Ratings based on 474 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from germany

Never again

Posted Jun 14, 2015
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Staff and room quality
Location: Near to airport
Worst personal staff ever, they are always trying to sell their own services (eg. Taxis). I didnt receive support of the staff regarding places to go or recommendations. They refused to give a city map. Hotel amenities quite basic and official photos completelly lies. Rooms made completely out of concrete
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tx

Close to the airport

Posted Jun 13, 2015
No problem with transfers from and back to the airport to.good breakfast.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from South Africa

Hotel close to Airport

Posted Jun 4, 2015
Pros: Breakfast
Cons: See above
Location: O.R Tambo
I am not a complaining person in general, and I also don't want become one. My comments will be to encourage and to better instead of just being negative. Although I got an excellent deal through expedia, I do feel that the price is a bit high if you book directly. Being a designer (architect/interior designer) i look at stuff somewhat different. The theme and design of the spaces were very funky, but the small detail lack....for instance in my room the only towel available was on the shower floor....nicely folded but still. Although toilet paper roll was folded the 'hotel way', it was not a full role. The 'skirting tile' in the shower was dirty. Two of the channels didn't work. The beds weren't aligned 90 degrees with the walls.....u see i nit pick now, which seems ridiculous and i know you not a five star hotel, but it is small things that cost nothing that can give the impression you spend your money well. The staff was however excellent at reception, the breakfast fantastic and the breakfast staff friendly and helpful. The biggest negative was our airport transport back. Apparently you have a service every half hour on the hour.....our flight came out 9:10 so i thought we would be lucky to catch the 9:30 transfer. when it was 10:15 I phoned the hotel reception and they sent the driver which pitched up at 10:18. So it was a long wait, and it got frustrating seeing the other hotels transfer arriving every 20 minutes. I happens app. alot according. to the airport staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brighton

poor standard of room

Posted May 25, 2015
Pros: close to airport
Cons: clean up the rooms
Location: near airport
bathroom was dirty, tiles missing and rot in woodwork
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

To run down, to noisy, staff other than chef in he

Posted Apr 20, 2015
Pros: Bed was big and comfortable
Cons: Everything could use improving, staff, conditions, sound proofing
Location: Only used hotel for location to airport, but driver wasn't very helpful
The shuttle was late from the airport, wanted to get an early dinner, was told only a buffet was available and would start around 6:30, after 7:30 it still hadn't started. Room was noisy, and in desperate need of repairs and updating. Next morning after telling driver I was leaving from international terminal he dropped me off at domestic causing me a 15 minute walk with two pieces of luggage and a box. Breakfast was just ok,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Philip from Rotterdam

Stop over

Posted Mar 23, 2015 on Hotels
Laat aangekomen met shuttle taxi, helaas bar al dicht. Volgende morgen vroeg ontbijt , wat uitstekend was, daarna weer vertrek met shuttle nair liegveld. Goede service..
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Christina from Australia

Aviator review

Posted Mar 19, 2015 on Hotels
I don't` think I`ll stay again at this hotel. The toilet had no water and we had to fill it with the dustbin bucket every time we used it. On a positive note the breakfast, included in the price, was great. The neighbourhood is unfortunately scary
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pity about the food

Posted Mar 14, 2015
Pros: Staff.
Location: Nothing to do nearby
Service good except for the food. 6-30pm had a choice of R140 buffet or nothing. Breakfast at 8-30 am was poor. No bacon, no sausage and no beans. The hotel is good. Bed good. Staff helpful but let down by the catering. Take plenty of money for the bar. Bottle of local beer R28. Glass of wine R48.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from France

Proche de l'aéroport

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Pros: Le cadre rétro.
Cons: Tout est payant même qq heures à passer en plus dans votre chambre pour attendre votre vol.Ex: Pour 2h. de plus 350 Rands à votre charge.
Location: Je ne suis resté qu'une nuit??????Mais la proximité pas terrible.
Je conseille cette hôtel uniquement pour 1 nuit.Pour un séjour, à éviter, trop proche de l'aéroport.Bruit incessant de passage d'avion pratiquement au dessus de l'hôtel.Pour passer de bonnes vacances et se reposer, vraiment à déconseiller.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Cristina from Madagascar

The Aviator Flies High

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
I am fond of the Aviator and stay at the hotel every time I pass through Johannesburg. The atmosphere is warm and the rooms are simple, well-maintained, and well-equipped. All electronics and appliances always work. It is a very well-managed hotel.