Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kepi from honolulu, hi

Everyone staff member was helpful, inviting.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The staff: Anatta, Abumusa, Monte, Nader, Naseem and Ramsi were pleasant, friendly and helpful during my stay. I would recommend staying here to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4-star equivalent except for room size

Posted Mar 3, 2014
My wife and I just spent two nights at the Commodore. After reading some of the reviews, I was concerned to learn that we had been placed there after a blind bid online. However it was much better than expected. While traveling around Israel and the Palestinian territories in the preceding days with a tour group, we stayed in a number of 4-star and even one 5-star hotel. The Commodore was a match for most of them except that the rooms are small. Without exception the staff bent over backward to accomodate us. First, when I explained that my wife and I use CPAPs to sleep at night, they immediately disabled the motion sensor system in our room. Breakfast the first day (Saturday) was great -- good coffee, fried eggs or omelette on the food bar, too many choices to name. An attendant was there constantly to make sure everything was replenished. Unusual in our experience in Israel was that they also had a fruit bar. The second morning (Sunday) must have been the cook's day off, because the quality of the meal was far below the previous day. This was the day we had to go to TLV for our flight out of the country. Coincidentally it turned out to be the day of a massive demonstration by the Ultra-Orthodox Jews. They closed down Jerusalem (including all collective taxis) and even closed the highway to Tel Aviv! The staff at the Commodore made sure we got a private taxi and that we left early before things got bad.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

horrible location

Posted Jul 8, 2013
The hotel was nice but the location was terrible, no restaurant close, no bar close. The area arround was very bad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

close to all must-see sights

Posted Jul 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
Friendly staff and convenient location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gregg from Nashville Tn

Good place for the $. GREAT service and people

Posted Jun 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel option if you value customer service. The people at the front desk, specifically the two ladies had the biggest smiles. They were VERY helpful in getting us into our room, arranging a tour, dinner, and transportation. We loved the food. We had 3 breakfasts and one dinner at the hotel and truly enjoyed it. Again the people in the dining area were very friendly. While the hotel is within a 15 minute walk to Old Jerusalem there is a bus stop directly across the street that comes very few min for about one dollar. Worth it! The walk is up hill. The rooms were very comfortable and a good value. I would stay in this hotel again. The outside area is older but we came and went at all hours and always felt safe.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Doreen from Massachusetts

call to prayer a real wake-up call

Posted May 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel was clean and attractive. Breakfast was fine. The staff was pleasant but several times the information we received from them was insufficient to be useful. One example, the person at the front desk told us we could get the bus back to the hotel across from the Damascus Gate, but neglected to mention that it left from one of several bus lots behind buildings on the other side of the street. The biggest problem was being awakened at 3:00 or so every morning (middle of the night) by the Muslem Call to Prayer. Very convenient if you wish to pray at that hour. Less convenient if you actually wish to sleep. It would have been more expensive to stay at the same distance from the old city in West Jerusalem. Another plus was seeing a brochure at the hotel for the Palestinian Heritage Museum which we enjoyed tremendously.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by cdfdale from Northern California, USA

Two Couples-Late March-3 Night Stay

Posted Apr 3, 2013
Pros: Helpful staff, WI-FI, and buffet
Cons: exposed streetside parking
Location: Mile from the Old City in Arab section...wasn't a problem
PROS: GREAT Staff (especially Chef Mohammed and Desk Clerk Anette(?)). Great buffet and breakfast, recently renovated, quiet neighborhood after dark, close to Old City, bus stop out front, hospital nearby, fast elevator, small gift shop, TV and wi-fi in room. CONS: traffic noise during the day, limited parking, mediocre room views
3 out of 5
by Bruce from San Jose, CA

Ready yourself for a morning surprise

Posted Mar 20, 2013
Cons: Being an unwilling guest at morning prayers.
Location: The hotel is right up against the road. Caution to those who have their own car (no parking). The sign is also hard to see--even for the tax driver.
A nicely-rated hotel near the Old City at a good price...but I found out why it might have been priced so affordably. It was my first night in Jerusalem and I did not yet understand their bus/train system adequately. So, I took a cab to the hotel and found that it was located in an Arab area of the city. I had no problem with that and presumed that this hotel, which seemed to be in good shape, would be like any other hotel. That was, at least, until 4:00 in the morning. My body clock (still on U.S. time) woke me a few minutes before 4. Then, as soon as the clock turned to 4 AM, Islamic prayers started playing through a loudspeaker and it was so loud that I thought the speakers were right across the street. As someone who is not used to that, it was rather unnerving. The singing was very lovely, but it was a reminder that I was not in Kansas (or, well, California) anymore. And it was FOUR AM!! The prayers stopped after a few minutes and started again about 10 minutes later. Another five minutes and they were done....until the scene repeated at 5 AM! If you either don't mind waking up at 4 AM or prepare yourself with some good earplugs, you'll be fine, I suppose. The room was very clean and the bed was comfy. The breakfast buffet was decent, as well. After breakfast, I was told that I could catch a bus into Jerusalem "right across the street", but I'd have to wave it down. I did so and (with suitcases beside me) waved at the approaching bus--which roared right past me.
3 out of 5
by Iman from La Habra, CA, USA

Good Value

Posted Jan 4, 2013
Cons: Noise
Location: Location is not great but within minutes to the Old City
We stayed here for 2 nights on Dec 27 -29, 2012 The location is about 2 miles from the Damascus Gate, or right outside the Muslim Quarters. Pros: The room is not spacious but clean and the bed is comfortable. The bathroom is designed for a single person use at one time else, you'll find it hard to move around with 2 persons in it. The staff are very friendly and courteous. They offer Free wifi throughout the building including in the room, however we found the signal was weak and intermittently dropped during our stay. The breakfast selection is decent with some of Arabic dish which was very good. If you are looking for a place to stay and decent, this is the place. However, it’s not located on a major street with cafes or stores nearby. Bus no 75 and stops right in the front of the hotel will take you straight to the Damascus Gate. Cons: The location is right in a neighborhood so it was a bit noisy. The room walls were so thin we could hear phone rings from next door or when someone inserting the key card when they enter a room. The lobby was dark and had old décor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Albert from El Salvador

Amazing hotel!

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: Location and service.
Cons: Odd smell in bathroom.
Other than an odd smell in the bathroom, the hotel is amazing in service as well as in location!