Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel was close to excellent restaurants.

Posted Mar 6, 2014
Pros: The location and the room size.
Location: There were two excellent restaurants in the area and they were quite close.
I thought the hotel was an excellent choice for the area we were in and for the pricepaid. The breakfasts were excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by irene d from london

Fabulous hotel on doorsteps of great shopping and

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Booked in early on a Saturday morning. Greeted by friendly helpful staff with glasses of champagne. Our room was ready even though we were early. Huge room and especially fab bathroom.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by MissyJ23 from Chicago, IL & Greensboro, NC

Trendy, Modern, Right in the Middle of the Action

Posted Dec 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Overall great stay. The decor was super modern and beautiful. Rooms are spacious, comfortable, and every last detail down to the rubber duckies on the tub were thought of. LOVED that the safe was hidden behind a picture of a guy looking behind a picture for a safe. My husband liked the green lights in the shower area because he thought it made him look like the incredible hulk. We got a bit of attitude from one receptionist, but the rest were positively lovely. Also had some drainage issues with the shower that we asked the front desk to address, but we're doubtful anyone ever came. Regardless, we had a great experience. The hotel is situated in the middle of Melrose Arch, a lovely gated area filled with great shopping, restaurants and fun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jan from USA

Expensive but worth it!

Posted Dec 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Stayed at the hotel for one night romantic getaway. Great hotel, great quiet room. Awesome outdoor pool, was slightly dirty though. Overall it was worth the money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Eugene

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 11, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 7, 2013
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by czrooster from Indiana

Super Choice for Melrose Arch Area

Posted Sep 2, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is first rate with all the amenities you would expect. It is a little eclectic with red and green lights in the rooms but comfortable and the staff is attentive. I would stay there again. The breakfast buffet is good and very affortable considering other hotels charge exhorbitant rates at around $16. The neighborhood is outstanding and safe, fenced in from the surrounding area. Moyo a great restaurant is just across the courtyard.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by paul from usa

Nice stay

Posted Aug 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very nice stay. Great location. Staff was very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by N from New York

Fabulous design, great location, super luxury

Posted Jul 19, 2013 on Hotels.com
Had an absolutely amazing 4-day stay at African Pride Melrose Arch. This hotel is true luxury - every single detail is so beautifully designed and well thought out. The decor of the lobby and the rooms was amazing. The bathroom is lovely. Everything was super clean. Great service. The library bar is wonderful. The neighborhood is great and safe - lots of great restaurants and shopping within walking distance.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JFG from Washington DC

I est part is location within Melrose Arch

Posted Apr 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
If you've ever been to Johannesburg, you know that you cannot merely walk around outside for security reasons. This hotel is within the Melrose Arch complex with a controlled perimeter which gives you the sense of walking around the streets. The hotel decor is a bit tacky for my taste, and prices can be high. The location though is the reason I'd go back.