Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oakland ca

good location

Posted Sep 21, 2014
the staff was wonderful the food was wonderful everything about the area of the hotel was great fantastic wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Dougiefrom Washington, DC

Great place to stay

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
I was leery of the CBD of Johannesburg. Mapungubwe was a great place to stay and helped to convince me that Joburg is on its way back. Our room was quite clean and very comfortable. WiFi was free and dependable. The breakfast (included in our stay) was excellent - I was tempted to stuff myself with a second breakfast because it was so tasty. The hotel included free transfers to certain places nearby, and the staff were all super helpful in figuring things out. I would absolutely stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto, Canada

Loved the hotel close to everything

Posted Jul 21, 2014
This hotel is a perfect combination of location, service, delicious/varietied food, and comfort. I enjoyed my time here and the complimentary shuttle service in the CBD was dependable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ms. Bfrom Cayman Islands

Hard to beat for the price!

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
This has got to be one of the best buys in Johannesburg. The suite was huge - living room, full kitchen and separate bed and bath (with both a tub and a shower), and the two dinners I had in the restaurant were fabulous and very reasonable. Breakfast was included, and there was much more than I could ever eat. The room was quiet and comfortable, although a little cooler than I would have liked. The staff was very helpful and pleasant. The location is not the greatest, but the shuttle service can get you just about anywhere you want to go. Unfortunately, it is not always free, nor is it generally on time. The airport shuttle service is more expensive than advertised on Hotels.com, and I had to wait close to an hour for the pick-up. The next day I had arranged to go to the Origins Centre, and no one mentioned having to pay for this. The shuttle was about 20 minutes late departing, and when they picked me back up (also about 30 minutes late), we drove all over town with the chef onboard to pick up seafood for the restaurant. If it had been free, I couldn't complain, but I was charged $20 for what should have been a 20-minute trip each way and turned into a several hour odyssey! Be sure to check your bill, too. I prepaid, but the bill included charges for both nights when it was presented to me. The charges were removed, but the front desk clerk copied the printed confirmation I had with me when I checked in, so there should have been no question.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Tokefrom Lagos

Lovely stay in joburg

Posted Jun 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
I loved my room and the ambience. The organized tour was great. Will visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in the heart of downtown

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel is located in the heart of Johannesburg. I recommend renting a car since attractions are far apart, unless you are on business and staying in the area. Staff is helpful and the best part is the breakfast! Fresh omelette station and plenty of options. You will not start your day on an empty stomach. Our room was pretty big with nice appliances, kitchen and AC. The area around the hotel is OK, we never felt any danger. And the same goes to Braamfontein. During the weekends though is pretty quiet and it feels a little dull. Overal I recommend this hotel 100%
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York, NY

Excellent Hotel Downtown

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Location: If you stay in this hotel you will get to know the city much better than if you stay in a suburb. Sign up for the city's excellent walking tours.
I stayed for one week and can't say enough good things about this hotel. My one-bedroom apartment was spotless, well-furnished and very comfortable. I especially appreciated the spacious, well-equipped gym that was open 24-hours - and it has windows with a view of the hotel's pleasant courtyard. The staff were uniformly friendy and kind. A breakfast spread with a wide selection of food was included in the price. I was also happy to find that there were laundry facilities in the basement for guests to use. There cannot possibly be a better value hotel for the price in Johannesburg. I am returning again to the same hotel at the end of the month. There are a couple of small items that could be improved, but they are by no means major. The lighting in the rooms is too dim to allow guests to read or write comfortably. I had plenty of place to spread out with my laptop and papers, but I found it difficult to see them. Secondly, after the restaurant closes (which is fairly early) there is no source of food anywhere in or near the hotel. If guests arrive late (and hungry) they will have to wait until morning. There at least be some kind of vending machine on the property. I loved the location because I love to walk. From this hotel, you can walk to Braamfontein, Maboneng, Newtown, and anywhere in the CBD. The Gautrain is also only a 15 minute walk away. These walks are not safe at night, but I found them to be perfectly fine during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by grahamfrom South Wales

Reasonable hotel but dreadful location

Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is in the city in a really bad area. I wouldn't recommend anyone take a walk outside. The hotel itself is fine although they could do with giving the staff some customer service training.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Olajumoke

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DQfrom Maputo, Moz

A Pleasant Surprise

Posted Feb 18, 2014
This being our first trip to Johannesburg for an event near the J'burg Stadium, the Faircity Mapungubwe Hotel Apartments pleasantly surprised us by exceeding our expectations. The hotel was easily accessible from the freeway, the staff were very pleasant and service-oriented, the room was spacious and comfortable, the complimentary breakfast buffet had a nice selection, the shuttle service was very accommodating, and the neighborhood generally felt safe. Overall, the hotel was an incredible value, and I would not hesitate to return again.