Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2015
Pleasurable stay. Great meals. Recommended for good holiday experience
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was great, Front Desk was not informative

Posted Nov 26, 2014
Pros: Difficult time departing due to unknow parking fee.
I purchased room online. Room details were (2) double beds, smoking room, and Breakfast to be included in room price. Requested details were also listed on confirmation when it was sent to me. Upon check in, not details were disclosed or verified by person at front desk. When arriving at room, Rm 2202, there was 1 king bed & it was a No smoking room. I notified front desk, they replied they would check for availibility of room with 2 beds & smoking. I requested that just provide a smoking room and I would use any bed type. They accomadated us by coming to this room and gave me the key to a smoking room rm 1401 and they left. At that time we collected our luggage and went to rm 1401. I return the Rm 2202 key to front desk approx 2 hrs later. The next morning we had the breakfast buffett that I purchased online. After breakfast we proceeded to check out. The front desk requested that I pay for 2 buffett. I informed them that I had payed for room online and breakfast was included and added to room price. They informed me it was not and requested addition approx. 270.00r. I paid this with debit card. Upon leaving check out, proceeded to parking garage and attempted to leave. I inserted parking ticket in machine and LED indicated time exceeded. I rang button on machine, they ask I return to front desk and pay 20r. They stated that my ticket was 3hrs over limit. I My entire time at your establishment was exactly 3 hrs. See below the rest of my experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton. I would like to apologise for the bad experience you had at the hotel, this is not the usual service offered and will be looked into. We will discuss the room option available with Expedia as we do not offer any rooms with 2 double beds unfortunately. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maputo

Great for all sorts of occasions

Posted Nov 25, 2014
My first stay, as I usually stay at the sister Gautrain hotel next door (very good too). The staff is amazing, from Jimmy at the entrance, to Ntombi, Lerato and Nicholas at the reception. The wifi is great, the food and the bar service too. If anything, the rooms should have usb ports and power outlets next to the beds. Will certainly return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review on Expedia.com. I am pleased to hear you experienced our 'Yes I Can!' Service from the team right from the Concierge to the Reception and onwards - I will be sure to commend the team for their superior efforts. I look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2014
Great hotel. Good service. Would stay at again on next business trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for your review on Expedia.com. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 21, 2014
Pros: everything else.
Cons: Keep Gym open longer.
slow check-in. Staff lied to me when I asked them questions they did not know the answer to. Please teach your staff to say : I do not know. Or even better. Educate your staff on basic hotel functions. Your guests are not idiots.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for your review on Expedia.com. I am sorry to hear of your poor experience on your most recent visit. This is not the kind of attitude we strive to offer and will be looked into. This is an indication of a need for training and I am glad this has been pointed out in order for us to take action. I hope that you will give us an opportunity to redeem ourselves and meet and exceed your expectations on your next visit. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Maputo

Modern and comfortable hotel

Posted Nov 18, 2014
Pros: Location, facilities, internet access, and staff.
Modern and comfortable hotel in the heart of Johannesburg business and commercial Sandton district.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for your review on Expedia.com. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Uruguay

Perfect hotel!

Posted Nov 10, 2014
the only bad thing is that it is not connected to Mandela Square but they have a shuttle
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on Expedia.com. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and made use of our complimentary shuttle to Nelson Mandela square. I look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom MIA

Great stay in Joburg

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Love the hotel. Exceptional staff, great views and fantastic breakfast. My new home away from home in SA.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton on Expedia.com. Your feedback is most welcome and is very satisfying when we hear that your stay was as enjoyable as yours. I look forward to welcoming you back when your travels bring you back to the area. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Hotel in a good location

Posted Oct 16, 2014
4 of us spent 2 nights here - staying for the rugby match at Ellis Park . Very good value , and conveniently situated for Sandton Square.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Expedia.com. I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Altaffrom Dar es salaam

Amazing 5 days of stay makes me wanna come back!

Posted Oct 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
The best hotel stay I have experianced! the staff was excellent and so was the hotel in my opinion I give 10 stars!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 31, 2014 by Kurt, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay on Hotels.com. We appreciate your feedback as we continuously strive to improve on the services offered to our guests. I look forward to welcoming you back in the New Year. With kind regards, Volkan Vural General Manager