Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
4.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Great rooms and service in historic building

Posted Mar 27, 2015
I booked this hotel because of its historic building, its location by the train station and standard of rooms. It was so much more - great service, really welcoming staff, a lovely garden and good breakfasts. I would recommend booking to anyone visiting Johannesburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Kent, CT

Luxe, safe, convenient place in Johannesburg

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Pros: huge room with wi-fi
Cons: Really nothing
Location: Next to a handy retail mall, near the best restaurants.
We stayed two nights here before a safari camp. We wanted safety, never having been to Johannesburg before, and I guess we wanted plush too. This is a beautiful old villa turned into a small boutique hotel right across the street from the Rosebank Station of the Gautang train (the beautiful new subway system that goes to the airport and Park Street (center of town). From Park Street we took the Red tourist open-top bus to the Apartheid Museum and a trip around the city. In safety. The breakfast dining room is very, very nice, and the staff, all the staff, bend over backwards to be friendly and helpful. This place is not expensive, but it is very grand, with a beautiful back garden. A real surprise.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Bath, UK

Hidden Oasis right on Oxford Road

Posted Feb 5, 2015
Pros: Location yet peace and quiet, with great service.
Cons: Restaurant menu could be a bit more varied, but I guess it's difficult with a small clientele and all the Rosebank Mall competition.
Location: Smack on Oxford Road, perfect for Rosebank Mall and Gautrain. Food, shopping and transfers to OR Tambo a cinch.
The Monarch is a conversion of a 1930s Post Office. It is right at Rosebank Mall, giving you access to all the shopping/dining options there. It is also bang opposite the Gautrain Rosebank for ease of getting around, especially to/from OR Tambo. Only 12 rooms, plus 1 Presidential Suite, set on two floors around a central courtyard. It's definitely a 5 star and good double glazing keeps out the hustle and bustle of Oxford Road, so you get the benefit of proximity without the debit of noise. Room very comfortable and well-appointed - especially the shower. Staff very helpful and solicitous. Breakfast excellent. All around relaxing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Michigan

Posted Jan 20, 2015
Best Location Excellent Facility Excellent Service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Superb hotel.

Posted Nov 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super hotel. Large comfortable room. Really close to nice shopping area and to Gautraun. Good quality breakfast made to order.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Ellenfrom New York

Lovely hotel - we will definitey be back.

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Monarch Hotel was just perfect. First class service, attentive and well trained staff. The suite was spacious and cozy at the same time. Food at hotel restaurant was delicious. Great commute from airport on Gautrain - hotel is directly across the street from the station. Just a few steps from 3 Rosebank malls with shopping a wide array of restaurants.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Luxurious, old-style hotel with superb service

Posted Nov 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
The Monarch is a superb, luxurious hotel, and very conveniently located right next to the Gautrain and shopping mall, which means you don't need taxis to get to every single location. The staff were very helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Perth WA

Everything about this Hotel is First Class..

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Great location.. Good area, walking distance to Rosebank Shopping Center and Train Station..
Our stay at this Hotel was one of our trip Highlights.. The location is fantastic with both rail link and shopping center just a couple of minutes walk.. The rooms are fantastic, spacious with quality fittings.. even the huge bathroom had floor heating!!.. The meals were first class and the little evening treats left in our rooms were a lovely touch.. The staff were also excellent.. I highly recommend this Hotel..
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Jimfrom Indianapolis, IN, USA

Pampering in Joburg

Posted Sep 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Arranged through the hotel for transportation from the airport which was prompt and efficient. Can't say enough positive about the staff and facility as we were treated like royalty. Rooms and beds are big as is the closet space. The floors of the bedroom and bathroom are heated, if you prefer. We enjoyed a bottle of wine in the smoking room and then a great lamb dinner in the dinning room. Some extra touches that were provided: the bellman walked with us from the hotel, through the mall to the ATM; we pre-ordered breakfast one morning as we had an early start. Neither of our requests were treated as out of the ordinary. Just a first class place.