Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from Harare

Nice five star hotel, with unfriendly staff.

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: The cleanliness, view
Cons: Train the staff please
Location: Nice park across the road. Did not get a chance but saw a few people running in the morning.
I arrived on a Friday night and stopped my car at the front of the hotel, a guy rushed over, and assuming he wanted to help with luggage, opened my boot. Instead the gentlemen insisted I move my car to a different spot while he walked back to his station. I unloaded my bags, after moving my car, lugged them into the hotel to an unsmiling and uninterested lady who checked me in. The next day, I went to reception to enquire about the arrangements for paying for parking. A similarly uninterested lady told me to pay on exit. I paid R80 ( about 8 hours after check in) same amount as for 24hrs, but the lady at the parking who was more interested in my plight informed me that I was better off paying R80 ( and I would be refunded the R80 I had paid) for my entire stay at the reception! As I was in a rush I told her I would try and sort it out on my return. On my return, I went to the reception, paid another R80, but the person at reception, yet another uninterested lady, said they were unsure how the refund of my earlier payment worked and there was no one available they could ask. Needless to say, I paid R160 for 24hrs parking in a hotel I was a guest in. A rip off in my view, unfriendly service aside. That said, a lady by the lifts to parking was very friendly and helpful ( I did comment to her on departing that she was the only person in the hotel during my stay that had actually smiled to me), the hotel was clean, the room was very comfortable with a wonderful view
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by alice

nice 5 star hotel in downtown Pretoria

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: great rooms, great spa service, good food
Cons: the dining room staff appeared overwhelmed --there were delays in service...otherwise really great experience
Location: was too busy to check things out
Great overall. good spa, good food--spacious rooms...
Comment from
Jan 12, 2014
Dear alice, Re: Nice 5 star hotel in downtown Pretoria Thank you for sharing your great experience with us. It’s wonderful to know that your overall expectations were met. Please accept my apology for the service delays experienced in the restaurant. However, your opinion is highly regarded and you will be happy to know that the matter was addressed to ensure a superior service experience. Warm regards, Pascal Fouquet General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall recommended

Posted Sep 3, 2013
Pros: Room size and condition.
Cons: Staff need to be more attentive.
Everything is perfect apart from the travel agency at the lobby. They are not professional nor helpfu.
Comment from
Jan 8, 2014
Dear verified traveler, Thank you for taking the time to share your most and least favorite things about the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. It’s good to know that the room size and condition met with your expectation and I’m sorry that the associates were not as attentive as you expected. Kwathlano is an outsourced transport company and the concern you raised regarding the desk attendant not being professional or helpful was addressed with their Manager to ensure the service provided is on par with the Sheraton Pretoria Hotel. Kind regards, Pascal Fouquet General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2013 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by Paul from Sometimes in Farnborough, UK

An overpriced disappointment

Posted May 24, 2013
Pros: The room I had was very good, comfortable bed and pleasant decor.
Cons: The public areas (bar, restaurants & business centre) are disapointing
Location: Opposite the Govt buildings, but not the nicest part of town.
I decided to stay here because I wanted some luxury in the middle of a chaotic 2 week multi-city trip around SA. Rooms seem perfectly good. But the restaurant/bar option is akin to an Ibis. Both are in essentially the foyer, the menu choice for both a la carte and buffet is feeble for this sort of 5 star hotel, and the drinks prices ought to make Paris, Helsinki or Tokyo blush. There must be better in Pretoria. Keep looking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good enough for business, not for tourists

Posted Apr 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Nice looking hotel but not much else. Reception and car service personnel bordered on disaffected. Ridiculously expensive food options. Uninteresting neighborhood. Good for a night or two but not much else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient hotel, uninviting neighborhood

Posted Apr 3, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a good hotel, with a nice pool and gym, but it is located in an area without much to offer. There aren't any restaurants nearby so unless you plan on having a car, you will be reliant on the good but grossly overpriced food at the hotel. We liked our room but felt stranded at the hotel. We also didn't find the reception staff welcoming nor helpful.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 19, 2013 on Hotels.com