Ratings based on 495 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel in the Heart of Sandton

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Fantastic experience with one small exception - the signage to get to my room could do with some improvement. Getting to my room sometimes felt like going through a maze!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Berkshire, England

Friendly hotel in Sandton Business District

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: The staff were great and good facilities. The steak in the Bullrun restaurant is out of this world
We were delighted to be making a return visit to this charming hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. In particular, they went out of their way to help us following an unfortunate incident that resulted in us leaving early unexpectedly. We would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel if you ever need to visit Johannesburg and the local area.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Billings, Montana, USA

Hotel close to SA wall street, but it is dated

Posted Jun 11, 2015
Pros: It' proximity to the mall, and the safe area it was in.
Cons: It needs to be remodeled and the rooms updated.
Location: The mall
The room we got was on a lower (below ground level) floor. Whether this is because we got a "good" rate via the internet, or something else, I don't know, but it was a very cold room. The staff turned the heat to it's maximum of 32 degrees C, but it was still quite cold. The shuttle was nice, but was extremely limited in (within a mile or two) where it would take you. It cost $50 US to go to or get from the airport via Taxi (and more with private shuttle). A nice but quite upscale mall was within shuttle range tho, with a full compliment of mall dining area and shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from n

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Fantastic as always. Having the Bull Run testaurant there as well is a must do.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2015 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear ‘anon’. How wonderful that you had a fantastic stay with us again. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston t.x

try it you'll like it.

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: the gardens and the atmosphere
Cons: eskom
Location: the mall is close and worth the visit
We had every thing we needed and then some nice rooms great staff who went out of their way to make us comfy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear 'patricia'. Thank you for your kind words, especially about our STAFF. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your al round service experience was such a positive one. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from channel islands.

Business trip to sandton

Posted Mar 22, 2015
Pros: Quietness and location of the restaurant the bull run.
Cons: Needs the shopping centre and other eateries and shops re developed
Location: Shopping about 400 metres at nelson Mandela square.
This is still one of my favourite South african hotels but with the adjacent mall being demolished and only the fabulous restaurant the bull run remaining it is now a little far to the only shopping centre left at Mandela square and the towers. The early check in was immediate on my arrival from the early morning ba flight and I would have no hesitation to recommend the hotel. Taxis to the mall cost between 50 and 80 rand and the say to obtain. The staff were all wonderfully attentive and efficient.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 25, 2015 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear 'john'. Your kind words are greatly appreciated. We are very pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Gaborone

Basic experience ito room atmosphere

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Compared to Protea Wanderers, Balalaika has no signature/warmth...like the apple in the room.. Baby cot was provided with no mattress _ an issue I only realised late at night when baby was restless. When I called in the morning, seems this was a workaround that I was not told about.an our The staff just did what was required, but when I called to ask about WiFi I felt I was bothering them. No clear indication of breakfast times, breakfast room or amenities. Very good restaurant staff at Colony.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 19, 2015 by Suzanne, Hotel Management
Dear ‘Sithembile’. Thank you for your feedback. Yes, we are not the typical modern, high-rise hotel, so we would have to disagree that we are ‘no signature/warmth’- our décor style is Colonial/English, which we believe, creates a more welcoming/homely ambience; not to forget our 2 beautiful gardens. It is always of great importance for us to make all our GUESTS feel as valued and special as they are. It is thus concerning for us to read that your experience seemed to have been such a disappointing one. May we ask if you raised this with any of our Management TERAM during your stay? - Thank you for your praise about our Colony STAFF. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Awful stay far away

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
dirty room, run down needs a makeover bad odours, ripp off
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Katherine, Hotel Management
Dear 'Anonymous' Your comments refer. it is concerning to read your feedback. Did you raise any of these with any of our management TEAM during your stay? I am certain that any unhappiness would have been resolved to your satisfaction. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by PETER from South Africa

VERY NOISEY

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
MY WIFE AND I WERE CELEBRATING OUR 36TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY.TO OUR SURPRISE WE WERE WOKEN UP AT MIDNIGHT BY WHAT SOUNDED LIKE CONSTRUCTION WORK ON A SUNDAY EVENING. WHEN I PHONED RECEPTION THEY SAID IT WAS THEIR HOTEL LAUNDROMAT AND THERE WAS NOTHING THEY COULD DO.WE HAD TO ENDURE THE NOISE FOR OVER 3 HOURS AND OBVIOUSLY DID NOT GET MUCH SLEEP. RECEPTION WAS NOT AT ALL FRIENDLY AT CHECK IN AND UNINTERESTED IN OUR PROBLEM ON CHECK OUT. MAIN INTEREST WAS FOR AIRLINE PERSONELL AS MANY AIRLINES USE THIS HOTEL SERVICE AT BREAKFAST WAS VERY POOR BUT THE BREAKFAST WAS GOOD.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 23, 2015 by Katherine, Hotel Management
Dear ‘Peter H’. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. It is very important for us to make all our valued GUESTS feel at home and welcome, plus strive to offer the best GUEST service at all times; it is thus very sad to read that it seems that a part from your room being comfortable & the breakfast buffet being excellent, the rest of your experience was so disappointing. Please be assured that the concerns mentioned to Christine via the telephone have been addressed with the relevant departments. Thank you for taking the time to chat with her. To date, it still seems to be a mystery about the noise that you were woken up from during the one night. - How sad that you chose not to inform our hotel about your special occasion, as it would have been a pleasure to spoil you and your wife. Please feel free to contact Christine, our GUEST Relations Manager for any future assistance. It would be wonderful to welcome you back again. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Rainer from Johannesburg

Business stay over

Posted Mar 4, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel is great, great location, very very friendly staff and always helpful. Only little hickup was checking in as there was a little hold up and not enough staff at the reception. Lord's bar and it's Staff a big +++++ awesome service and even some little snacks while having a beer. Bull Run Restaurant: Outstanding food!!!!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 16, 2015 by Katherine, Hotel Management
Dear ‘Rainer’. Thank you for taking the time to write your feedback. We are pleased to read that your all round experience was such a positive one.Your praise about our Lords Bar STAFF in particular is greatly appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again. Kind regards, Jörg Zwinscher General Manager & TEAM