Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Botswana

Secure and comfortable-note currency exchange!!

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: The restaurant has delicious food and buffets for you to enjoy, as well as snacks poolside. The staff worked hard to please.
Cons: The only "bad taste" for me was sloppy foreign exchange quotes from Expedia. Word of warning: local currency is the actual price - not the US dollars.
Location: Location is enhanced by courtesy van service to downtown mall and bus link. The driver was very courteous and helpful.
This was my first experience of staying in downtown Pretoria, as I have stayed in Midrand before. However, I needed to complete business quickly, so I chose Protea Hotel Capital. It was the right choice. Security is number one with me, and this hotel is very secure. Most downtown areas can be undesirable with the type of people who congregate on the streets, and Pretoria is no exception. But I felt safe in this hotel. The room was quite plush in bedding, carpet, etc. If quiet is important, request an inside room facing the pool. I was in an outside room facing the street and the street noise does come through.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Bobfrom Sydney,Australia

Needs improving

Posted Dec 17, 2013
Pros: The only bright spot was the from maid,very friendly and very professional
Cons: The hotel is going thru renovations ,this should improve a vert neglected facility
Location: Location is god,close to the station and CBD
Reception staff knew nothing about the city from a tourists point of view. I asked simple questions like. Do you,have a map of the city CBD,couldn't find one. What is the phone number of the nation carrier's (South African Airways), final after about 10 minutes they located it. I ask for info on the local trains and on both occasions received different info (and both were wrong) They didn't even know where the local tourist office was located. The lift was out of order most of my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Rikkefrom Århus

Fint hotel der holder hvad der lover

Posted Nov 21, 2013 on Hotels.com
Vi havde en fin overnatning her. Der er rent og pænt og personalet er meget venligt og hjælpsomt. Beliggenheden og de omkringliggende områder gør det sværere at færdes som hvid, og receptionisten sagde at vi kun måtte få o gader ned og ikke længere.Vi oplevede dig ikke noget ubehageligt ved at gå rundt. Hellere ikke længere end de to gader :-)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Koselig hotell i Pretoria.

Posted Aug 20, 2013 on Hotels.com
Heilt greit hotell med hyggelig betjening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Jen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christina

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 26, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Viv and Marelda

Posted Jan 12, 2013 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed our stay. The personnel are friendly and helpfull. The food was very good.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Robert

Nice hotel, loud neighborhood

Posted May 25, 2012 on Hotels.com
I don't normally have a problem with noisy places, but the location of this hotel is not ideal for sleeping. For one, there were people running up and down the hallways all night. I could hear that many were staff talking or laughing loudly. Didn't expect that on a Tuesday night. On the other side of the room were the windows on the street which had similar noises: people yelling and talking all night. That said, the hotel is nice and comfortable. Internet is ridiculously expensive and you have to pay in hourly increments. This is good hotel for a short stay or if you can score a really good deal; otherwise, keep looking. Pretoria in general was a bit of a disappointment.