Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Gaylefrom Ohio

Nice and convenient but...

Posted Dec 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
The evening I arrived, there was a huge queue at the desk. It took me over an hour to get a room already reserved. The clerk had rooms but couldn't get housekeeping to prepare them. Ridiculous! She tried her best but even after having spoken to someone higher in management, the housekeeping person was sullen and slow.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Stephenfrom NYC

Great for long layovers in OR Tambo Airport

Posted Dec 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good place to spend during long layovers at OR Tambo. Rooms are clean and comfortable ... and quiet. My only problem is that my hotels.com reservation was not received and I had to pay a higher rate for the six hour room. They told me they have IT problems and this was not unusual.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by charlottefrom caen

parfait

Posted Dec 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
propre, calme, confortable
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Canada

Don't get mixed up with Protea Hotel OR Tambo.

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Pros: Modern.
Cons: Shuttle.
Location: Not sure, had a very short layover.
I booked an earlier stay at Protea Hotel OR Tambo, thinking this reservation was the same. Only found out I was at wrong hotel when I went to check in at Protea Hotel OR Tambo. As I had already left the airport, I couldn't return to the "Transit" hotel in the terminal. Make sure you know which hotel you are in when arriving! I didn't stay long enough to eat so cannot comment on that. Room was small but very modern and clean. The shuttle I requested to pick me up at Rhodesfield Gautrain Station, took over 45 minutes to arrive from when they were suppose to be there. I had to call 3-4 times. Ended up missing my flight. So if they take you to the Rhodesfield Gautrain station (you use to Gautrain to get to Sandton) and they promise to pick you up, make sure they know you read this post.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Germainfrom Lubumbashi. RDCongo

le plaisir d'un séjour

Posted Nov 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Le séjour était agréable. le lieu est bien calme. Ce confort permet à un voyageur de disposer d'un lieu de travail pour affiner son programme, bien travailler. J'ai bien mis à jour la conférence dans sa phase finale pour une présentation qui a été un succès au lieu de destination.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Paris

Attention a l'acces

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: Qualité de la chambre et de la literie
Cons: Information concernant les limitations d’accès.
Hotel très pratique si vous êtes en correspondance à Johannesburg. Par contre ATTENTION et en plus personne ne vous le dira, si vous y allez vous ne pourrez pas récupérer vos bagages en soute. Alors bagages à main seulement ou bien vous prenez avec vous le nécessaire pour la nuit et abandonnez vos bagages, pour les retrouver le lendemain. A part cela très belle grande chambre, aucun service mais on en demande pas, confortable.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by michelfrom Sao paulo

Muito cuidado ao reservar

Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
Cuidado ao fazer sua reserva! Tem dois hoteis protea no aeroporto no site sendo que esse que eu fiz e o transit dentro do aeroporto! Nao consegui me hospedar no hotel pois vc so pode entrar nele antes da imigracao se passar da imigracao para para pegar sua mala nao consegue voltar para o hotel! Vale dizer q quem esta nesse hotel tambem nao pode sair dele! Resumindo esse hotel so pode ser utilizado para quem esta em conexao de voo internacional e sua mala esteja etiquetada para o destino final pois vc tambem nao pode retirar ela para levar ao hotel! Qto ao hotel nao posso avaliar pois nas minhas duas reservas nao consegui entrar e estou solicitando junto ao site o reembolso! Tomem cuidado para nao perder o dh e ficar sem hotel como eu fiquei! Acabei pagando uma outra diaria no protea norm e nao o transit
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Natalie

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by B. Webberfrom Seattle

Posted Sep 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
great place to kill TWELVE hours between flights and the bed was unuaually comfortable as were the linens!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Lauriefrom USA

Great Stay for an Overnight in Jo'burg

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
How convenient for a stop over. It was nice to do some shopping in duty free in the evening and then you just take the elevator down to the airport for your early morning flight.