Ratings based on 66 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Mattias

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente hotel cerca del aeropuerto

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Podría decir que fue una excelente estadía, por la limpieza, comodidad y cercanía del aeropuerto
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom lilongwe

Great hotel but some quirks

Posted Jan 24, 2015
Beds are fanatistically comfortable. Good friendly staff. Shower not good, you have to get wet switching it on also it wets the bathroom floor. Otherwise great 3 day stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Geryfrom Vancouver, Canada

Good value stop over hotel

Posted Jan 22, 2015 on Hotels.com
Convenient stop over hotel for flights in and out of Jo'burg; convenient hotel shuttle... Great breakfast, rooms are small but functional - great value for money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Mrs W Jfrom UK

Great, safe hotel with helpful staff

Posted Jan 17, 2015 on Hotels.com
Arrived early on our first day so rooms were not ready but the staff looked after our baggage while we had a walk around the complex via indoor walkways, checking out the eateries and casino area. The rooms were comfortable and adequate and the staff kind and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and probably the best we have ever had. The shuttle to and from the airport was really good as it was regular and on time. The hotel even kept the bulk of our luggage for us while we went on Safari to Kruger before returning to them for our last night in Johannesburg. Excellent hotel I would recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Richardfrom Regensburg

Great Alternative to traditional airport hotel

Posted Jan 6, 2015 on Hotels.com
Stayed after touring South Africa before flying home from JNB. Great choice! Hotel was clean and comfortable. Free airport shuttle running every 20 minutes. Attached to casino with many restaurant opportunities at reasonable costs. Able to use gym/pool at attached 5 star hotel included in rate. Breakfast included was great with big selection. Would absolutely stay again, especially if having time between flights.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

No surprises .. Airport hotel ++

Posted Jan 3, 2015
Pros: Shuttle, staff, breakfast
This is our third stay here in the last month as we first went to Durban and returned, then to Mauritius and Madagascar, each time returning to the friendly faces and comfort of this hotel. The shuttle driver was prompt in bringing us to the hotel and returning us to the airport. The room is very efficient. The breakfast offerings are filled with variety of cold and hot choices and great breads. The emperor's palace is a large complex with three hotels, and quite the variety of food choices and entertainmeent with the casino and a movie theater and choices for children also. We opted to buy food at the supermarket at the airport on level one, before going to the shuttle bus pick up location, as the room includes a nice sized refridgerator. Our only dissapointment .. We stayed on new year's eve and new year's day, and the hotel had quite a few guests .. the WiFi seemed to be "bogged down". Should we return to South Africa, flying in / out of Jo'burg, we would definitely choose this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Small room and not great value for money

Posted Dec 22, 2014
Pros: Restaurant choices and Movie Theatre within the compound. Close to airport. Free airport shuttle.
Cons: The microscopic rooms should be better described before booking, and lighting in the bathrooms should be improved. Reservation communications were NIL
Location: of course there's the casino and movie theatre, exactly 2 (yes two) shops and several restaurant choices all without leaving the compound.
We had to take the "standard" room as all the suites were taken. We can only assume that people who wrote glowing reviews must have stayed in the suites, as the standard room is just below average, and expensive for what you get. So, I had an epiphany after spending 30 minutes at Emperor's Palace.... rich people do not gamble at casinos. Therefore beware... the entire complex is filled with thousands of poor (and certain class) people. Plenty of greasy fast food restaurants (for the poor), and general atmosphere of a loud wild marketplace. To be fair there are also some decent restaurants too. So that is the Emperors Palace context. Now the Hotel... very average but certainly not "value for money". The room was MICROSCOPIC (standard room). We tried to get an executive suite but all booked. Unfortunately the photos do NOT accurately show the standard room size. The bathroom is severely under-lighted. Pillows were too "poofy" (thick) and we both woke up with neck problems. For the rest, the room was clean and "practical" for an overnight. It was helpful having a choice of restaurants within walking distance, and a movie theatre (we saw a big screen movie without have to leave the compound!). However, we would NOT stay here again due to the "atmosphere" around the casino, and the small room. In a desperate pinch we might consider the Executive Suite, but when there are so many guest houses and other options for half the price, we would have to be really desperate.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Houston

Just what an airport hotel should be

Posted Dec 21, 2014
Pros: Airport shuttle, breakfasr
Airport shuttle on schedule. Room clean and nice lines. Breakfast plentiful with good variety.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A complete entertainment experience

Posted Dec 17, 2014
Top of the line attention. Excellent accommodation. Venue is the Las Vegas of Johannesburg on the doorstep of the airport.