Ratings based on 22 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.9 out of 5
73% of guests recommend
2.8 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Roman from Kiev

Pretty good

Posted May 16, 2014
We arrived late because flight was delayed and we missed a train. No problems with settling in. Staff was very friendly. They explain us everthing. Food was fresh delicious. Hotel is located in 5 min to walk to old city. As usual in arab qurtes the street is dirty. - noisy around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by D whitcomb from Chicago

Hidden gem

Posted Jan 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very reasonable and comfortable. Pleasant staff.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Jenny from UK

awful hotel for staying

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights with 2 rooms (1 double and 1 single). The rooms we stayed were extremely disgusting: the marks on the bed sheets, shower was leaking, air conditioner was not working. It has been horrible experience staying at the hotel. The hotel manager was helpless only wanted booking taxi for you trying hard to squeeze money out of you. Such hotel should not be existing. Not recommended at all!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Donald whitcomb from Chicago

clean, confortable, convenient to the Old City

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
personnel were very helpful and the room fine. Walk-i shower with immediate and plentiful hot water was much appreciated. Single beds were a bit soft and narrow but normal. I have booked to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but terribly dirty hotel.

Posted Jan 5, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Patrick from Toronto, Canada

Basic Hotel near Herod's Gate

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Location was conveniently located near Old City.
Cons: Breakfast.
Location: Near Old City.
Hotel is in Arab Quarter outside Herod's Gate. Cold room until I eventually figured out how to get heat from the "cooler". Staff were helpful. Wi-Fi in lobby area. Served breakfast was mediocre. Overall, no complaints for the cost. One night was enough.
1 out of 5
by haydee

Money waste!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2014
We pay 300dlls for two nights, and the hotel is totally horrible, dirty, bad service, the Internet does not work ..complete a Nightmare! If you can don't stay here!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve & Sally from Surrey, UK

Great location by Jerusalem city walls

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Location for visiting old city plus near bus station for Bethlehem.
Cons: Needed reading light in rom
Location: Very close to Herods gate and within walking distance of all old city plus new city shopping mall.
Nice little hotel. Clean, helpfull reception, good breakfast, comfortable bed, good double glazing. Coffee in room and fridge was a bonus. Hot water available all day. Doesn't look much from outside, but nicely done inside. Zad cafe almost opposite good evening meals & coffee.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from USA

Great location but old, decrepit facility

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Excellent location- visible from Old City Jerusalem and within walking distance from main sites. Staff was friendly & helpful. Great breakfast!
Cons: Facilities are in desperate need of remodeling and renovation. Looks and smells old!
Location: Excellent location within walking distance from Old City (visible from hotel entrance).
The lobby was the best spot in the hotel, which was also where wi-fi was available. The hallway and room smelled and was in desperate need of updating/renovation. Our room smelled of either garbage or mold, but we couldn't find the culprit, so we left the window partially open to air the room when in for the night. I suspect it might have been the carpet, which was very worn and might have been previously wet. Our door had been fixed after likely being broken into at a previous time. The bathroom was very tiny which took some navigating; this would have been a definite challenge for an overweight traveler. The elevator broke at one point, but the staff (helpfully) fixed it and were always friendly and responsive. Overall, the hotel was worth it because of the price, great location, friendly staff and full breakfast; however know that the facilities are a disappointment if you're not prepared.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Irene from Elizabeth, NJ

Good Location

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
The Metropole is on a lively street In East Jerusalem, steps away from a police station and a post office. It is close to the Damascus Gate where one can either enter the Old City or, if wishing to visit other parts of Jerusalem, board the L1 train. The westbound train goes to the main bus terminal, and its final stop is at Mount Herzl, a short walk to the Yad Vashem Memorial Museum of the Holocaust. Also, within walking distance from the Metropole are three sites worth visiting: the Pontifical Institute Notre Dame of Jerusalem Center, the Rockefeller Archeological Museum, and the American Colony Hotel.