Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by LEN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 2, 2015 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

my stay at the hotel

Posted Jan 23, 2015 on Hotels.com
My stay was excellent. Only that i wasnt pleased with the front desk i saw on my arrival. She was wasnt happy at all. But overally the stay was fantastik
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Miloudfrom Paris

Complètement isolé

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels.com
Loin de tout. Navette quartier commerçant à US$12. Navette aéroport à US$40. Repas en snack uniquement au Pub. Il vaudrait mieux choisir un autre hôtel dans quartier animé.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Gailfrom Florida

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel service was slow but their presentation was quaint and very sweet. Always ready to accommodate. The hotel lobby was wonderfully Victorian and reminiscent of previous glorious days. The cleanliness of my room could have been better. But, I think that is due to the high traffic volume because the carpet was stained and I never felt as if I could take my shoes off until I went to bed. A lot of dust in the closets and in various areas. The comfort of the bed was satisfactory. I was so tired when I arrived that comfort was appreciated. The hotel is in an area where it is not advisable to walk about at night. It was fortunate that the grounds are lovely enough to enjoy and relax I didn't feel a need to stroll around. All in all it was a nice place, and, I loved the employees.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Werner Maraisfrom South Africa

Good hotel for business overnight stay

Posted Jul 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good comfortable hotel for a one night business overnight stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Crismanfrom Oregon

Classy place

Posted Jul 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Beautiful, old style historic site that recalls the days of opulent colonialism and British rule, but not in a negative way. The service staff is attentive and very friendly. The food is good and well priced but not outstanding. I will stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pretoria

Posted Jun 22, 2014
Pros: good breakfast excellent location friendly staff
Location: close to Killarney mall easy highway access close to JHB General Hospital
beautiful hotel with Victorian feel staff friendly & helpful excellent location
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Mannan101from Canada

Good value for money

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
iIt was quite good. Excellent food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Kibouterfrom Cape Town

Not bad

Posted May 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
I found the rooms rather small, and the bathroom didn't have a window or a decent extractor fan. I liked the old-world ambiance though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rolandfrom Lilongwe, Malawi

Very Nice Stay

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: The character, the history, the quietness, the amazing breakfast
Cons: TV System, picture needs to be clear and have a decent selection of premium channels such as Discovery Channel, History Channel etc.
Location: Centrally located in the middle of Johanneburg
I loved this hotel and I stay a lot on hotels, it is set in the middle of Johannesburg but you would hardly know that, the hotel is surrounded by big well established gardens. There is no noise, no cars, no police sirens, no disco's banging away, just lovely blissful silence. The hotel structure is old but well maintained, the rooms we had were big and spacious compared to anything that I have recently stayed in, you can swing a tiger by its tail and not hit anything. I had one light in the bathroom malfunction and reported it whilst going to breakfast, when I got back to the room 20minutes later it was repaired already, very fast and efficient. The breakfast is fantastic, good selection for any taste. The only complaint that I have is the television system in my room, the channel selection was not very good, and 3 days into the stay even CNN was unavailable. The pictures of all the available channels were not clear but it might have just been my room. I hope that I will get a chance to spend more time at this hotel in the future.