Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Steffen Møllerfrom Allerød

Godt businesshotel

Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Fine værelser, god beliggenhed. Skulle vente meget længe på service i baren, men sandwich var glimrende. Der mangler måske lige det sidste, som at tørre bordene når de har været brugt..
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Conorfrom London

Other reviews are generally right

Posted Jul 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a decent hotel, an acceptable breakfast buffet, a large lobby, and reasonably good rooms. Sandton seems to be a relatively calm area, and the proximity of Mandela square (about a 10 minute walk) offers some dining, shopping, and entertainment options. The gym is not very big, and the small roof pool unusable in winter (it's not heated). Also, I found little flecks of broken glass on the gym floor, which remained there for several days. Some of the service could use a bit of polish too, though the driver, Dennis, who showed us around on a tour was excellent. It was a reasonably decent hotel, no more, no less.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 13, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Thank you for taking time to provide us with feedback on your most recent stay with us. It is truly appreciated. Amidst your kind compliments of your stay, it is unfortunate to read that there were aspects of the hotel that affected your stay negatively. Please accept my sincere apologies for the shortfalls you experienced, I am glad that you enjoyed your tour and that the driver was excellent. I will definitely share these wonderful comments with him. Whilst we have failed to entirely meet your expectations on this occasion, I do hope you will give us another opportunity to host you at the Holiday Inn Sandton. Kind Regards RODNEY BULL General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bazreganfrom London

Good hotel, but slightly misleading web site

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall very good - breakfast and other food was excellent and staff were all helpful. Very convenient for Gautrain station. Downsides - wifi, even when paid, is too slow and intermittent to support basic Skype, even challenging for email at times. This would probably stop me staying here again. Also, shopping are to side of hotel was being demolished during my stay but website pictures did not reflect this. Not a problem but just for info.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Business Travellerfrom UK

Missing a little finesse.

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I did not have an unpleasant stay and the all the staff tried very hard to please, but a little training is needed in some areas, notably house keeping and restaurant. A glass in my bathroom that was dirty on arrival didn't get replaced on the room service, just a plastic lid put on it. The breakfast was average with tinned fruit instead of fresh, and a clearly novice egg chef making clumsy poached eggs and omelettes. You won't have a bad time but you're unlikely to be blown away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lancefrom United States

Will stay there again.

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Place was clean, in a great location and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone going to Johannesburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amyfrom Dubai

Amazing stay

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel is good, safe and the decor is pleasing. great value for money and service was good, staffs went out of their way to assist.
Cons: the pick up/drop off to the airport was very expensive..more than the airport charges.the Gautrain (public train trnspt) is a much better alternative.
Location: there is free shuttle to the mandela sq and the train station which can link you to anywhere! very easy & convenient and much better price.
My room was located as per my request, room was in excellent condition. The staffs were extremely nice and helpful, very friendly and cheerful. no noise, great value for money, good breakfast and good service overall. there are free shuttle to the train station and mandela square which was very good to go around. Its better to use the train and the shuttle service if you want to go to the airport rather than hiring a cab.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear Amy. Thank you so much for your brilliant review and an your kind recommendations, I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your room and our services, I will share your feedback with the rest of the team. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to South Africa. Warm Regards. Guest Relations Manager Nonku Sithole
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Grahamfrom London

Good value, nice hotel, central location

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value hotel, central location. Better priced for sane spec as other hotels in the area. This hotel was £30/day cheaper than the radisson which I stayed in for the 2nd night - whereas the hotels were very similar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and relaxing

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We stayed here as a convenient location to Sandton central, shopping, and consulates. Easy walking distance to the shopping areas and dining locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for the great review and your kind recommendations. we are delighted to hear that you were happy with your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday Inn sandton soon. Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole.
4 out of 5
by e.g yvesfrom Phoenix

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pretty cool!!! I loved staying at this hotel. It is in the middle of sandton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 11, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear "e.g yves" What an excellent review, we are happy to hear that you loved staying at our hotel, do pay us a visit again soon, we look forward to welcoming you. Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by HUYUNGLAE CHOfrom SEOUL, KOREA

Not bad

Posted Mar 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Generally OK.But, level of service needs to be improved. Especially, the systematic works seem not quite well.