Ratings based on 48 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Honeymoon Stay

Posted Jun 24, 2015
My husband and I stayed here at the end of our honeymoon for 3 nights in Johannesburg. It is a beautiful hotel, our room was large and very comfortable, and the staff was very accommodating to all of our requests. It is not located ear the sights that we wanted to see in the city, but it was very easy to get around by train or taxi and it is in a safe location right by the Rosebank mall, which includes a craft market where you can get a lot of souvenir shopping done
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great rooms and service in historic building

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I booked this hotel because of its historic building, its location by the train station and standard of rooms. It was so much more - great service, really welcoming staff, a lovely garden and good breakfasts. I would recommend booking to anyone visiting Johannesburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mira from Israel

Not just a satisfied guest, a delighted one

Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
A 7 stars comfort hotel, greatest value for money, we have been delighted with the hotel conditions, with the attitude of the personnel and we felt spoiled with their treatment
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Peter

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 8, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kent, CT

Luxe, safe, convenient place in Johannesburg

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: huge room with wi-fi
Cons: Really nothing
Location: Next to a handy retail mall, near the best restaurants.
We stayed two nights here before a safari camp. We wanted safety, never having been to Johannesburg before, and I guess we wanted plush too. This is a beautiful old villa turned into a small boutique hotel right across the street from the Rosebank Station of the Gautang train (the beautiful new subway system that goes to the airport and Park Street (center of town). From Park Street we took the Red tourist open-top bus to the Apartheid Museum and a trip around the city. In safety. The breakfast dining room is very, very nice, and the staff, all the staff, bend over backwards to be friendly and helpful. This place is not expensive, but it is very grand, with a beautiful back garden. A real surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bath, UK

Hidden Oasis right on Oxford Road

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Location yet peace and quiet, with great service.
Cons: Restaurant menu could be a bit more varied, but I guess it's difficult with a small clientele and all the Rosebank Mall competition.
Location: Smack on Oxford Road, perfect for Rosebank Mall and Gautrain. Food, shopping and transfers to OR Tambo a cinch.
The Monarch is a conversion of a 1930s Post Office. It is right at Rosebank Mall, giving you access to all the shopping/dining options there. It is also bang opposite the Gautrain Rosebank for ease of getting around, especially to/from OR Tambo. Only 12 rooms, plus 1 Presidential Suite, set on two floors around a central courtyard. It's definitely a 5 star and good double glazing keeps out the hustle and bustle of Oxford Road, so you get the benefit of proximity without the debit of noise. Room very comfortable and well-appointed - especially the shower. Staff very helpful and solicitous. Breakfast excellent. All around relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Best Location Excellent Facility Excellent Service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels
Super hotel. Large comfortable room. Really close to nice shopping area and to Gautraun. Good quality breakfast made to order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellen from New York

Lovely hotel - we will definitey be back.

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels
The Monarch Hotel was just perfect. First class service, attentive and well trained staff. The suite was spacious and cozy at the same time. Food at hotel restaurant was delicious. Great commute from airport on Gautrain - hotel is directly across the street from the station. Just a few steps from 3 Rosebank malls with shopping a wide array of restaurants.