Ratings based on 145 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Susan from sussex

Excellent time in Jerusalem

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The staff were so helpful and gardens were a real sanctuary in such a busy place. Delicious breakfast
Cons: The main food in the hotel was good but not exciting
Location: It was in an excellent position to get to the old City but beware pickpockets on the Nablus road into the Old city.
Lovely haven in the excellent location close to the Old city. Excellent staff and extremely comfortable and very clean rooms
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Emma from London

Wonderful retreat on a strenuous Jerusalem visit

Posted May 24, 2014
Pros: Historic and comfortable hotel, very helpful staff, beautiful courtyard and gardens, delicious food, and good drinks menu
Cons: nothing
Location: easy walking distance from the old city and a bus ride to Bethlehem.
The hotel provided a wonderful base for a fairly strenuous touristic and pilgrimage visit to Jerusalem and surroundings.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alison from Hertford

long weekend in Jerusalem

Posted May 12, 2014
The hotel is a real oasis in the hustle and bustle of Jerusalem with a wonderful courtyard garden and pool which are great for relaxing in after a hot day sight seeing. Very friendly staff and excellent food and the bar is great to end the day in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Isaac from Israel

hotel no.1 in Jerusalem.

Posted Apr 28, 2014
Pros: nothing
Location: The location is fine, good public transportation, tram and buses are very close.
I find this hotel to be one of best if not best hotel in Jerusalem. We had very pleasant stay, hotel staff were very kind and helpful, room was very comfortable and clean, food is excellent all along the day, in all meals including room service - very difficult point in Jerusalem, and total hotel atmosphere was excellent.
3 out of 5
by Annie from UK

A couple of niggles

Posted Jan 13, 2014
Pros: The buildings and parking facilities
Cons: I would have welcomed tea and coffee making facilities in my room.
Location: About 7 minutes walk (uphill) to the Old City
Attractive, interesting building, located not too far from the Old City. The staff were on the whole helpful and welcoming. I was surprised however with the breakfast. The buffet looked good, but eating it proved otherwise. Most of it was just tasteless and some of it was quite unpleasant and inedible.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 28, 2014
Dear Annie, Thank you for your review above. We were most surprised to learn you were unhappy with our breakfast, as it is a positive feature in so many reviews and comments we receive. We did not live up to our own high expectations on the day you ate, and for that we apologize. We have instigated a review of our buffet to see if we can improve. Yours, Thomas Brugnatelli, General Manager.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jules from Ottawa

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
An excellent stay in a gracious elegant hotel in a period setting.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle from Sydney, Australia

Lovely Boutique hotel

Posted Jan 3, 2014
Pros: I really felt like I was coming home after a full day exploring Jerusalem and it's surrounds. Loved the free 20 minute international calls per day!
Location: Location in East Jerusalem good , with 10 minute walk to Jaffa Gate into Old City of Jerusalem from hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alex from scotland

The American Colony hotel was excellent

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Pros: see above, but it was simply "excellence + excellence = more excellence".
Cons: no suggestions as none are necessary
Location: Again see above. The Old City is close by within easy walking distance. For the pilgrim everything they need to see is relatively close by.
My wife and I ate a meal many years ago in this hotel and we were so impressed that we decided that on our next visit to Jerusalem we would stay there. The hotel was everything that we anticipated it would be with a quiet excellence pervading every service it provides. The staff were exemplary and nothing was too much trouble for them. The hotel is not a big plasticky 5 star affair but an understated and elegant former residence which became the centre for Americans living and working in Jerusalem. It is located quite close to the Damascus Gate so access to the Old City is easy. The grounds are beautifully landscaped and all of the facilities are there including gym and swimming pool and everything is kept in crisp shiny condition. Frankly, I prefer Boutique hotels for my trips abroad and this one is right up there with the very best. A sparkling highlight was/were the decorations the staff were putting up to celebrate Christmas. Quite quite superb! I particularly enjoyed the pleasure they so obviously were getting from the work. The cuisine is first class, and everyone from the manager to the porters were just amiable and helpful in every way possible.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would be happy to stay here again

Posted Nov 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
The room was comfortable, with a very nice bathtub/ shower. The breakfast included was very good and complete. The hotel had a wonderful swimming pool with sauna and exercise area. The hote was a 10 minute walk to the old city and a 5 minute walk to the tram. Employees were helpful and friendly. The Hotel is a beautiful historic landmark .