Ratings based on 46 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina, USA

A luxury hotel with an authentic African feel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The feel of vintage Africa with the decor in the rooms as well as around the property. The main thing that we enjoyed most was the service.
Cons: Honestly we were only there for one night and do not have any negative experiences to share.
Location: The location is about 15 minutes or so from center city and due to our short duration we did not leave the property or have the need too.
Our experience at the Residence Boutique Hotel could not have been more pleasant. The service was 5 star and overall experience from the staff to the rooms was excellent. They treat their guests like they are royalty but at the same time leave you with a feeling of warmth and peace. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and we had an amazing experience even though it was just for one night. We will 100% recommend this hotel and visit again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lancashire, UK

A hidden Gem

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: A real boutique hotel that we will use again the next time we pass through J'Burg.
Cons: Not much!
Location: A quiet spot, we visited the Apartheid Museum and then chilled out.
Excellent attention to detail, great food and very helpful staff. Next time we'll be sure to arrange a pick up from the airport rather than getting a taxi to the hotel. Outstanding setting and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Comfortably elegant

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We stayed at Residence as an overnight stop en route from Kruger to Cape Town. We had made the selection based on Expedia user ratings. Little did we know that this would be one of the most delightful hotel stays ever. This inn was more comfortably elegant than places we have stayed at over three times the cost. The service, the food, the setting, the attention to detail all far exceeded any expectations. The staff made us feel like their most important guests without being pretentious or overbearing. They provided a driver to take us wherever we wanted to go. The location in Houghton is a high end residential area that is serene and secure. The meals in the restaurant were gourmet delicacies and were very reasonably priced. I would recommend this facility to anyone. I only wish that we had been staying longer. The only reason I give it a five star ranking is because there is not a higher choice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Beautiful hotel! Amazing food!!!

Posted Aug 15, 2014
Pros: TripAdvisor
A truly unique and beautiful hotel in Johannesburg! Staff was very friendly and helpful. Great service! But perhaps most notably, the food (we had breakfast and lunch at the hotel) was superb!! Absolutely delicious! You won't be disappointed with your stay at The Residence!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from long island, ny

Beautiful and elegant!

Posted Jul 30, 2014
We were blown away by the beauty and elegance of the Residence Boutique hotel. There were so many nice touches to cater to our every needs. I highly recommend this hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Brilliant property.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Wonderful service. Great rooms. Lovely staff. Food was amazing!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by A verified traveler

Best Hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
I've traveled all over the world - and my husband and I both agree. This is the best hotel we've ever stayed at. The service is fantastic. The food is incredible. The lounge is beautiful. Everything was perfect. We only stayed one night here after arriving from the US and before we went to Kruger, but we were both sad to leave and wanted to stay for another night. Great hotel!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by ossemsleysarah from UK

Relaxing oasis in Johannesburg

Posted Jun 26, 2014
Pros: Location, room size, comfort and decor, food and wine choice and prices, spa and all the staff
Cons: The directions to and from the airport that are posted on the web site need an update .
Location: Safe location in upper class area of Johannesburg. Good transport links. Within easy driving distance of airport and shopping malls.
Boutique hotel in safe, upper class area of Johannesburg. Easy to find for self drivers and located within a few minutes of major routes into and out of the city. Part of our party also used the hotel airport shuttle service, very efficient. Rooms are all different and all beautifully decorated. We stayed in rooms 1, 5 and 6 and would highly recommend room 1. These rooms were all jacuzzi suites, and very well appointed with hot tubs and outdoor showers on the balcony. Each room had a sitting area, fire place, tub and shower in the bathroom and large, very comfortable beds. All were quiet ensuring a great nights sleep. We ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel, all high quality & well priced with a good wine list. Pool & tennis courts available but not used during our stay, however the spa was, and is excellent with a great range of treatments and again reasonable prices. All the staff we met were very attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Highly recommended for a start / end of holiday stay or romantic weekend / night away. We wish we could have stayed longer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Brad from Chicago IL

A nice retreat from a busy world

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: We felt very pampered, without staff fawning over us. They quietly and discretely went about the business of making our stay comfortable in every way
Cons: Waiter at dinner tended to have disappeared or absent when we needed him. An open & accessible outlet was scarce in the rooms - a must for travelers.
Location: One of Nelson Mandela's later homes nearby. Apartheid Museum and other downtown museums and sights are a short drive away.
We stayed one night after returning from two weeks on safari and before heading home. We arranged with the hotel for their shuttle to pick us up from the airport. From the moment that their driver Lucky greeted us, to the point when he dropped us off at the airport the next day, and every point in between, the experience was wonderful. The staff was always unobtrusively present and friendly and assisted in whatever was needed. The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. Many rooms include balconies and outdoor tubs and showers (in addition to their traditional companions found indoors). Our only "complaint" during our stay was the length of time it took for dinner at 2 1/2+ hours. Not that we had anything else planned or scheduled, but after a long day of travel, bed was calling loudly before our dinner was over. In afterthought, it occurred to us that unlike many restaurants, most of our order was made individually and completely from scratch after we ordered which adds time. The meal was delicious. However, the waiter tended to be a little scarce when we wanted him. It was interesting that after dinner, there was no bill, they had automatically added it to our room charges for later settlement. Attention to little details that make you smile quietly to yourself are a specialty, from welcoming notes, customized letterhead, bed turndown with a rose, chocolate and Amurula and the surprise of a "bush baby" (a hot water bottle) under the covers.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Redge from Oakland, CA

Very Impressive Place!

Posted Jun 17, 2014
Location: The only drawback was that there wasn't much to visit nearby.
It was a great place- excellent service, lots of public rooms, beautiful grounds, good food. We really enjoyed it.