Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Best Location Excellent Facility Excellent Service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth WA

Everything about this Hotel is First Class..

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location.. Good area, walking distance to Rosebank Shopping Center and Train Station..
Our stay at this Hotel was one of our trip Highlights.. The location is fantastic with both rail link and shopping center just a couple of minutes walk.. The rooms are fantastic, spacious with quality fittings.. even the huge bathroom had floor heating!!.. The meals were first class and the little evening treats left in our rooms were a lovely touch.. The staff were also excellent.. I highly recommend this Hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jimfrom Indianapolis, IN, USA

Pampering in Joburg

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arranged through the hotel for transportation from the airport which was prompt and efficient. Can't say enough positive about the staff and facility as we were treated like royalty. Rooms and beds are big as is the closet space. The floors of the bedroom and bathroom are heated, if you prefer. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in the smoking room and then a great lamb dinner in the dinning room. Some extra touches that were provided: the bellman walked with us from the hotel, through the mall to the ATM; we pre-ordered breakfast one morning as we had an early start. Neither of our requests were treated as out of the ordinary. Just a first class place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rachelfrom Boston, MA, USA

Excellent

Posted Sep 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
We booked the Monarch, and while I knew it was 5* on Hotels.com I did not realize that it was 5* in general. Our suite was nothing short of fantastic, the staff was super helpful, and it was in a FANTASTIC location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Brisbane, Australia

Great Luxury Hotel that won't break the budget!

Posted Sep 14, 2014
Pros: Location location location!
From the moment we arrived at the Monarch Hotel we experience nothing but smiles and friendliness from the staff. We found our suite to be an oasis of luxury with a free mini-bar (non-alcoholic). The hotel is positioned in a great location within the Rosebank area providing easy access to the great shopping and dining that can be found in the malls. The meals within the hotel itself were able to be enjoyed in a peaceful atmosphere and we found them to be of excellent quality at a very reasonable price. We would certainly recommend it to anyone travelling to Johannesburg who wanted to experience that "royal" treatment. The hotel location also gives easy access to the Gautrain station allowing an easy ride to OR Tambo Airport.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Wonderful small hotel

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our seven night stay here was lovely. The room was large and very comfortable and the bathroom was also first rate. We enjoyed a very nice breakfast each morning. The staff was very kind and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Debfrom Sydney, Australia

Stunning hotel in great location

Posted Jul 12, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is gorgeous! We were so comfortable we didn't want to leave. The bed and linen and the amenities provided are 5 star. Restaurant food delicious. Staff just lovely! It is an intimate hotel unlike huge commercial chains which is reflected in the top service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel - outstanding staff - good location -

Posted Jun 26, 2014
good for business. just missing some international tv channels