Ratings based on 93 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maine and Soth Carolina

Always a warm welcome

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: We enjoy the comfort, ambiance and convenient location.
Cons: From our perspective, very little. High-maintenance types may prefer a 'real' hotel.
Location: Jo'burg has a wide variety of activities, from animal parks to museums and historic districts to flashy Vegas-style resorts.
This was my third stay at Outlook Lodge, where there is always a warm welcome, comfortable accommodations and a helpful staff. Outlook is a B&B, not an hotel, so don't expect hotel amenities. That said, rooms are well-equipped and modern, and there is a pool. Manager Francois will gladly arrange day trips with English-speaking local drivers, very useful in Johannesburg, where you drive on the left in traffic that reminds me of LA. He always has plenty of suggestions for sights, activities and restaurants if needed. There is even a bird sanctuary within walking distance for those who are interested in viewing wildlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alabama USA

Whatever more can you ask for?

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Secure location good sleep great breakfast what more can you ask for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Per

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Bradfrom Badger Holdings

Exceptional Stay

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
A very comfortable home from home stay with personalised attention. Francois as a host is an organised, helpful, willing, friendly asset to the owners of Outlook Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Safe beautiful area near Tambo Intl Airport

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the food, and the location. It is very safe and is security gated.
Cons: The only recommendation would be that it would be nice to have Internet access in the rooms. Currently it is only available in the living room/lobby.
Location: Very nice neighborhood with beautiful homes - close to the Estuary, shopping, and Tambo Intl Airport. Also not far to go into Johannesburg.
I have stayed here every year for 4 years. It is a wonderful location and the staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. Every year they have made improvements and it is becoming a very upscale boutique B&B. I don't ever look for anywhere else when I am in the Johannesburg area. Francois is an excellent manager. It is so comfortable that it is very much like being at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven Gomerfrom San francisco

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
Couldn't have asked for a lovelier stay. Staff, accommodations, facilities, upkeep, meals all first class. If anything, everything everything surpassed my expectations...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to airport

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the airport, close enough to be nearby and far enough away to be quiet.
Cons: A mattress protector/topper would provide additional comfort
Quiet hotel only 15 minutes drive from airport. Reliable pick up and drop off service from/to airport for a minimal cost. As a single traveller felt very safe. Staff really went out of their way to make me feel at home. Excellent food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 25, 2014 on Hotels