Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by Mike from Canada

Bad experience close to airport.

Posted Mar 30, 2014
Planes taking off and landing all night long and no way to abate the noise. No fan or airconditioner working so we had to open the old single pane windows just to breathe. Terrible design of the place means traffic and people in stereo...ie on both sides of the room! Mostly conventioneers so lots of shouting laughing etc till late We never slept the whole night. Owners need to teardown and start again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OB travels from Rhode island

Birchwood hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Landscape surrounding, secured fence in area welcoming front desk staff, free shuttle to airport.
Cons: I email the hotel and never got a response prior to my arrival. It would be nice if shuttle was every half hour instead of one hour interval.
Location: I was in transit, but it seem tuck away from a major road, did see a shopping mall a mile away from hotel and a few franchise eateries(kfc/Mcdonald)
Friendly check in staff, room are spacious, old style tv, nice view from the balcony of tropical landscape, price was fantastic for my short stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brian from Harare, Zimbabwe

Posted Jan 17, 2014
Pros: The hotel was very good value for money, being quite inexpensive for what you get.
Cons: Perhaps friendliness of reception staff could be better, but it wasn't bad either
Location: Just stayed a night in transit so did not venture out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Highly Recommended

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great Location: close to the airport and centrally located highway wise. Fantastic Service: quick, helpful staff. Onsite transportation to nearby mall. Very satisfied with stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maria from Maputo - Mozambique

We spent such a wonderful time.

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: The roogar garden, pool, gym and the hotel shuttle...Including the security within the hotel compound.
Cons: No comments.
Location: Wonderful location, good restaurants and shopping.
We enjoyed our stay at the hotel and hope to go back in months to come. The hotel facilities and amenities were good and the staff were very professional and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by scfjose from Maputo

Most convenient well priced hotel

Posted Jan 10, 2014
Pros: Location of the hotel, spacious area, parking in front of the room.
Cons: a small sink in the room, than the "small kitchen" is complete
Location: Airport less than 10 minutes, all the shops and supermarket on walking distance. Malls close by. All car brand and other car shops are close by.
Nice standard hotel. Excellent location in Boksburg. less than 10 minutes drive from OR Tambo airport. Walking distance shopping center and restaurants. Everything you need for your car is available and cheap in Boksburg.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Sherrine Beeslaar from Hillcrest KZN - South Africa

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good location with transfer shuttle to the Airport and Mall a good convenience. The Hotel was ideal for our overnight purpose between flights and the shuttle service times suited us as perfectly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Caesar from United Kingdom

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 4, 2014
The hotel was very large, so large that it has 3 restaurants on site (only one of which was open when we went because of the holidays - it was the café attached to reception - I would skip it - the food was not good and they were out of stock on many things). There was a motorized cart to take you and your things to the room. The rooms were nice and plenty big. Staff was friendly - although they weren't always good about answering the phone when you called the front desk. There was a shuttle to take you to and from the airport, which runs every hour. There is also an hourly shuttle that will take you to the mall, which has a grocery store, restaurants and a movie theater. The hotel in an area with a lot of shopping, but due to the fact that jo-berg isn't the safest, I wouldn't walk around too much - and not at all at night. I would stay here again.