Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Uttoxeter, UK

A gem. Nestled in the heart of Houghton District

Posted Dec 6, 2014
Pros: 3 pianos. Cosy corners. Log fires. Romantic setting. Intimate bar. Quiet dinners. Good food.
Cons: Jacuzzi was a bit too warm for us in summer - but we only tried it on a whim!
Location: Dave at Khakiweed tours. Unbelievable fun in Pilanesberg. Apartheid museum - Mandela exhibit is spellbinding.
A great hotel. Very much worth the money and a very comfortable stay. Attentive gracious service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxen nach der Flugreise

Posted Nov 29, 2014
Pros: Gutes Hotel zum Relaxen. Man fühlt sich sehr sicher und gut aufgehoben.
Hatte eine sehr schöne Suite mit Wohn- und Schlafzimmer und einem eigenen kleinen Gartenbereich! Einrichtung wie aus dem Home & Garden-Katalog. Viel Schnickschnack und irgendwie sehr gemütlich. Obwohl ich vor dem offiziellen Check-in eintraf konnte ich mein Zimmer schon eher beziehen, was nach der langen Flugreise sehr entspannend war. Dafür allein gibt es bei mir alle Pluspunkte. Die Lage ist gut zur M1 gelegen, man ist also schnell auf der Autobahn. Sonst ist das Hotel eigentlich nur per Taxi/Shuttle erreichbar. Auch wenn die Gegend gut ist, würde ich da nicht rumlaufen. Die Hotelküche könnte etwas besser sein, die Erwartungen waren hier natürlich hoch. Viel "Effekt" auf dem Teller - die Qualität der Zutaten und Zusammenstellung ist allerdings nur "ok" aber nicht überwältigend. Das Frühstück war allerdings hervorragend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

A must in Johannesburg

Posted Nov 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
Excellent service, beautiful hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent facilities and lovely setting.

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Wonderful. Cannot recommend it highly enough. Wonderful service and beautiful decor. the Spa is also excellent.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Loved this hotel

Posted Nov 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel was terrific. Maybe because we're used to American hotels, this one seemed so special. The hotel people can't do enough for you, the hotel itself is very interesting architecturally, and lots of little extras like the sherry in the room, complimentary drinks and snacks, chocolate before bed. Nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom NJ

A classy, sylish oasis in Johannesburg

Posted Oct 21, 2014
Pros: The decor, the ambiance, the attention of the staff and the amenities.
Location: You need to take a taxi wherever you go. We used the services of the hotel to arrange a drop off and pick up services.
This hotel more than met our expectations. Like most places in Johannesburg, The Residence is behind gates and once you enter, you are treated to a 'residence' that reflects the good taste and attention to details that comes from a consummate 'designer'. We loved everything about his place. While our dinner was there was somewhat disappointing from a taste perspective, the environment, the service and the delivery more than made up for our disappointment. We were just sorry we had not booked a long stay so we might have enjoyed more of the activities available--a spa; a lovely pool; beautiful gardens; a relaxing lounge. The only caveat is not to leave money or valuables lying around in your room and don't assume that because the Hotel links you up with a taxi driver, you are assured of 'fair' rates. Having said that however, don't think twice about where to stay in Johannesburg.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by SKfrom NZ

Fantastic boutique hotel

Posted Oct 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our second stay and just as good as the first. Had the pool villa suite this time and well worth it. The hotel is small. Staff very attentive and friendly. Lots of good lounges for privacy. Good food. Nicely decorated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom North Carolina, USA

A luxury hotel with an authentic African feel

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The feel of vintage Africa with the decor in the rooms as well as around the property. The main thing that we enjoyed most was the service.
Cons: Honestly we were only there for one night and do not have any negative experiences to share.
Location: The location is about 15 minutes or so from center city and due to our short duration we did not leave the property or have the need too.
Our experience at the Residence Boutique Hotel could not have been more pleasant. The service was 5 star and overall experience from the staff to the rooms was excellent. They treat their guests like they are royalty but at the same time leave you with a feeling of warmth and peace. My wife and I were on our honeymoon and we had an amazing experience even though it was just for one night. We will 100% recommend this hotel and visit again in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Lancashire, UK

A hidden Gem

Posted Oct 6, 2014
Pros: A real boutique hotel that we will use again the next time we pass through J'Burg.
Cons: Not much!
Location: A quiet spot, we visited the Apartheid Museum and then chilled out.
Excellent attention to detail, great food and very helpful staff. Next time we'll be sure to arrange a pick up from the airport rather than getting a taxi to the hotel. Outstanding setting and great food.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Antonio

Comfortably elegant

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We stayed at Residence as an overnight stop en route from Kruger to Cape Town. We had made the selection based on Expedia user ratings. Little did we know that this would be one of the most delightful hotel stays ever. This inn was more comfortably elegant than places we have stayed at over three times the cost. The service, the food, the setting, the attention to detail all far exceeded any expectations. The staff made us feel like their most important guests without being pretentious or overbearing. They provided a driver to take us wherever we wanted to go. The location in Houghton is a high end residential area that is serene and secure. The meals in the restaurant were gourmet delicacies and were very reasonably priced. I would recommend this facility to anyone. I only wish that we had been staying longer. The only reason I give it a five star ranking is because there is not a higher choice!