Ratings based on 95 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
5.0 Room comfort
5.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Newport Beach CA

Posted Jun 30, 2015
Amazing Service!!!!!!!!! I have never experienced such service!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Brighton

Just WOW!!!

Posted May 26, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Bigger Gym
We had a 36 hour stop over in J'burg so decided to treat ourselves to a nice looking hotel and spa. We got picked up in a Rolls Royce buy a lovely guy called Lucky. On arrival we were greeted by all the front of house of staff and a sherry. The room was very luxurious and comfy. The bed was massive!!! In the eve we headed down to the bar for a could of brilliant cocktails before an amazing meal. To finish out trip we had an afternoon in the SPA. IT was amazing! The were very professional and very good and what they did. Would love to stay in this hotel for ever!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from san francisco ca

Top notch

Posted May 14, 2015
Pros: Our wonderful private deck/hot tub, solicitous staff, variety of comfortable public rooms, sense of privacy.
Cons: Food was very, very good, but I would have liked to see vegetable side dishes on the menu.
Location: Hotel is in Houghton suburb, quiet and beautiful, easy transport to local attractions via hotel drivers/arrangements.
A wonderful place to rest and recover from a long journey. Excellent management and service, wonderful rooms with great charm and all the mod cons. Wifi everywhere. Good dining options. I can't say enough about what a good experience our stay was.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda from Perth, WA

Great staff!

Posted Apr 20, 2015 on Hotels
My boyfriend and I stayed here for only one night, we wish it had been longer, as we would have liked to take advantage of the pools and tennis court. The hotel is beautiful, with stunning chandeliers, gorgeous artworks, an abundance of antiques and plush furnishings. This however would of meant nothing if it were not for the great staff. We thank you Emmanuel, Keith, Martin and Simon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

exceptional hotel

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: tennis court
Location: central, around corner from Nelson Mandela's last residence. Driver available to get to tours and return home. Collected from Train station in RR.
when I read a review from a well travelled person said it was the best hotel he had ever been to, I thought it must be a bit of a stretch, until I stayed in it. This hotel is truly an exceptional hotel. Another review said they passed up a day of sight seeing to stay in the hotel, and I can certainly understand why. Great position, very well decorated, spotless, staff always very friendly, happy, and accommodating. The room had a balcony, overlooked tennis court, the only slightly down side in that it was not perfect, had 2 pools, 1 heated and always available, again spotless. The meals were superb and eating positions for all meals very pleasurable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Apr 6, 2015
We only needed a place for one night before heading to London and San Francisco. This place was absolutely phenomenal. The room was spacious and perfectly appointed, the restuarant superb and the environment incredible. As we had a late flight out of Joburg, the management offered to store our bags and allow us to continue being guests at the property until we had to leave for the airport in the late afternoon. I'm so glad we found this place and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it to anyone looking for style, comfort and divine dining.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Loved it

Posted Mar 11, 2015 on Hotels
Everything you read and more
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Owen from UK

Your home you wish for, away from home

Posted Mar 9, 2015 on Hotels
The Residence call themselves your home away from home, you will wish your home was like this!! The residence is an amazing experience. Following reviews from trip advisor I decided the last night of our adventure in SA would be here... Our driver took us to the hotel, and from there on, it was an amazing experience, It was like stepping back in time... The level of service and focus on detail is astounding. Daniel the duty manager greeted us and our bags were taken to our room, as we were show the facilities, all of the staff were superb, but Ramboe and Martin both deserve to be singled out as excellent, a real credit to the Residence. Stay at the residence, and you will not be disappointed. If you want a really special experience, stay in the Penthouse. It was divine, with a private Jacuzzi on one of your 2 private decks!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Melody from Tiburon, CA

A diamond in South Africa

Posted Feb 10, 2015 on Hotels
We celebrated our 17th anniversary at this hotel completing a 2-week luxury adventure in South Africa. The hotel surpassed our expectations and is truly a gem in every way. The décor, service and ambiance made for a memorable and very romantic stay. I highly recommend this hotel!