Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Beautiful setting with most attentive staff!

Posted Aug 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
I spent a night at the hotel on the way back from Cape Town to Dubai, and even though I was only there for one night, I felt totally spoilt and relaxed when I checked out in the morning. The staff were absolutely amazing - attentive and helpful without being to "in your face". I will be back in Johannesburg for a week and November and will definitely be staying at The Westcliff ! The only (trivial) complaint I have is that one of the telephones in the room was not working - however, there was another one which worked fine.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel for couples

Posted Jul 31, 2012
Very enjoyable stay. Hotel is very well maintained, excellent friendly service, Polo bar outside by the pool is a great setting for lunch / drinks. Great massage at the spa as well. If I had to find fault, the pillows are so large that you end up sleeping with your head at a rather uncomfortable, plus the televisions could be upgraded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Brandon from Mill Creek, WA

Amazing!

Posted Oct 16, 2010
The Westcliff is easily one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed at. The service was extraordinary. The staff bends over backwards to serve you. It is worth the trip to Johannesburg. I will always stay there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Cambridge UK

Fabulous hotel in great area.

Posted Oct 14, 2010 on Hotels.com
This was our first visit to Johannesburg and I was a little bit wary of what we would find. I couldn't have felt more secure and comfortable in this hotel. The service was impeccable, and the staff were friendly and good natured. The views are fantastic, a carpet of greens and purples stretches out as far as the eye can see. I was told we might see elephants at the zoo from the restaurant terrace and hear lions roaring or elephants trumpeting, but we didn't, unfortunately. The restaurant serves delicious food and whilst you could get less expensive food, the whole experience makes the cost immaterial. We used room service a few times, and presentation was always top notch, although you do have to remember you are in Africa and everything is on African time! I did visit the gymn, but found it disappointing. There were several cardio machines, lots of free weights and fit balls, but ony one weights machine and no-one in attendance to show you how to use that properly. Walking around the hotel grounds is probably exercise enough for most people, although there are frequent buggies to cart you and your luggage wherever you need to go. At the end of our stay we extended our check out by 5 hours at no extra cost and absolutely no problem. We will definitely be going back there on our next visit to Johannesburg.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Bogota, Colombia

Good hotel, bad location!

Posted Sep 28, 2010
Good hotel, but far from main atractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Every stay is a treat.

Posted Jun 8, 2010
The Westcliff is a superb hotel which surprises and delights in lots of ways. Staff go out of their way to ensure your stay is enjoyable & memorable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from DC

Jo'burg's best

Posted Nov 25, 2009
Very pleased with setting and service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

VERY HAPPY

Posted Oct 11, 2009
Felt like being in a resort more than a City Hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Westcliff

Posted Apr 19, 2009
We stayed here for 2 nights on our way back from Cape Town. Amazing view from restaurant. Room very spacious with a bathroom you can spend all day in. If you have a late flight then provided you ask 24 hours in advance you can keep the room on for 50% of rate. Probably more expensive than other hotels but very good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2009
The staff were very accomodating and the hotel had wonderful veiws and spacious rooms.