Ratings based on 27 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Gordon from Guernsey, Channel Isalnds.

A very nice hotel

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
I visit South Africa once a year and this year was my third stay at this hotel. It is a very nice hotel and in a very convenient location for me and the staff are very nice and helpful. Being virtually next door to the Centurion shopping centre provides ready access to the numerous restaurants and shops there which is a great advantage. I marked down the condition of the hotel as there are areas that do need attention but the main public areas are absolutely fine. I stayed in the Lariba Lodge a few years ago and whilst that is a 5 star hotel it had no personality, was very quiet and the bar never had anyone drinking there, as opposed to the Protea Hotel which had a more comfortable feel and with people drinking in the bar so you did not feel like you were the only people staying there. Out of the two hotels I definitely prefer this Protea Hotel and am very happy to recommend this hotel to anyone visiting the Centurion area.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Location was the best to be said

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Disappointing this time around. We did not get the room we had arranged - many of the advertised features were not there, such as complimentary bottled water, balcony, minibar and separate bath and shower. It also felt like being in a correctional institution as we had to sign in and out (very time consuming) of the hotel every time we wanted to go somewhere.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear A verified traveller Thank you very much for taking the time to respond on our Expedia GUEST review site. I am glad to learn that we have the best location, please accept our most sincere apology for any disappointment experienced unfortunately it is a company rule to protect our valued GUEST as promised by Protea hospitality group. We would welcome another opportunity to host you again. Regards, Natalie & TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Robert from Sydney, Australia

Very good hotel next to huge shopping mall.

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Close to Gautrain, shopping mall, and SuperSport Park.
Cons: Rooms could be checked prior to each new guest arriving as my safe wasn't working, phone wasn't working, door to the balcony was very hard to open, an
Location: Located right next to a huge shopping mall with lots of places to eat and drink and close to Gautrain station.
Visited Centurion for the cricket and would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear Robert Thank you very much for taking the time to respond on our Expedia GUEST review site. It is always a great pleasure to receive such heart-warming commendation you can also be assured that I have congratulated the TEAM for doing their best. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back. Regards Natalie & TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveller Thank you very much for taking the time to rate 4 us on our Expedia GUEST review site. We would appreciate another chance to host you. Regards, Natalie & TEAM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Buck

Good location between Jo'burg and Pretoria.

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Location is close to my distributor's office.
Cons: Need to work on handling rain runoff more efficiently so guests can avoid getting wet going to breakfast.
Location: There is a nice mall walking distance from the hotel. And there are plenty of nice restaurants within an easy 5 minute drive.
Unfortunately it rained all night the second night of my stay and the path to the breakfast room was flooded so I submerged my shoes deep in the water, so had to change sox and shoes after breakfast. Otherwise, good service. Good food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear Buck Thank you very much for taking the time to respond on our Expedia GUEST review site. Although our area experienced terrible flooding’s, we are happy that we could deliver the best GUEST service as promised. It will be a pleasure to welcoming you back soon. Regards Natalie & TEAM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Peaceful stay

Posted Feb 3, 2014
Cons: The air conditioning leaked all over the carpet and nothing was done during my stay
Excellent hotel with plenty of help around several needs I had
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear A verified traveller Thank you very much for taking the time to respond on our Expedia GUEST review site. It was a pleasure to accommodate your needs and the STAFF received this feedback with gratitude. We are looking forward to welcoming you back again. Regards Natalie & TEAM
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 7, 2014
When I checked in they said you don't have reservation with us and I waited for 30 min and they took pre authorisation from the credit card which they say it will be refunded by checkout which takes 15 minutes
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 2, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveller Thank you very much for taking the time to respond on our Expedia GUEST review site. We are really sorry for the inconvenience caused and we appreciate you bringing the shortcomings and problems you experienced to our attention, you can be assured that corrective action has been taken to eliminate such delay from re-occurring. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon. Regards, Natalie & TEAM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 7, 2014 by Natalie Botha, Hotel Management
Dear Verified Traveller Thank you very much for taking the time to rate us on our Expedia GUEST review site. We hope to be rated 5 on your next visit We would also welcome another opportunity to host you again. Regards, Natalie & TEAM