Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bazregan from London

Good hotel, but slightly misleading web site

Posted Jul 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall very good - breakfast and other food was excellent and staff were all helpful. Very convenient for Gautrain station. Downsides - wifi, even when paid, is too slow and intermittent to support basic Skype, even challenging for email at times. This would probably stop me staying here again. Also, shopping are to side of hotel was being demolished during my stay but website pictures did not reflect this. Not a problem but just for info.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Business Traveller from UK

Missing a little finesse.

Posted Jun 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I did not have an unpleasant stay and the all the staff tried very hard to please, but a little training is needed in some areas, notably house keeping and restaurant. A glass in my bathroom that was dirty on arrival didn't get replaced on the room service, just a plastic lid put on it. The breakfast was average with tinned fruit instead of fresh, and a clearly novice egg chef making clumsy poached eggs and omelettes. You won't have a bad time but you're unlikely to be blown away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lance from United States

Will stay there again.

Posted Apr 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Place was clean, in a great location and the staff was very helpful and friendly. Would recommend this place to anyone going to Johannesburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Dubai

Amazing stay

Posted Apr 24, 2014
Pros: The location of the hotel is good, safe and the decor is pleasing. great value for money and service was good, staffs went out of their way to assist.
Cons: the pick up/drop off to the airport was very expensive..more than the airport charges.the Gautrain (public train trnspt) is a much better alternative.
Location: there is free shuttle to the mandela sq and the train station which can link you to anywhere! very easy & convenient and much better price.
My room was located as per my request, room was in excellent condition. The staffs were extremely nice and helpful, very friendly and cheerful. no noise, great value for money, good breakfast and good service overall. there are free shuttle to the train station and mandela square which was very good to go around. Its better to use the train and the shuttle service if you want to go to the airport rather than hiring a cab.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 29, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear Amy. Thank you so much for your brilliant review and an your kind recommendations, I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay with us and that you enjoyed your room and our services, I will share your feedback with the rest of the team. We hope to see you soon on your next visit to South Africa. Warm Regards. Guest Relations Manager Nonku Sithole
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Graham from London

Good value, nice hotel, central location

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good value hotel, central location. Better priced for sane spec as other hotels in the area. This hotel was £30/day cheaper than the radisson which I stayed in for the 2nd night - whereas the hotels were very similar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient and relaxing

Posted Apr 4, 2014
We stayed here as a convenient location to Sandton central, shopping, and consulates. Easy walking distance to the shopping areas and dining locations.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear Guest. Thank you for the great review and your kind recommendations. we are delighted to hear that you were happy with your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the holiday Inn sandton soon. Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole.
4 out of 5
by e.g yves from Phoenix

Nice hotel

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pretty cool!!! I loved staying at this hotel. It is in the middle of sandton.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2014 by Nikola, Hotel Management
Dear "e.g yves" What an excellent review, we are happy to hear that you loved staying at our hotel, do pay us a visit again soon, we look forward to welcoming you. Guest Relations Manager- Nonku Sithole.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by DC from USA

Nice hotel, great location, extras expensive

Posted Mar 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great location and parking fee reasonable. Hotel itself very nice but the cost for breakfast everyday was high I think and should be included. And the restaurant itself was overpriced - good quality but just obvious that the food is where they make up their money...i would go back however knowing this time to plan meals outside the hotel.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by KK from Singapore

Disappointing service, hotel rooms and location :(

Posted Mar 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
Being a regular customer of hotels.com, this is the worst experience I ever had. Check in took more than 30min & we were given rooms that faced a construction site. We were woke up every morning before 9am by the construction noises. We encountered problems with our 3 nights stay & did not get the breakfast that we had booked for. This hotel lack the initiative to inform me even after they've sorted out the breakfast issue & I had to make multiple overseas calls to Hotels.com to settle the problems myself.! Though the manager later expressed some intention to compensate for the missed out breakfast but no proper follow up & clear instructions were given to their staff & so nothing was done at all. My room was not in good conditions - missing bulb in my table lamp & a TV without properly pre-set viewing channels.. My another surprise was I found a 3rd party panty in the bathroom. It seems the housekeeping did not remove it after the last guests checked out before me.
1 out of 5
by Riz from DSM.

Really close to offices & facilities in Sandton.

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Not for comfort. Not for Fun. This place is not worth the money paying for it. I mean all u get is the chef making Omlettes for Breakfast in the morning smiling and rest all is a mess.