Ratings based on 84 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Alaska

Safe beautiful area near Tambo Intl Airport

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the food, and the location. It is very safe and is security gated.
Cons: The only recommendation would be that it would be nice to have Internet access in the rooms. Currently it is only available in the living room/lobby.
Location: Very nice neighborhood with beautiful homes - close to the Estuary, shopping, and Tambo Intl Airport. Also not far to go into Johannesburg.
I have stayed here every year for 4 years. It is a wonderful location and the staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. Every year they have made improvements and it is becoming a very upscale boutique B&B. I don't ever look for anywhere else when I am in the Johannesburg area. Francois is an excellent manager. It is so comfortable that it is very much like being at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Steven Gomerfrom San francisco

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Couldn't have asked for a lovelier stay. Staff, accommodations, facilities, upkeep, meals all first class. If anything, everything everything surpassed my expectations...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel close to airport

Posted May 26, 2014
Pros: Proximity to the airport, close enough to be nearby and far enough away to be quiet.
Cons: A mattress protector/topper would provide additional comfort
Quiet hotel only 15 minutes drive from airport. Reliable pick up and drop off service from/to airport for a minimal cost. As a single traveller felt very safe. Staff really went out of their way to make me feel at home. Excellent food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Susan Sloanfrom Oregon, USA

Must I leave?

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stayed at Outlook Lodge for two nights on arrival at JNB after the grueling flights from the West coast of USA. This place was heaven! My room was clean and comfortable, with a lavatory easily as big as the rest of the suite, and that was quite generous. Francoise and Rinnelle were great hosts, and I felt pampered the whole time. The lodge is located in a gated community, and in spite of the security measures, I didn't feel imprisoned. The cozy lounge and gas fireplace encourage friendly chats with other travelers. I recommend the dinner service--both dinner meals were excellent, and the value for the cost is exceptional in my opinion. When in Joburg, I won't stay anywhere else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by simonehafrom Geelong

Always a Pleasure

Posted May 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
I have lost count of how many times I have stayed at Outlook over the past years, but I have always had a great experience each time. The airport pickups are reliable and well organised, the hospitality first rate, and there is always an interesting conversation to be had with Francois, the Manager. It really is a home away from home.. The hotel is well located, close to the airport while still in an attractive, leafy and secure suburb. The food is also very good, especially Francois'desserts!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Walterfrom Philippines

fun and groovy stay

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a great time with hilarious Francois. It's an experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Geraldfrom Norway

2nd stay, we loved it. Perfect.

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved it. Not only the location, the interior, safety and the cleanliness, the real difference is the Manager/Cook/most helpful person ever, Francoise. I have never before felt so welcome and well taken care of. My wife and I can definitely recommend this place and we will also return. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Geraldfrom Norway

Perfect, like home. Cozy and friendly. Loved it!

Posted Mar 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
We loved it. Not only the location, the interior, safety and the cleanliness, the real difference is the Manager/Cook/most helpful person ever, Francoise. I have never before felt so welcome and well taken care of. My wife and I can definitely recommend this place and we will also return. Recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Simonefrom Australia

Always made to feel welcome

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Good atmosphere, comfortable rooms, very relaxing, great staff, happy fat dogs
Cons: nothing comes to mind... some of the rooms are a bit dated but I quite like that - it feels comfortable and has personality..
Location: Very close to airport, and easy to organise trips for shopping , sightseeing, movies etc. They also do tours/ safaris to Kruger.
I have used Outlook Lodge when I have Johannesburg stopovers, for the past 3 years. (It was recommended to me by a booking agent and has been a much appreciated recommendation) Francois is a great manager and host, always with an entertaining story or two to tell. The rooms are clean, meals are good healthy home cooking with a twist or two that makes them special, and the atmosphere is always relaxed, homely without being boring.. The airport pickups are great too - I love being met by a happy, friendly driver each time. I will be back, and back, and back!