Ratings based on 619 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Overnighting at the JoBurg Airport

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Pros: This hotel provides a good option of staying 'near' the ariport. The rooms are clean, small like most European style rooms, with a good restaurant
Cons: Better upfront directons on where and when the shuttle to hotel runs.
Location: Only stayed here as another option if you need to overnight at the JoBurg airport.
The Protea at the Johannesburg airport is a good option. Shuttle service is provided, all you have to do is figure out where the shuttle pickup point is located - which after a few questions you will be given directions. This was simply an overnight stay to travel out the next morning on another flight.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Comfortable night

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Stayed here the night after arrival in Jo-berg from USA, and again before flying to Cape Town. Everything was easy and comfortable. Email response to my inquiry about about airport shuttle was quick and info accurate. Shuttle runs every half hour on the hour from the bus stop behind the Intercontinental Hotel. Attentive staff, very comfortable room, decent bar and restaurant. Made our night of arrival easy and comfortable. Our return stay was acknowledged with a nice note and snacks waiting for us in the room. Nice, safe stay at a nice price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to airport, shuttle working perfectly!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Last shuttle waited for us to come out of airport late at night
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very impressed for the price you pay

Posted May 26, 2015
I loved my time at the protea OR Tambo. The rooms exceeded my expectations especially with the price you pay. Overall very happy and would recommend it to anyone
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Hôtel au design sympa mais beaucoup trop bruyant

Posted May 10, 2015
Nuit en transit compliquée. L'hôtel, au décor plutôt sympathique est totalement ouvert et le bruit monte dans les chambres. Il est préférable d'avoir une chambre en étage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Florida

Comfortable hotel near the airport

Posted May 5, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: They should make the free airport shuttle service more obvious. You only find out after you are at the hotel.
This hotel is close to the Joburg airport, but quiet and comfortable. It has a wonderful vibe with great local decor and amenities. The staff was excellent, the rooms are clean and the food was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sivuyile from EL

pleasant stay

Posted May 4, 2015 on Hotels
Friendly staff. Very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

dicht bij het vliegveld redelijk geluiddicht

Posted May 1, 2015
Pros: kamer en het ontbijt
Cons: beter verstaanbaar personeel. Zeker als er zoveel Nederlanders per dag /week komen, kan een informatiemap in je eigen taal uitkomst bieden
mooi hotel wat dicht bij het vliegveld dicht.Personeel mag beter -verstaanbaar...- Engels spreken. Kamers zijn groot en heerlijk schoon. Het ontbijt verdient alle lof. Een prima hotel voor een nacht overblijf
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

They had construction work going on

Posted Apr 27, 2015
They had construction work going on till late at night, which made it hard to sleep at night due to noise. The restaurant staff were not as efficient and fast in taking food orders .