Ratings based on 102 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mariafe from Lima, Peru

Nice hotel, excellent location

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Very well located, walking distance from Jaffa gate. Very nice view from the hotel. Staff was always very helpful. Limited food menu but many good restaurants close to the hotel. Very recommendable!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to the old city of Jerusalem

Posted Mar 9, 2014
Pros: Closeness to the old city
Location: Good restaurants at the train station and don't forget to visit the story of the cable car inside the hotel.
Historic hotel near the Jaffa and Zion gates at the old city. It is also near the old train station that has been converted into a nice area for dinning and some shopping. The hotel has a number of landmarks including the cable car that was used to supply the Israeli settlers prior to the 1967 war.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fritzie from New York

Perfect location and atmosphere

Posted Feb 12, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, high quality furnishings, professional staff, good food.
Cons: Their spa could offer more services such as facials and pedicures for women.
Location: Memila shopping area, Old City Jerusalem, municipal gardens and parks.
Within walking distance of Old City, parks, and nice shopping area. The view from hotel was awesome. We especially loved relaxing in the hamam steam room in the evening. Every staff member was courteous and attentive. This hotel offers the perfect combination of old world atmosphere and contemporary convenience. We loved it!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ed from US

Location, location, location

Posted Jan 1, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast buffet
Cons: Old and rundown room.
Location: Old City very close. 15 minute walk to the Jaffa gate.
Deluxe room was not very deluxe. Very plain and more like a Motel 6 in the US. Very good breakfast buffet! Staff was straining to be polite. The only thing that made this hotel worth the $400 per night was the location. We could walk to everywhere in the Old City. If you don't plan to walk everywhere and don't need to be very close, don't stay here. Go somewhere nicer and worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michael from Israel

warm and beautifful place

Posted Dec 15, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cris from Toronto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2013
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 25, 2013
Cons: Rude staff. No air conditioning. When we complained, they said they could do nothing until morning. Despite advertising it as such, no free wifi in th
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by John & Bernetta from London

Posted Nov 20, 2013
Pros: Excellent location and full of charachter.
Location: Very close to the Old Train Station which has recently been renovated -an excellent location for choice of bars, restaurants , shops and exhibits.
3 out of 5
by R from London

Slightly run-down

Posted Oct 31, 2013
Pros: Staff.
Cons: Condition of room, its fixtures and fittings.
Location: Only 10 mins (steep in parts) walk from Old City. Close to former railway station now offering choice of cafes/restaurants/bars & foodie supermarket.
A pleasant hotel with an interesting history, attentive staff and a great view from the attractive gardens across the valley to the Old City walls. However, the room's fixtures and fittings were a bit tired - including the wobbly main door lock - and didn't merit the advertised number of stars. Breakfast at $US28 per person was rather expensive. The busy road out front is not a noise problem when you're in the hotel as most of the building is below the level of the road - reception is on the top floor - and facing the other way down a steep slope.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Montreal, Canada

Gorgeous old hotel with all the modern facilities

Posted Sep 26, 2013
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing to add!
Location: Walking distance to the old City Nice pool. Old style turkish bath & great massage therapists
Simply said, I would not stay in any other hotel in Jerusalem! Beautiful old hotel, great views, a wonderful spa and hammam Great massage therapists (ouch!!!) Multilingual helpful staff and a very accommodating manager… What else can we ask! The rooms are spacious, modern and clean with that 19th century touch that make them a pleasure to be in. I don't see what I can add. 5 stars for me.