Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane, Australia

Great Luxury Hotel that won't break the budget!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location location location!
From the moment we arrived at the Monarch Hotel we experience nothing but smiles and friendliness from the staff. We found our suite to be an oasis of luxury with a free mini-bar (non-alcoholic). The hotel is positioned in a great location within the Rosebank area providing easy access to the great shopping and dining that can be found in the malls. The meals within the hotel itself were able to be enjoyed in a peaceful atmosphere and we found them to be of excellent quality at a very reasonable price. We would certainly recommend it to anyone travelling to Johannesburg who wanted to experience that "royal" treatment. The hotel location also gives easy access to the Gautrain station allowing an easy ride to OR Tambo Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel - outstanding staff - good location -

Posted Jun 26, 2014
good for business. just missing some international tv channels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

At the price it was a steal!.

Posted Jun 20, 2014
Pros: not much to not like.
Cons: Shower head leaked a bit.
Location: Guatrain is right at the entrance. Rosebank shopping is adjacent and eat at KOI restaurant!
The room is actually a 2 room suite with a huge separate bathroom and a second guest loo. The suite is tastefully decorated with original art pieces.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Sunny from India

Exceptional Service

Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great teamwork at the Monarch by the staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler from USA

Luxurious

Posted Mar 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Wonderful
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by AJ from UK

a hotel to recommend

Posted Mar 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
On our second visit to the Monarch, we were again impressed by the hotel, the ambiance, comfort, helpful staff and a manager who goes out of his way to make your stay memorable. Next time in Johannesburg, we'll definitely say there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by patrick

Nice hotel close to everything you need.

Posted Mar 19, 2014
I booked three weeks before. I had to really try hard to get a booking confirmation out of reception. Sent many emails and called many times. Only got confirmation a few days before. The original booking had been mixed up. The dinner was not up to scratch. The pork stater was disappointing as presentation of the food was hardly worthy of a five star resturant. The prawn stater was heavily battered and oily, the sauce was bland and also lacked presintation. The mains where also not too good. Steak was well cooked but the veggies where over cooked and presintaion was that of pub food. Breakfast on the other hand was excellent! One of the best I have ever had. Staff where super friendly, polite and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Amazing!! Must stay

Posted Feb 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
I never usually write reviews but I feel like this hotel deserved it. My friend and I stayed here for the weekend and had an amazing time. The hotel staff are truly amazing, helping you in any way possible. They called us by name and the services was amazing not to mention the hotel itself. I was unsure when looking at the pictures online since it seemed a bit old but it is very clean and comfortable and does not look old in person.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by AMJ from France

Outstanding city oasis

Posted Feb 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
It's a wonderfully peaceful oasis in a busy city and cannot be praised too highly for comfort, ambiance and style. The staff are always cheerful and helpful and the rooms are spacious, with excellent beds, wardrobe space and everything you need for an enjoyable stay, not to mention a superb breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Badge from USA

Very nice place, friendly staff.

Posted Dec 11, 2013 on Hotels.com
The hotel is right next to the Gautrain station and the Zone. My room was very nice, with very tall ceilings and a fine bathroom. Breakfast service was superb.