Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Port Moody British Columbia Canada

A day off the cruise ship

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Every thing
Cons: They have it spot on for the class of hotel.
Location: see above
We were on a 14 day cruise and had a two day stay in port. Instead of traveling back and forth to Jerusalem which is 1.5 hours from town and $100US taxi ride we opted to stay at the Commodore Hotel in Eastern Jerusalem. It is within walking distance from the Herod Gate. The bus 75 which stops right in front of the hotel was much faster and very convenient. The hotel is isolated unless you have a car but for one night it was great. Breakfast was one of the nicest we have had in some time. The best part about the hotel is the front desk. We forgot our converter on the boat and they very quickly found us one. We were given a complete overview of the area and it make us feel more at home. Being in the Muslim area of the city outskirts one got a very good feeling of being in an exotic location but feeling very safe. Nothing like walking the streets of that fable city after all of the tourists have gone. .
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Fantastic team - always ready to help

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
Clean, friendly, you can walk to the old town - though it's a bit of a climb. Night time probably better with a car but recommended!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Danfrom Reno, NV, USA

It'll doin a pinch

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Rooms were clean, but small. They have individual climate controls, but sadly these are locked. Internet was unavailable - front desk said it would resolve, but didn't. They provide breakfast and have dinner service(billed). They were quite friendly and tried to be helpful. In all, all I can recommend is it'll do in a pinch.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Martinfrom Sweden

Good price and excellent service

Posted Jun 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Commodore Hotel Jerusalem lies in view of the old city and is in great shape. Its staff is extremely helpful and even assisted me with printing out papers for my rentalcar. The breakfast is nothing short of amazing, but be prepared for an Israeli or Arab styled meal, meaning more lunch than a continental breakfast. Lots of different salads and so. There were 3 kinds of cereals and many different kinds of jam as well as bread and a toaster as well, but the juice was not good. it was more soda. Yes it's just a detail, but I am picky with breakfasts! The price was good, but parking sparse, although free. The area is a residential one and occasionally loud music and Mosques blaring out evening prayers can be heard. The room was rather small, had 2 single beds that can be made into a double bed with a small amount of effort, a nice balcony and a decent bathroom. Towels and sheets were changed daily and it was very neat and clean. TV had international news channels and some movie channels too, a big plus for rainy days or when you want to relax. The wifi was fast and accessible from the room. The hotel is great overall if you have a car, but if you don't mind walking up and down a valley and a hill, you can reach the Old City in 30 min. Will come again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gastvrijheid

Posted Jun 8, 2014
Personeel is erg gastvrij! Stonden continu klaar om ons te adviseren of te helpen gedurende ons verblijf. Ook later uitchecken was geen probleem. Ligging is goed. De taxibusjes brengen je voor 1 euro naar het centrum, dus binnen 5 minuten sta je bij Damascus gate, Old Town. Ondanks wat anderen eerder gemeld hebben, zijn wij geen een keer gewekt door moskeeën. Prijs/kwaliteit niveau is erg goed en Jeruzalem is een beleving. Zeker een aanrader!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the old city, very friendly staff

Posted May 3, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff.
Cons: Sound proof windows!!
Location: Mount of olives, old city
This hotel is located on the mount of olives. It is very close to the old city. The staff was wonderful. Room 306 was however quite loud since it's close to the road. You will hear the sound of cars. I recommend getting sound proof windows.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by 박관후from 경기도성남시

친절함과 좋은 위치

Posted Mar 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
저희는 부부가 12일간 이스라엘 관광차 방문. 따라서 유스호스텔보다 호텔이 적합하였슴. 코모도 호텔에서 75번버스(5.5세겔) 타면 다마스커스 게이트 혹은 감람산 정상에 금새 닿을 수 있으므로 좋은 위치임. 투숙중 무엇보다도 인상에 깊게 남은 것은 호텔 주인 및 프론트 매니저의 친절함이었슴.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Andrefrom Texas

Modest rooms, but modern and great place to stay!

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was in the Arab quarter and so a really good place t stay during Jewish Sabbath. Also very close to many of the Christian sites. Also hotel has small rooms and beds, but is very new and well maintained and clean. Overall I would recommend it as it as great value for the price. We got rooms for $100 a night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by kepifrom honolulu, hi

Everyone staff member was helpful, inviting.

Posted Mar 16, 2014
The staff: Anatta, Abumusa, Monte, Nader, Naseem and Ramsi were pleasant, friendly and helpful during my stay. I would recommend staying here to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

4-star equivalent except for room size

Posted Mar 3, 2014
My wife and I just spent two nights at the Commodore. After reading some of the reviews, I was concerned to learn that we had been placed there after a blind bid online. However it was much better than expected. While traveling around Israel and the Palestinian territories in the preceding days with a tour group, we stayed in a number of 4-star and even one 5-star hotel. The Commodore was a match for most of them except that the rooms are small. Without exception the staff bent over backward to accomodate us. First, when I explained that my wife and I use CPAPs to sleep at night, they immediately disabled the motion sensor system in our room. Breakfast the first day (Saturday) was great -- good coffee, fried eggs or omelette on the food bar, too many choices to name. An attendant was there constantly to make sure everything was replenished. Unusual in our experience in Israel was that they also had a fruit bar. The second morning (Sunday) must have been the cook's day off, because the quality of the meal was far below the previous day. This was the day we had to go to TLV for our flight out of the country. Coincidentally it turned out to be the day of a massive demonstration by the Ultra-Orthodox Jews. They closed down Jerusalem (including all collective taxis) and even closed the highway to Tel Aviv! The staff at the Commodore made sure we got a private taxi and that we left early before things got bad.