Ratings based on 9 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from Chicago

Solid 5 stars

Posted Nov 26, 2013
I fly for a living and stayed at hotels all over the world. This hotel is hands down one of the best in every regard and in the top 1% of anything if ever seen. I joked that it made the Four Seasons look like a Howard Johnson. But it is easily on par or above Four Seasons in every regard.... And the staff has pride in their hotel and it shows. Highly recommended. Also, fantastic gym and spa. Call them to have airport transportation ready and waiting. Hope to return.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from Ottawa

Great hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent property, great location, fantastic staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Cheryl from California

One of the bet hotels anywhere in the world!

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
This hotel is a beautiful retreat! We arrived for 3 nights before going on safari. We had not been to Johannesburg before and decided to spend a few days to have a private guide to see the sights, to use the spa, and adjust to the time change. It was magnificent! The staff is the most incredible group of people who cannot do enough to make your stay comfortable an enjoyable. They were helpful and courteous beyond anywhere we have been. The rooms are fabulous, all different. Our friends enjoyed theirs and we were so surprised to see each other's rooms. The hotel is tucked away in a residential area but very convenient to get to other locations. We would highly recommend this hotel!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peter from Melbourne VIC, Australia

A superb hotel

Posted Aug 8, 2013
Pros: The charm and beauty of the hotel and its settings.
Location: An upmarket location in Johannesburg.
Fairlawns exceeded our expectations. A truly magnificent boutique hotel in beautiful setting. The French styled chateau buildings are the real thing - exceptionally well built and fitted out. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a memorable experience and I would thoroughly recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a peaceful and and relaxing stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Adog243

Fabulous!

Posted Jul 29, 2012 on Hotels.com
A little out of the way ie. not as central to Sandton as one might think, but fabulous in (almost!) every way. Team wonderful, rooms stunning, dining delicious! If you enjoy relaxed elegance, it would be difficult to surpass the Fairlawns. Minor niggles with wi if signal strength/availability, but otherwise faultless.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

A pleasant suprise

Posted May 9, 2012 on Hotels.com
One of the best hotels I have stayed anywhere. Cosy. Serene. And Relaxing
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Fantastic Boutique Hotel

Posted Jul 31, 2008
I stayed here twice on either side of a trip to Madagascar. It is about 25 mins from the airport but worth every minute. The rooms are beautiful, the service and food tremedous and on a cold winters night they will light the real fire in your room and when you get back from dinner there is a hot water bottle in the bed. Nothing is too much trouble. Go there you wont be disappointed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Mexico City

Great hotel for both business or leisure

Posted Jul 16, 2008
The Fairlawns Sandton Hotel was a gratifying experience. The rooms are large, each one is themed (mine was Louis XV themed) with large bathrooms, nice ammenities and superb service. The hotel is in a calm and quiet place of Sandton, albeit a bit away from Sandtons commercial zone, however, the hotel (at my time of stay) would drive you into Sandtons center. The food was good, the people really attentive. Would definitely stay again
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Surrey

A very beautiful colonial style hotel

Posted May 20, 2008
The staff were highly attentive and the rooms generously proportioned and well equipped. Staying here made a business trip a pleasure.