Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location, very close to the old city. Attentive & helpful staff. Good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ran Schweitzer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by T Voight

Posted May 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff was helpful and the location was great.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Margey from Houston, TX

Location, location, location

Posted Apr 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best thing going for Eldan Hotel is its location, a 10-15 minute walk to the Jaffa gate and on King David Street. Other than that, eh. There were no toiletries in the room except for liquid soap dispensers for the sink and shower. The breakfast buffet was no buffet at all, other than a few salads, boiled eggs and a selection of omelettes from a menu that were nothing to write home about. On the plus side, the rooms were well sound-proofed so even facing King David street was quiet enough for sleep. The front desk folks were accommodating and helpful – just don’t ask for directions to Chakra or you’ll end up on the wrong end of King George Street! The biggest drawback was a result of the age of the hotel. It was on a two-pipe chiller system which meant the whole hotel was running either hot or cool air. We were there April 1 - 2 when it warmed to the high 60s, low 70s during the day which meant much warmer in the hotel rooms. However, the system was turned on heat and we were HOT at night. The bellman showed us how to adjust the thermostat from heat to cool, never mentioning that we really didn't have an option. Then again, when we asked for a list of TV stations, he said that every room had different stations so there was no list. Yeah, right.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

prime location

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
rooms are basic, but the location and view make up for it. decent breakfast, friendly helpful staff. near everything major in the old city and central part of the city.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Great location, mediocre hotel

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Cons: new beds, automated garage doors
The good: perfect location, nice stuff, nice breakfast The bad: hotel overall is 3 stars at best, the beds and the rooms are motel level, the parking is very limited and inconvinient even if you are lucky to get a spot. If not, too bad, there is no place to park your car for more than 3 hours anywhere close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Racha from Pittsburgh, PA

Good choice!

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: The staff was very helpful and eager to assist us in all sorts of ways.
Location: The Eldan is an easy walk to the Jaffa Gate of the Old City. It is a bit of an uphill walk to Ben Yehuda St. but, it is certainly walkable.
The location is PERFECT. The staff was warm and friendly. We thought the rooms were a little 'snug' but fine. The hotel is clean and neat. Breakfasts were just right, not over the top but plenty of food and lots of options. We thought the Shabbat dinner was just o.k.because it was a buffet. It was not exceptional and certainly not elegant or gracious. We would absolutely stay there again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Teacher from UK

Comfortable, excellent value, great location

Posted Mar 19, 2014
Pros: Location, helpful staff, value for money
Location: Within easy walking distance of the Old City and shopping areas.
This is a no-frills, comfortable hotel in a great location for the Old City. The rooms are simply decorated but ours easily held 3 beds without falling over one another. Very satisfying breakfast served freshly to each guest with good choice. Fantastically helpful, knowledgeable staff.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by Anita from Ohio

Not what I expected

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best thing about this hotel is the location, across the street from Mamilla Mall and very close to The Old City .Our room was very small with a very small bathroom. There were no amenities, in fact, no bar soap, only a soft soap dispenser . It was unusually hot in Jerusalem but no air conditioning but the windows did open. The the breakfast was adequate and the staff friendly. The dining room needs some updating as some of the chairs should be recovered. On the plus, the room was exceptionally clean and there was free wifi. If you are looking for a very basic hotel with an excellent location, this may be the hotel for you. We would not return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

convenient location

Posted Mar 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
great location, ok breakfast, helpful staff,no real amenities