Ratings based on 122 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

You can't tell a hotel by its cover

Posted Aug 9, 2014
Pros: Great value for the money, clean room, good food and very attentive staff. Good and free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel.
Cons: More foreign TV channels.
Location: A couple of blocks from Old Jerusalem. 12 minute walk from Millenia Mall. Great Istanbul beef, chicken or vegan wraps across the street
What a pleasant surprise to discover a jewel within the gleaming web pages that showcase their suites. In this case the gem was behind the registration desk called Nirvana. She had an eye out for every guest wishes and comfort. Her passion was to make sure you were happy with your stay from room service to dining. A car needs a spark plug to run and the National hotel found their spark plug that kept everything running smoothly. If you want to find out or do a study on customer service check into hotel. Its great value for the money and only a couple of blocks from Old Jerusalem's Herod's Gate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lillington, NC

Great hotel 3 blocks from old Jerusalem

Posted Jul 19, 2014
Pros: Closeness to old Jerusalem, the staff, food, price
Cons: I don't know if it can be done ( clean surroundings), increase parking
Location: Visit old Jerusalem
The hotel was great, the only thing I did not like is that is located in an area that looks like a market and that parking is limited. The food was great. If this hotel was in different surroundings it would a 4 star all around. Always carry your passport with you, because hotel is located on the Arab area and the can be check points by the police, specially during conflict times
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California, USA

Customer Service Excellent…Comfortable beds

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Good Location close to Ganden Tomb and Damascus gate and Herods Gate….
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from scotland

Excellent receptionist in Nirvana

Posted Jul 9, 2014
Pros: Food was good and customer service excellent.
Cons: Updating decor in bedrooms.
Location: Location is not great. The shops are not good and it's a struggle to get even milk and water.
Helpful, knowledgable and accommodating staff, especially Nirvana who goes the extra mile. Hotel is a bit tired behind the main reception and foyer and professional photos show the rooms to be much bigger and better than they really are.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Ontario, Canada

Lovely place

Posted Jul 1, 2014
This hotel is great quality and amazing value-for-money in Jerusalem. If you are looking for a hotel in a clinical busy lifeless city centre, this not the right place. But, if you want a friendly hotel, nicely set up, in a neighbourhood that is full of life (and schwarma shops!) then this will be perfect.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ray from Canada

Three great nights

Posted Jun 29, 2014
I stayed here a total of three nights, and they were really good. The front desk staff were both nice and helpful, and don't seem at all jaded about the groups that go in and out. Some people have expressed the concern about location - the hotel is in East Jerusalem, which is the Arab part of the city. But all that has meant to me is that there is a lot of interesting street life. There are lots of hotels in this part of town, and lots of travelers, and it is close to the Old City, and affordable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eddie from London

Wonderful hotel in east jerusalem

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: great location away from west jerusalem but close to the old city, lovely rooms, great view from the roof terrace and lovely staff !
What makes this hotel stand out in the crowd is most definitely its very friendly and helpful staff. I give them a 10 out of 10 !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by james from manchester uk

beautiful hotel

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Pros: free internet - nice! Tv in the room, was appreciated, lvely big bath and showers. i felt spoilt
Cons: I always think these hotels could include a free dinner as well. maybe a smaller portion not full buffet but residents should get a plate of food
Location: as ive mentioned its perfect. walking distance to the old town,
East Jerusalem is the place to stay. Right in the heart of the culturally amazing Muslim quarters. Just check the news before hand as if the israelis decide they want a party, like they did when i was there they close the streets of and we were sort of trapped for 2 hours waiting for them to finish. I wouldnt stay anyhere else though, this is true Jerusalem, beautiful people, beautiful place! just plan your trip. i didnt and jerusalem is crazy and can be an attack on the senses, make sure you have a map, know where your going and stick to your plan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect hotel in East Jerusalem

Posted Jun 10, 2014
Pros: Location. Great breakfast buffet.
Cons: n/a
Location: 5 minute walk to Old City
We had rented a car to do some travelling while using Jerusalem as a base. One morning, we had issues with the rental car and the head breakfast chef came out and fixed it for us. This is just an example of how devoted to customer service the National Hotel is. The same sense of duty was applicable across the board during our stay. Plus, the location was perfect for exploring the Old City. Couldn't ask for anything better.