable and helpful in every way possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would be happy to stay here again

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was comfortable, with a very nice bathtub/ shower. The breakfast included was very good and complete. The hotel had a wonderful swimming pool with sauna and exercise area. The hote was a 10 minute walk to the old city and a 5 minute walk to the tram. Employees were helpful and friendly. The Hotel is a beautiful historic landmark .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Excellent, an oasis.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Oct 24, 2013
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing - simply perfect
Location: Close to the old city of Jerusalem with the wonderful Palestinian pottery factory and museum and St Georges Cathedral close by.
Just as I remembered it 20 years ago but with some added extras. Fabulous courtyard garden, attentive and friendly staff...what more can I say...simply perfect - I wont leave it 20 years again before I revisit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Paula Gibbons from Ireland

Beautiful Hotel

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Our 4 night stay at the American Colony Hotel was wonderful. The hotel is a beautiful old Pashas Palace. Our room on the 3rd floor was spacious and extremely comfortable. The staff are exceptional. Our every need was catered for. Breakfast was a feast and served in gorgeous courtyard. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by koz from state college, pa

Unbelievable. Everything first class and classic.

Posted Oct 11, 2013
Pros: Size of suite. Privacy. Staff.
Luxurious room, quiet and private. Great breakfasts. Wonderful staff. We stayed in pasha suite with balcony
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Best hotel stay ever.

Posted Oct 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
I stayed here for a night with my mother because of the history the hotel has. On top of that, it was the nicest hotel stay either of us has ever had. The bed was so comfortable, there was a nice tub, delightful customer service, and great food. I wish we could have stayed much longer!