Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Crisman from Oregon

Classy place

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful, old style historic site that recalls the days of opulent colonialism and British rule, but not in a negative way. The service staff is attentive and very friendly. The food is good and well priced but not outstanding. I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pretoria

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: good breakfast excellent location friendly staff
Location: close to Killarney mall easy highway access close to JHB General Hospital
beautiful hotel with Victorian feel staff friendly & helpful excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mannan101 from Canada

Good value for money

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
iIt was quite good. Excellent food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Roland from Lilongwe, Malawi

Very Nice Stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The character, the history, the quietness, the amazing breakfast
Cons: TV System, picture needs to be clear and have a decent selection of premium channels such as Discovery Channel, History Channel etc.
Location: Centrally located in the middle of Johanneburg
I loved this hotel and I stay a lot on hotels, it is set in the middle of Johannesburg but you would hardly know that, the hotel is surrounded by big well established gardens. There is no noise, no cars, no police sirens, no disco's banging away, just lovely blissful silence. The hotel structure is old but well maintained, the rooms we had were big and spacious compared to anything that I have recently stayed in, you can swing a tiger by its tail and not hit anything. I had one light in the bathroom malfunction and reported it whilst going to breakfast, when I got back to the room 20minutes later it was repaired already, very fast and efficient. The breakfast is fantastic, good selection for any taste. The only complaint that I have is the television system in my room, the channel selection was not very good, and 3 days into the stay even CNN was unavailable. The pictures of all the available channels were not clear but it might have just been my room. I hope that I will get a chance to spend more time at this hotel in the future.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by t from London

Nice place but....

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
....The Sunnyside Park Hotel is nice enough, if a little bit faded in its grandeur (though I find that quite romantic). What did enrage me though, is that check out time was 10am. I wanted a late check out, for which the fee was 800 rand. That is almost £50. THe room itself was only £58. That is rancidly expensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Perfect Stay

Posted Nov 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
This is a great hotel. Obviously an old hotel but this only adds to the charm of the residence. The service and food was fantastic. I will definitely being staying there again on my next trip to Joburg.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Meegan & Onive from canada

good food

Posted Jul 24, 2013 on Hotels.com
staff friendly,the dinning room has best food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 30, 2013 on Hotels.com
Its an old hotel with history. I prefer to stay at more newer hotels but it was convenient to where I was visiting. It was good value for money and good meals. The room was too small especially the area around the de4sk for working but otherwise it was ok
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Victor from Abuja, Nigeria

Great hotel for a family.

Posted Dec 28, 2012
Pros: The room.
Cons: Too reserved
Location: Reserved
It's homely. Ideal for a quiet family holidays. The route to some of the hotel rooms needoverhead cover. It's not fair to expose clients to harsh weather conditions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mickela

Happy at Sunnyside

Posted Nov 4, 2012 on Hotels.com
It was a great place to stay in Johannesburg, and after seeing the other areas, it would still be my preference. The breakfast which was included in the room rate was absolutely delicious. I really looked forward to the opportunity to eat a healthy breakfast and get a taste of the local cuisine.