Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Brilliant property.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Wonderful service. Great rooms. Lovely staff. Food was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ossemsleysarah from UK

Relaxing oasis in Johannesburg

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, comfort and decor, food and wine choice and prices, spa and all the staff
Cons: The directions to and from the airport that are posted on the web site need an update .
Location: Safe location in upper class area of Johannesburg. Good transport links. Within easy driving distance of airport and shopping malls.
Boutique hotel in safe, upper class area of Johannesburg. Easy to find for self drivers and located within a few minutes of major routes into and out of the city. Part of our party also used the hotel airport shuttle service, very efficient. Rooms are all different and all beautifully decorated. We stayed in rooms 1, 5 and 6 and would highly recommend room 1. These rooms were all jacuzzi suites, and very well appointed with hot tubs and outdoor showers on the balcony. Each room had a sitting area, fire place, tub and shower in the bathroom and large, very comfortable beds. All were quiet ensuring a great nights sleep. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel, all high quality & well priced with a good wine list. Pool & tennis courts available but not used during our stay, however the spa was, and is excellent with a great range of treatments and again reasonable prices. All the staff we met were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended for a start / end of holiday stay or romantic weekend / night away. We wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Chicago IL

A nice retreat from a busy world

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: We felt very pampered, without staff fawning over us. They quietly and discretely went about the business of making our stay comfortable in every way
Cons: Waiter at dinner tended to have disappeared or absent when we needed him. An open & accessible outlet was scarce in the rooms - a must for travelers.
Location: One of Nelson Mandela's later homes nearby. Apartheid Museum and other downtown museums and sights are a short drive away.
We stayed one night after returning from two weeks on safari and before heading home. We arranged with the hotel for their shuttle to pick us up from the airport. From the moment that their driver Lucky greeted us, to the point when he dropped us off at the airport the next day, and every point in between, the experience was wonderful. The staff was always unobtrusively present and friendly and assisted in whatever was needed. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Many rooms include balconies and outdoor tubs and showers (in addition to their traditional companions found indoors). Our only "complaint" during our stay was the length of time it took for dinner at 2 1/2+ hours. Not that we had anything else planned or scheduled, but after a long day of travel, bed was calling loudly before our dinner was over. In afterthought, it occurred to us that unlike many restaurants, most of our order was made individually and completely from scratch after we ordered which adds time. The meal was delicious. However, the waiter tended to be a little scarce when we wanted him. It was interesting that after dinner, there was no bill, they had automatically added it to our room charges for later settlement. Attention to little details that make you smile quietly to yourself are a specialty, from welcoming notes, customized letterhead, bed turndown with a rose, chocolate and Amurula and the surprise of a "bush baby" (a hot water bottle) under the covers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Redge from Oakland, CA

Very Impressive Place!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Location: The only drawback was that there wasn't much to visit nearby.
It was a great place- excellent service, lots of public rooms, beautiful grounds, good food. We really enjoyed it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by andrew evans from melbourne australia

Best hotel ever

Posted Jun 11, 2014
Over the many different countries and hotels I've stayed, there's only one that I've enjoyed as much as this. The staff are second to none and all the extra little things they do just add up to the best hotel I've ever had the pleasure of laying my head. If you have a stop over in Johannesburg, skip the city and stay and enjoy this hotel. The photos are on my camara not my phone, so I'll have to upload some when I get home. I can't see how there could be a better hotel in Johannesburg, or South Africa for that matter than this, 10 out of 10 on everything. Andrew Evans
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A perfect hotel in every way

Posted Jun 1, 2014
I can't say enough about how wonderful this hotel is. The rooms are luxurious and spacious. The beds so comfortable and with the added touch of hot water bottles. The restaurant, food, service and surroundings far exceeded our expectations. We were asked for a late checkout since we were going to be flying 17 hrs + home that evening. They happily accommodated us. We spent the day relaxing by the pool in the peaceful gardens. We felt rejuvenated and the flight was a breeze. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect stay in Johannesburg

Posted Apr 25, 2014
We were only in Johannesburg for one night, but staying in this hotel made it a very memorable part of the trip. Lucky, the hotel's driver, was wonderful - he picked us up from the airport and stopped at Nelson Mandela's house on the way to the hotel which was very moving. Everyone else was incredibly welcoming too and the grounds are amazing. We had a great dinner at the hotel's restaurant that night, and they were nice enough to pack a breakfast to-go for us at 5:30am the next day when we were leaving for a safari! Would have loved to have been able to spend some additional time there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by neil from scotland

Tremendous experience

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Everything
Location: We used it as a base to tour the city. Ate in hotel both nights. Good menu and great food
Have never stayed in a hotel with such friendly helpful staff very relaxing time . Really enjoyed the 2 nights we were there for
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous Service, staff, amenities

Posted Apr 3, 2014
They think of every detail to make your stay special and intimate. They upgraded us to a wonderful suite. We were very tired so ordered dinner in the room and it was a wonderful dinner at a very reasonable cost. I can't say enough good things about our stay. And I even bought some items to take home as gifts that were very special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Kate7980 from Melbourne

We wanted to stay longer!

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
A one night stay only, but we were pleasantly surprised from the moment we arrived until the moment we left - fantastic, friendly customer service, beautiful rooms (we loved the jacuzzi!), and the spa treatments and food were divine. No faults to mention. We'll be back!