Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Crouch End

Another great stay!

Posted Nov 24, 2014
I have stayed at this hotel many times now and cannot find fault.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lagos

Neat hotel with excellent service.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The people were courteous and the hotel clean all around.
Cons: Need a small gym as nt all guests want to pay so much to use the commercial gym in the neighborhood.
Location: Excellent neighborhood with old dinning and shopping
I had excellent stay and will return to this hotel in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom california

Nice two weeks!

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: The staff are very nice and rooms are clean and comfy. They clean two times a day one in the morning and later in the day at 6 pm .
Cons: Taxi service because I wish it'll be more available, sometimes I have to wait awhile for a car.
I loved this hotel! Very close to the melrose arch mall. Good day for shopping on weekends but not regular days because shops close at 6 pm. You need to get a booking for a car here because there are no taxis you can just flag down but the drivers in lux are very nice and pleasant, most of them. There are a lot of restaurants you can just from the hotel, just right outside. My favorite is Moyo and Ocean Basket. Moyo us African dishes and ocean basket have very nice staff and fresh seafood and good selection of cocktails.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Gfrom NYC

Joburg

Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is quite posh, however far from most things. There is no shuttle service from Tambo Airport, however, they can arrange a car for excursions at an agreed upon rate. Strange practices like turndown services at 7PM were offered twice-which was off-putting. Not to mention an overwhelming disinfectant smell reminiscent of cologne greets you as you walk in. The porters, door men, and front desk were so courteous and helpful. The room was very nice, but if facing the high street-remember that there are office bldgs across the way. The hotel restaurant is very nice and offers a great continental breakfast as well as hot items. Decent stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Tania Malan, Hotel Management
Dear Mr G Thank you so much for taking the time to review our esteemed property. I hope that you had the time to explore the Melrose Arch precinct during your stay with us; they really do offer world-class retail and restaurant offerings! I am delighted that you so enjoyed our March Restaurant and particularly the breakfast; which has been voted the best in Johannesburg numerous times! Please would you be so kind as to email me your contact details so that I can advise our STAFF to discuss a more convenient time with you to turn down your room during your next stay. Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. We are so grateful for your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Kind regards Tania Malan General Manager at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dfrom NYC

Wonderful hotel

Posted May 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great hotel in prime location in J'burg . Variety of restaurants and shops steps from hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Tania Malan, Hotel Management
Dear D Thank you so much for your wonderful feedback on your stay with us at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. We are so fortunate to be located in the centre of the Melrose Arch precinct; which offers such a trendy and vibrant array of entertainment, beautiful stores and incredible restaurants! In a few choice words, you have summed up some of our favourite things about the hotel and hope that you will return in the near future to experience some more! Looking forward to welcoming you back soon, Kind regards Tania Malan General Manager of the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Woman mid 40'sfrom sydney

Great position. Super comfortable.

Posted May 3, 2014
Thoroughly enjoyed my time at the African Pride. The room was very comfortable. Loved the egg shape bath and large separate shower. Also a pillow menu is always a bonus as is the face you can turn off the air con and open the windows. I would happily recommend and certainly stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 30, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to excellent restaurants.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The location and the room size.
Location: There were two excellent restaurants in the area and they were quite close.
I thought the hotel was an excellent choice for the area we were in and for the pricepaid. The breakfasts were excellent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Tania Malan, Hotel Management
Dear Sir/Madame Thank you for your valuable feedback! We ultimately aim for our GUESTS to feel that their experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel was an indulgent yet valuable one and I am delighted that these are your sentiments. We pride ourselves on offering the best breakfast in Johannesburg and I am so glad that you enjoyed this special offering. Thank you for making this "excellent choice", we are so grateful that you did and look forward to welcoming you back again soon! Kind regards Tania Malan General Manager, African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by irene dfrom london

Fabulous hotel on doorsteps of great shopping and

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Booked in early on a Saturday morning. Greeted by friendly helpful staff with glasses of champagne. Our room was ready even though we were early. Huge room and especially fab bathroom.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 6, 2014 by Tania Malan, Hotel Management
Dear Irene D Thank you for your wonderful feedback. I am thrilled that you found my STAFF so welcoming and that you so enjoyed our beautiful room facilities. We aim to meet and exceed our GUESTS' expectations on every stay and I certainly hope that this was the case with your experience at the African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel. Please do visit us again soon, we'll be sure to have the glasses of champagne ready! Kind regards Tania Malan General Manager, African Pride Melrose Arch Hotel