Ratings based on 287 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Cypress, Tx

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Pros: Close proximity to the Old City and to the Garden Tomb
Cons: Softer beds
Location: Much to do
I had a good experience here. I liked the staff. The room was sufficient and the price was very good. The reason I chose this place was for the location to the Old City.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Pros: Hotel and staff was good, food was good to. Big room compare to other Israel Hotels.
Cons: ...
Location: The street where this Hotel i don't like, but if you want to walk to old city of Jerusalem its good location.
I paid $99 for night its good price for this Hotel. Staff was nice and helpful. Breakfast good. I would stay again with companion . its Arabic place. You can walk to old city of Jerusalem. I don't like the street where this Hotel its located.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lörrach, BW

Hotel in Altstadtnähe

Posted Dec 9, 2014
Das Hotel befindet sich im arabischen Teil Jerusalems in idealer Entfernung zur Altstadt mit Tempelberg, Klagemauer und Grabeskirche. Die zimmer sind zweckmässig und vor noch nicht zu langer zeit renoviert, Das Personal, insbesondere der General Manager Mohammad, sind um einen angenehmen Aufenthalt sehr bemüht. Ausgezeichnetes Frühstücksbuffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brooklyn, NY

Can't be beat

Posted Nov 29, 2014
This was my second stay at the National and it was as good as the first. The best thing: the staff. It's incredibly friendly and helpful. And Nirvana, who works the desk, is amazing. I've thoroughly enjoyed my stays there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Aarhus, Denmark

First class hotel close to the old city

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: The staff at reception; breakfast; location; service.
Cons: The lighting and location of electrical outlets in the rooms could be improved. A glass of beer or wine with the evening meal would have been nice.
Location: You could spend a year in Jerusalem and still not know the city; there is so much to see and experience.
We spent a total of five nights at the National Hotel. The location is close to the Damascus Gate and ideal for visiting the Old City, but a little difficult to access by public transport. The staff at the front desk was extremely helpful, professional and competent. The rooms are spacious and well furnished. The restaurant on the fourth (top) floor with a view over the city offers a fantastic breakfast buffet and equally good evening meals at reasonable prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom PARIS

hotel sympatique

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: sa situation son acceuil
Cons: insonorisation des chambres, une ampoule grillée, la vasque de douche fendue
Location: quartier populaire de Jérusalem Est. Proche de la gare de bus, pour aller sur le mont des oliviers ou Bethléem.
4 étoiles en Israël c'est moins bien qu'en Europe, mais il est très bien placé à 5 minutes à pied de la porte d’Hérode la vieille ville est très facilement accessible. Le personnel est charmant.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Atlanta

Could not stay there

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Cons: Refund policy
We had a non-refundable, non-cancellable reservation but requested a refund as the hotel is located in an area that has had civil unrest in the past few weeks. We clearly understand that the hotel did not have to refund our money but we did make the request twice hoping that the hotel would give us a refund since we did not feel comfortable staying there at this time. We can't rate the hotel except to pass on that we did not get the refund. Future guests may want to consider this before making reservations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wunderbarer Service

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: das perfekte Personal und das tolle Frühstück
Wir waren eine Woche zu Gast im National Hotel Jerusalem. Über das Herod's Gate, zu dem man drei Minuten läuft, waren wir schnell in der Altstadt. Die Zimmer waren sauber und nett ausgestattet; wir hatten sogar einen kleinen Balkon. Zugegebenermaßen war das Bad schon etwas älter, aber es wurde täglich perfekt gereinigt, so dass man dies gut in Kauf nehmen konnte. Neben dem fantastischen Frühstück, das man u.a. auf dem netten Balkon einnehmen konnte, waren insbesondere die immer freundlichen und hilfreichen Mitarbeiter an der Rezeption das Highlight. Sie standen jederzeit mit Rat und Tat zur Seite und haben uns viele praktische Tipps zu Ausflügen, Spaziergängen, Einkäufen, Restaurants usw. geben können. Selten haben wir so freundliches Personal erlebt. Bei unserem nächsten Jerusalem-Aufenthalt werden wir definitiv wieder im National Hotel einchecken.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Zalaszanto, Hungary

So Glad

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: It's location, the breakfast, the wonderful staff, and the neighborhood.
Cons: Better directions on how to locate the hotel once you get to East Jerusalem.
Location: It's a very short and pleasant walk to the Old City and Herod's gate. There are nice restaurants and sandwich shops nearby. It's close to highway 1.
The entire staff deserves their reviews. Even the car park guy was friendly and helpful. The hotel is close to the old city gates and in a safe and friendly neighborhood with lots of restaurants and shops. We were there for three nights and our entire experience was very pleasant. It was the right choice for our stay. Oh, the breakfast on the upper floor terrace was a delightful way to begin each day and was sublime.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

OK hotel but located in the Muslim quarter

Posted Nov 10, 2014
Pros: Good rooms and good food in the restaurant
Location: Bad location because of Arab Israeli tensions
Hotel staff very accommodating but currently a lot of tension between the Muslims and Israelis. Left the hotel to walk to the Old City to be confronted by lots of soldiers and police armed to the teeth and refusing us entry to the 2 closest gates (Herod and Damascus).