Ratings based on 96 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine and Soth Carolina

Always a warm welcome

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: We enjoy the comfort, ambiance and convenient location.
Cons: From our perspective, very little. High-maintenance types may prefer a 'real' hotel.
Location: Jo'burg has a wide variety of activities, from animal parks to museums and historic districts to flashy Vegas-style resorts.
This was my third stay at Outlook Lodge, where there is always a warm welcome, comfortable accommodations and a helpful staff. Outlook is a B&B, not an hotel, so don't expect hotel amenities. That said, rooms are well-equipped and modern, and there is a pool. Manager Francois will gladly arrange day trips with English-speaking local drivers, very useful in Johannesburg, where you drive on the left in traffic that reminds me of LA. He always has plenty of suggestions for sights, activities and restaurants if needed. There is even a bird sanctuary within walking distance for those who are interested in viewing wildlife.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Thomas from Sammamish WA USA

Great value

Posted Apr 4, 2015 on Hotels
Great hotel; crazy low price. Wonderful meals by Francois ... Set up in a way to meet other guests. I'm returning this week.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by James from Decatur, GA

First class service and accommodations

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic stays going to and coming from Kruger National Park. The owner Francois is a delight and bent over backward to provide amazing service, from rustling up dinner for me when I arrived late to waking up and giving me a bag-o-breakfast when I left the next morning to drive to Kruger at 4 am to working with me (and calming me down!) when I had two flat tires and had to sit on the roadside for 5 hours into the night on the way out of Kruger. The accommodations are splendid and the food is excellent. First class in every way!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by William from South Daytona Florida USA

A little paradise in Benoni

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
Fantastic !!! Our host & accommodations were better than many 5 star hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alabama USA

Whatever more can you ask for?

Posted Feb 7, 2015
Secure location good sleep great breakfast what more can you ask for?
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Roland

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Per

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Brad from Badger Holdings

Exceptional Stay

Posted Dec 15, 2014 on Hotels
A very comfortable home from home stay with personalised attention. Francois as a host is an organised, helpful, willing, friendly asset to the owners of Outlook Lodge.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alaska

Safe beautiful area near Tambo Intl Airport

Posted Oct 3, 2014
Pros: The staff, the ambiance, the food, and the location. It is very safe and is security gated.
Cons: The only recommendation would be that it would be nice to have Internet access in the rooms. Currently it is only available in the living room/lobby.
Location: Very nice neighborhood with beautiful homes - close to the Estuary, shopping, and Tambo Intl Airport. Also not far to go into Johannesburg.
I have stayed here every year for 4 years. It is a wonderful location and the staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. Every year they have made improvements and it is becoming a very upscale boutique B&B. I don't ever look for anywhere else when I am in the Johannesburg area. Francois is an excellent manager. It is so comfortable that it is very much like being at home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 19, 2014 on Hotels