Ratings based on 151 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Paris

A landmark , charming and with soul but dated

Posted Aug 27, 2014
Charming hotel but dated, it urgently needs renovation. Facilities are from the eighties. Room was very comfortable and big, very clean and spacious with view to the pool and the a part of the city. The hotel is not in the centre but is not far neither. Not many places where to go out in the sorroundings. The staff? Needs improvement, not an excellent service although Sammi the Manager was responsive and attentive. The food is priced for what you receive. Breakfast is great, lot of variety. Decoration and infrastructure is not always consistent. The gardens are truly oasis, the outdoors bar is very nice and with friedky ambience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from england

Exploring Jerusalem

Posted Aug 10, 2014
Excellent. A little oasis in the city. Everything is relaxed and beautiful, but extremely efficient and friendly. The courtyard restaurant and summer bar are particular gems. We will return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from sussex

Excellent time in Jerusalem

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were so helpful and gardens were a real sanctuary in such a busy place. Delicious breakfast
Cons: The main food in the hotel was good but not exciting
Location: It was in an excellent position to get to the old City but beware pickpockets on the Nablus road into the Old city.
Lovely haven in the excellent location close to the Old city. Excellent staff and extremely comfortable and very clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from London

Wonderful retreat on a strenuous Jerusalem visit

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Historic and comfortable hotel, very helpful staff, beautiful courtyard and gardens, delicious food, and good drinks menu
Cons: nothing
Location: easy walking distance from the old city and a bus ride to Bethlehem.
The hotel provided a wonderful base for a fairly strenuous touristic and pilgrimage visit to Jerusalem and surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Hertford

long weekend in Jerusalem

Posted May 12, 2014
The hotel is a real oasis in the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem with a wonderful courtyard garden and pool which are great for relaxing in after a hot day sight seeing. Very friendly staff and excellent food and the bar is great to end the day in!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Nicolas from Paris

Nice stay

Posted May 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very friendly staff at the bar, and good at the restaurant . Very tasty restaurant. More rude staff at reception. The neighborhood is quite noisy, there are always a lot of buses going around, and specially in the street behind where they park, so if you re not in the main building you hear them all night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isaac from Israel

hotel no.1 in Jerusalem.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: nothing
Location: The location is fine, good public transportation, tram and buses are very close.
I find this hotel to be one of best if not best hotel in Jerusalem. We had very pleasant stay, hotel staff were very kind and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean, food is excellent all along the day, in all meals including room service - very difficult point in Jerusalem, and total hotel atmosphere was excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MA

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Travelista079 from Zurich

Only real 5 star in Israel

Posted Mar 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
Absolutely charming hotel with exceptional service. Friendly, helpful staff and well-located. Historical property with real soul. Cannot be compared with the Isreali so-called 5 star chain - the American Colonial is clearly the best in the country. Two minor suggestions for improvements: 1) in the country of Jaffa oranges, please serve real freshly squeezed at the otherwise very good breakfast, and 2) new mattresses definitely needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by D&D from USA

Grand hotel

Posted Feb 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Its always a pleasure to stay in such a fine hotel. Great staff with attention to detail. The one negative for my wife and I is we like to explore the surrounding neighborhood on foot but turned back right away as it appeared unsafe and certainly unclean. Breakfast was tops. Can't give a good comment on dinner as we were catching a midnight flight and eating light so stuck to just appetizers which were disappointing; am guessing we choose the wrong eats on the wrong night.