Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gramama3 from USA

Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: It is in a lovely rural type setting which is relaxing and pretty.
Cons: The furniture in my room was worn which made it feel like it wasn't extremely clean.
Location: It's 45+ minutes from the OR Tambo airport. In traffic is can be much farther. The cost of a taxi is from 550 rand to 800 rand depending on traffic.
I enjoyed my stay. I heard the birds singing all day. The decor is what we might considered 'typical' African with real thatch roofs, sofas with animal prints, etc. The main sitting room is nice and they have a computer for guests. There is a restaurant where they are very happy to please by making special dishes for special dietary requests. I enjoyed the breakfast where they had warm croissants fresh from the oven. I had some travel problems and the staff bent over backwards to help me out. All the staff is super nice. It is off the 'beaten path' which one should know before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amanda from Detroit

Nice hotel for on your way to/from the airport

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Staff was excellent and accommodating. The room was comfy and clean.
Cons: Water pressure in some rooms. The pools could be cleaner. Menu for dinner.
Location: 30 mins from OR Tambo. Mall 3 miles away with mainstream stores and restaurants.
I always get nervous when I'm traveling abroad and a hotel is incredibly affordable and still has a decent number of stars... this hotel did not disappoint. It's about 30 minutes away from OR Tambo, pretty close to a nice mall where you can pick up anything your forgot or grab a bite to eat. The rooms were very large, comfy beds, huge bathroom with tub and shower. We stayed here two separate nights (one coming into SA and the night before we left SA), the first room had excellent water pressure, the second had horrible water pressure and it was difficult to get hot water. That's really my only complaint. There are Zebra's on location as well as two pools. They only offer a buffet for dinner and it's a little pricey ($20US), I'd recommend going to the nearby mall if you have a vehicle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Location: We had a great tour of Johannesburg. The cultural village visit was very worthwhile. We enjoyed the animals at Lion Park--especially the male lions!
The surroundings were beautiful. The staff was so friendly and helpful. A driver was always available to take us on excursions. We had a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlene from California

Awesome gem outside of Johannesburg

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Away from hustle of J'Burg but still close enough to get to airport within 30 minutes.
Location: Near J'Burg, Cradle of Mankind, Soweto, Apartheid Museum, Bush Baby Sanctuary
We stayed here 1 night before flying home from Johannesburg. It's a quaint place to stay...the rooms are large, staff very friendly (let me print boarding passes at 9:00 at night!), free breakfast buffet (it's HUGE...awesome fruit platters and great variety of food for meat eaters and vegetarians). The dinner buffet was ~$20/person and amazing...lot's of food! There are zebra, peacocks and nyala on property as well as horses and dogs. Rooms had AC/heat and fan. Very pleasant atmosphere with water fountains around and lots of tropical plants...well maintained!! Wish I knew about this earlier and would have definitely used it as a "home-base" to explore around J'Burg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2013 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by pame from Bamako, Mali

A relaxing place to stay

Posted Oct 31, 2012
Pros: The spacious comforatble room.
Cons: Uneven service from the front desk.
Location: The hotel is not close to shopping and restaurants.
I tried to check in early, but they had to check for towels, an hour later and 10 minutes to check in they were still checking the towels. 20 minutes later I was allowed to check in. And then had a knock at the door, some one was there to check the towels. The front desk staff often seemed overwhelmed or confused. The restaurant staff tried hard to please. You do need to sign up for dinner service in the morning. The meals are good and reasonably priced. The room was comfortable, spacious and clean. I was a little dissapointed in the lack of mammels and birds that were supposed to be roaming the grounds. Although the premises are located away from town, you do not see much of the countryside from the hotel grounds.The grounds were well kept and had a relaxed feel. It was a quiet location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful wedding venue

Posted Sep 4, 2012
Pros: Wild life and birds, friendly staff
Location: Easy to find and security arrangements good
A wonderfully friendly hotel, with a superb wedding venue and particularly good food in the hotel restaurant. Some confusion over the booking thr Expedia when we arrived but hopefully we were not chaqrged twice!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from North Branford, CT

Charming and Relaxing Accommodations

Posted Nov 15, 2011
The hotel staff and service were excellent. The staff were very accommodating to our needs. The grounds are immaculately maintained and the room was good and comfortable. The hotel was somewhat out of the way from Johannesburg, requiring at least a 1-hour drive from the airport. There are no places nearby to walk to or even within a short drive. Nevertheless, it was fully self-contained and is very good for an overnight or short stay. There were zebras roaming the gournds and some other animals in their pens behind the hotel, making it very charming. Two swimming pools and tennis courts add to the feeling of being far from the madding crowd and allowing one to really relax and be on vacation. It is definitely lovely.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Zulu Nyala Manor

Posted Aug 27, 2009
A great quiet place to unwind and prepare for your safari after a very long, tiring trip from US. It's just a little far from Johannesburg city center. To be with the animals in the backyard is a prelude to the coming adventures.