Ratings based on 35 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Satusfactory

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Excellent location with easy access to the Old City. Staff varied in helpfulness - some were excellent while more attended without a smile. Breakfast was mediocre; lunch overpriced but the wine and cheese bar was super in every regard. The hotel feels quite monastic which will not suit everyone. Wifi provision in the lobby is good but not in the bedroom. The Chapel is beautiful and having Mass on site a real gift.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by EBZER from IL

Steps away for the Old City

Posted May 17, 2014
Pros: Rooms are quiet and the beds comfortable. Decor is nice. Very clean.
Cons: A little more organization.
Location: Get lost in the old city.
Overall the hotel was nice. The AC was out but were not informed at time of check in so we sat in our room trying to figure out how to turn it on. I would have be ok if they told us when we checked in. The nights get cool as it is in the desert. Breakfast is to be included with the stay. Both mornings we were leaving on early tours. At the suggestion of the young man checking us in we were told we could request breakfast boxes which we did. Much to our dismay - no boxes. Concierge will hold you luggage but the room is not locked off a main hall. Dinner buffet really nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tatiana from Moscow, Russia

Just by the old city))

Posted Apr 27, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet room, nice terace on the top floor with a view of the old city
Cons: none
Location: Location is just opposite the New Gate of the old city which is very convenient
This is a nice hotel in a prime location - just opposite the New Gate of the old city of Jerusalem, very convenient for sightseeing. We spent there three nights and enjoyed every moment of being there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Notreligious from NYC

Vatican needs some improvement but not much

Posted Dec 29, 2013
Pros: Location to old Jerusalem. The staff.
Cons: Better menus and chefs. Turn the heat on in public rooms when it's cold outside. Ease up on the incense & candles or put in better ventilation sys.
Location: New Gate was right across the street. External tours booked via the hotel picked up at the hotel.
Pros - clean rooms, excellent staff. Cons - the food was NOT good [I ordered nachos and was given Doritios with melted cheese! They could have splurged on real tortilla chips]. My room smelled like incense & candles from the chapel although it was not close to it. The hotel was cold and I spent what meals I did eat there wearing my coat.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Steve from Redwood City, CA

As close to old city as you can. Excellent place!

Posted Dec 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
Outstanding personal and friendly service. Greeted by staff repeatedly and given personal attention. Although not specifically geared toward kids, they were prepared for and welcomed with open arms. The balcony was amazing. The hotel is just outside of one of the gates to the Christian Quarter, and getting into the old city is a 1 minute walk (across the street).
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jane from San Francisco

Would stay here again

Posted Nov 27, 2013
Pros: Cleanliness, proximity to major sites, ease of transportation, good value for Jerusalem.
Cons: Add WiFi access in rooms.
Liked this place very much for its beautiful architecture, proximity to significant sites of note, ease of transportation, and well kept grounds. Location across from Old City's "New Gate" very convenient but also safe. 24/7 guards at gate and it's huge well lit compound privides good point of reference for the directionally challenged. Its also a brisk 5 min downhill walk to the Arab bus station (took #21 direct to Bethlehem) and tram (Mehane Yehuda, Central Bus Station, Mt.Hertzel, etc). 10 min walk in same downhill direction as Arab bus station is Damascus Gate, while Jaffa Gate is a 10min uphill walk in opposite direction and the Artist Colony, King David Hotel and West Jerusalem are not much further. Staff were knowledgeable and willing to help. Rooms were kept very clean and stocked with basic amenities such as towels, bath products, safe and air conditioning. WiFi fast and available around lobby/lounge and in lower room (#213) I stayed in, but not available on higher floor (room 313). Breakfast buffet is plentiful and with wide range of choices. Lastly, rate was very reasonable. Check in and out very efficient and prompt. I would not hesitate to stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Jerry from California

Posted Nov 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Location, Location, Location! across the street from the Old City and an easy walk to all the sites in the Old City. The rooms are comfortable and clean, however a bit noisy if you are near the elevators. Big pluses are the beautiful chapel with daily mass and the food - hearty, delicious and surprisingly inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Martha

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com