Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to airport

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the airport, close enough to be nearby and far enough away to be quiet.
Cons: A mattress protector/topper would provide additional comfort
Quiet hotel only 15 minutes drive from airport. Reliable pick up and drop off service from/to airport for a minimal cost. As a single traveller felt very safe. Staff really went out of their way to make me feel at home. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simone from Australia

Always made to feel welcome

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Good atmosphere, comfortable rooms, very relaxing, great staff, happy fat dogs
Cons: nothing comes to mind... some of the rooms are a bit dated but I quite like that - it feels comfortable and has personality..
Location: Very close to airport, and easy to organise trips for shopping , sightseeing, movies etc. They also do tours/ safaris to Kruger.
I have used Outlook Lodge when I have Johannesburg stopovers, for the past 3 years. (It was recommended to me by a booking agent and has been a much appreciated recommendation) Francois is a great manager and host, always with an entertaining story or two to tell. The rooms are clean, meals are good healthy home cooking with a twist or two that makes them special, and the atmosphere is always relaxed, homely without being boring.. The airport pickups are great too - I love being met by a happy, friendly driver each time. I will be back, and back, and back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: The service was outstanding
Cons: Nothing
The most welcoming lodge I have ever stayed at. I felt so welcomed and it is definitely a home away from home
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 9, 2013
Pros: They offer three course dinner at a really reasonable rate, I'd definitely recommend it!
Location: Close to the airport without the excess noise of the airport
Beautiful location, friendly staff that make you feel like family. They happily catered for my tricky dietary requirements. They also have free wi-fi which is great when you want to connect with family back home. I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Charlotte from Wisconsin

Comfortable and Welcoming

Posted Oct 16, 2013
Pros: We liked almost everything about this hotel. Most of all, we enjoyed the personal attention and caring of the staff.
Cons: The Wi-Fi is very good in the many comfortable common areas. It wasn't as strong in our room.
Location: The Lodge is within a very nice and green suburban area with gated entrance. There is a bird reserve a few blocks away. Convenient to airport.
My husband and I stayed at Outlook Lodge twice during our recent trip to South Africa. It is very convenient to the JNB airport and the hotel arranges for airport transit. The house is big and architecturally interesting but has many updates including spacious and modern bathrooms. There are many comfortable outdoor and indoor places to relax and enjoy the amenities. The staff are very friendly and committed to helping you enjoy your stay at Outlook Lodge and your trip to South Africa. The food is of high quality and very plentiful. One evening, Francios prepared a braai with lamb, beef and sausages as well and delicious vegetables. The other evening we had ostrich which was also very good. The breakfasts are fresh and plentiful. The structure of the house encourages interaction with the other guests and we enjoyed two very lively and interesting evenings. There is a house dog who is unobtrusive but very responsive to a little attention from the guests. We really enjoyed staying at the Outlook Lodge and if the opportunity presents we will look forward to returning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great for stay on way to Kruger from airport

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: location and quiet ambiance.
Cons: heat in bedroom-------there was a heater but on the cool-ish night we were there it took a while to take chill off room and sweaters needed for dining
Location: 20+_ minutes from OR Tambo. Close to highway to Timbavati/Kruger/ Blyde River Canyon
Outlook Lodge is very comfortable; a gracious house with equally gracious and informative host. Very helpful with maps, directions, recommendations. They also do safaris, we had our own planned and booked so did not use that service. It can be a bit difficult to find the Lodge, our GPS took us a long route.Outlook Lodge also does dinner, helpful as they are in a quiet area---only approx 20 minutes from JNB airport OR Tambo, which is great --convenient and yet quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Marlow, UK

relaxed atmosphere

Posted Aug 28, 2013
Pros: good value. inter-connecting rooms - good with teenage children
Location: good location for getting out of Johannesburg to get to Kruger
good welcome. relaxed atmosphere. pleasant surroundings. Easy to find even without sat nav
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Tom & Mary from Rochester NY

Pleasant & convenient to ORTampo airport

Posted Aug 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
Francois is the owner/host who made us feel welcome and comfortable from the moment we pulled onto the driveway. Our room was pleasant and quiet; the bath is across the hallway, but was private for our room. We had both dinner and breakfast, and enjoyed both. The grounds are lovely....be sure to take some time to walk around.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Guest from London, England

Fab gem of a place for visiting South Africa.

Posted Aug 15, 2013
Pros: Francois' attentiveness to guests.
Cons: Nothing really...
Location: Very residential, in a sort of gated environment... Quite safe neighbourhood.
Photos and reviews don't do this place enough justice. Francois, the site manager, can't do enough for his guests... I was in SA for a friends wedding and had over done it on the eating... Francois made sure breakfast was very healthy and as late as I wanted it with offers of dinner thrown in! As it wasn't a busy period, I was able to check out at 4pm! Who does that without charge? My own personal tour guide at a cost and then had a free transfer to the airport! Outlook lodge is definitely a home away from home and I would highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Single woman from UK

A home away from home feel

Posted Jul 20, 2013
Pros: welcoming staff
Cons: tight parking space
Location: felt safe and secure just out of Johannesburg
Super friendly manager who couldn't do enough for guests. Excellent value for money. I paid the less for this hotel than for a room only and shared bathroom facilities in a Hostel in Darwin. Very comfortable and homely.