Ratings based on 7 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom USA

Perfection.

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Pros: Everything. One of the best hotels in the world.
Cons: Larger gym but was good! I like coffee maker in the room, but not a deal breaker. Maybe more private pool area for hotel guests away from day visitors
Location: Gorgeous setting. Safe. I didn't even want to leave the property.
Perfection. Staff, spa, room, shower (one of the best showers in the world), bed, the setting, food! It does not get much better than the Saxon. Worth every penny.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Derek Martin , Hotel Management
Good Day, Firstly we would like to thank you for selecting the Saxon Hotel on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also for taking the time to write us this amazing 5 star review. We are really pleased to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay with us and we are really thrilled to hear that you feel your stay was complete value for money. Once again thank you very much for taking the time to write this amazing review and we really look forward to welcoming you back in the near future,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Surrey Hills, UK

Outstanding hotel.

Posted Feb 3, 2015
The Saxon is one of the great hotels in the world. Elegant, discreet, very secure, it is a joy to be there. Outstanding architecture with spectacular interiors. I have returned to it over the past 12 years and look forward to our next stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 12, 2015 by Derek Martin , Hotel Management
Good Day, Firstly we would like to thank you very much for your continuous support over the last 12 years, it is always great for regulars such as yourselves to give us this amazing 5 star review. Once again we would like to thank you for all the support and we really look forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa on your next visit to South Africa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by patrickfrom Valbonne

Une merveille hors du commun

Posted Jan 14, 2015 on Hotels.com
Une journée entière et une nuit dans cet hôtel... Un rêve absolu. Seul petit bémol, question de ne pas en ajouter en superlatifs : peut-être un personnel un petit peu trop présent... Nous sommes très exigeants sur la qualité de l'hôtelerie et Depuis que nous voyageons, c'est la première fois que nous avons ce sentiment de totale satisfaction. Par ailleurs, la décoration et les objets de collection d'art africain et asiatique présents partout font de cette maison, qui a accueilli Mandela avant et après sa captivité, un lieu unique chargé d'histoire. Un seul conseil, si vous faites un séjour, aussi court soit-il, à Johannesburg, découvrez cet hôtel magnifique.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Firstly we would like to thank you very much for making the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and South Africa and also for taking the time to give us this amazing 5 star review. We are really pleased to hear that a well traveled couple finds our hotel of the highest quality and that you really enjoyed your time with us, Once again thank you for selecting the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa for your stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Africa,
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 28, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Firstly we would like to thank you very much for making the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and South Africa and also for taking the time to give us this amazing 5 star review. We are really pleased to hear that a well traveled couple finds our hotel of the highest quality and that you really enjoyed your time with us, Once again thank you for selecting the Saxon Hotel, Villas and Spa for your stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to South Africa,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mumbai

It was a very warm and welcoming hotel.

Posted Jan 7, 2015
Pros: The hotel was fully serviced with gym, swimming pool, great food, ;lots of places to relax and super staff.
Cons: the pool was cloudy so i didn't use it.
Location: we didnt get a chance to step out.
We felt very well looked after as though we were at home.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you very much for making the Saxon Hotel your home away from home on your recent visit to Johannesburg and also thank you very much for the great 5 star review. We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that all your expectations were met, we really are looking forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel in the new year. Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Andrew

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day Andrew, Thank you very much for the 5 star review, it is truly appreciated. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel on the very near future,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Melbourne Australia

Fabulous place to stay.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: It's friendliness and detail to all our needs. The car drivers supplied by the hotel were excellent,
Cons: Nothing to improve.
Location: Location is in a lovely part of johannesburg. We went to the Soweto one day and ate the local food,We went to the Apartheid Museum which is a must.
Our stay at The Saxon Johannesburg was fantastic. Staff very courteous and on the ball for anything you needed. Food was first class and so were the evenings sitting out on the Terrace having a cocktail as the sun settled. I felt extremely safe with all aspects of our. Our room had a lovely view over the gardens too. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 4, 2014 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you very much for selecting the Saxon Hotel as your Hotel of choice on your recent visit to Johannesburg, we are very pleased that your stay surpassed all your expectations and that you really enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you very much for your kind words, we will be sure to pass your message of compliments to the entire team at the Saxon Hotel. We really look forward to welcoming you back to the Saxon Hotel in the new future, Kind Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom London

Gated Luxury

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Pros: The impeccable level of service and attention to detail; wonderful spa and great dining at "500"
An amazing level of luxury and service in this cocoon with wonderful accommodation, food, service and facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 14, 2015 by Derek Martin, Hotel Management
Good Day, Thank you very much for this amazing 5 star review and the very kind words, we are extremely happy that all your expectations were met during your stay and we really look forward to welcoming you back again on your next visit to South Africa, Kind Regards