Ratings based on 40 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Budget overnight hotel

Posted May 31, 2014
Could hear people talking and laughing until midnight. Basic hotel. Good for quick overnight stay. Staff are very friendly and shuttle worked well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from usa

one of my favorite hotels

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: love the wild animals you can feed. like you call and they come free and pick you up. staff and owner are very nice.
Cons: wireless internet on far side
Location: 10 mins from airport with free shuttle bus
always stay here. its one of my favourite hotels in the world
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by L from USA

Excellent basic hotel with breakfast & shuttle

Posted Feb 28, 2014
Pros: very courteous and helpful staff; breakfast; shuttle to and from airport; clean room; lovely green setting that encouraged watching the game park.
Cons: Not sure if anything can be done about thin walls....
Location: Close to the OR Tambo International Airport. There is too much to do in Jo'burg to list here.
We had a very positive visit at the lodge. We were picked up at the airport despite our late arrival, which we much appreciated. The hotel room was clean, with a very comfortable bed. When we awoke I enjoyed watching the ostriches and gazelles graze right outside our door! The breakfast served a variety of tastes (continental and more substantial). My only complaint would be the thin walls. We were traveling with our son, and it's hard to keep a toddler quiet!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not an ariport hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2014
its quite a way from the airport so make sure to ring them in advance and get them to collect you otherwise it is an expensive taxi drive. There is no food available and a cash only drinks dispenser - not very inviting when you have just come off a long flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Elizabethtown, KY

Stellar

Posted Jan 4, 2014
Pros: Very relaxing
Cons: nothing at all
Location: Need to arrange tours, nothing within walking distance...Hotel kindly helps with setting up everything!
This hotel is perfect for the relaxing traveler....perfect!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Milo from Los Angeles

Posted Dec 21, 2013
Pros: Hotel provided free shuttle to/from the airport. Free WiFi
Location: Did not explore the area, just spent some quiet time at the property.
Excellent property and value for the money. Room was spacious and comfortable. Accommodating staff.Spent some time by the pool. Especially enjoyed the wild animals around.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bill from Harare, Zimbabwe

Close to airport, quiet and relaxing

Posted Nov 1, 2013
Pros: Convenient, quiet, outdoorsy, comfortable rooms, though not 4* in facilities.
Cons: Food availability mainly.
Location: near airport. key plus: it's as close as most airport hotels in joburg, half the price on expedia special, and has pretty grounds.
Charming little place with clean big rooms, comfy beds and nice linens, looking out on fenced veld for a small number of animals. Not really a game lodge actually, but as long as you're not expecting a real one it is fine - nice quiet spaces, greenish views, off the beaten track. Biggest downside: only serve breakfast (which was very limited and not tasty and skimpy on portions), and only takeout food is available other times of day, and it is expensive and unappealing - the usual pizzas, etc. So not a place to come if you're looking for nice (or any...) food, nice drinks. Shame, as the setting would be pleasant for outdoor eating and drinking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from Liverpool, England

Peaceful Location

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Pros: Very attractive garden, with some wildlife beyond. Excellent breakfast.
Cons: Gurgling pipes overhead during the night were a little disturbing.
Location: Peaceful location, close to Jo'burg Airport
Good, basic rooms with comfortable bed, looking out onto a very pretty garden.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rob from Kalamazoo

comfortable, convenient hotel for air travelers

Posted Sep 2, 2013
Pros: Peaceful, secure, inexpensive, clean.
Cons: Receptacles for charging non SA cellular phones are not provided in the rooms.
The lodge is extraordinarily well maintained and clean. The staff are very friendly and helpful, and the animals are amusing. Breakfast is the only meal served but the staff will order delivery pizza and such for a reasonable price, a bar/ restaurant would be a great addition but would probably drive the price up quite a bit. There is no heat in the rooms, but the provided electric space heater was more than adequate for an unusually cold night in Johannesburg. The airport shuttle is free and convenient. I expect to stay at the lodge again on my next trip through SA, and am looking forward to it.