Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Sao Paulo/Brazil

Very good.

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Pros: Good rooms at a very good price.
Location: Close to the airport (secondary)
It was only a night. The room was clean, silent and has a good size. In the morning we saw a bunch of animals inside the propery, which is an advantage of the hotel. Zebras and antelopes were around us when we walked to our car early in the morning what was pretty cool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Marciafrom Portland, Oregon, U.S.A.

Lovely!

Posted Oct 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was wonderful!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Gramama3from USA

Zulu Nyala Country Manor

Posted Dec 5, 2013
Pros: It is in a lovely rural type setting which is relaxing and pretty.
Cons: The furniture in my room was worn which made it feel like it wasn't extremely clean.
Location: It's 45+ minutes from the OR Tambo airport. In traffic is can be much farther. The cost of a taxi is from 550 rand to 800 rand depending on traffic.
I enjoyed my stay. I heard the birds singing all day. The decor is what we might considered 'typical' African with real thatch roofs, sofas with animal prints, etc. The main sitting room is nice and they have a computer for guests. There is a restaurant where they are very happy to please by making special dishes for special dietary requests. I enjoyed the breakfast where they had warm croissants fresh from the oven. I had some travel problems and the staff bent over backwards to help me out. All the staff is super nice. It is off the 'beaten path' which one should know before booking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amandafrom Detroit

Nice hotel for on your way to/from the airport

Posted Oct 9, 2013
Pros: Staff was excellent and accommodating. The room was comfy and clean.
Cons: Water pressure in some rooms. The pools could be cleaner. Menu for dinner.
Location: 30 mins from OR Tambo. Mall 3 miles away with mainstream stores and restaurants.
I always get nervous when I'm traveling abroad and a hotel is incredibly affordable and still has a decent number of stars... this hotel did not disappoint. It's about 30 minutes away from OR Tambo, pretty close to a nice mall where you can pick up anything your forgot or grab a bite to eat. The rooms were very large, comfy beds, huge bathroom with tub and shower. We stayed here two separate nights (one coming into SA and the night before we left SA), the first room had excellent water pressure, the second had horrible water pressure and it was difficult to get hot water. That's really my only complaint. There are Zebra's on location as well as two pools. They only offer a buffet for dinner and it's a little pricey ($20US), I'd recommend going to the nearby mall if you have a vehicle.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

hotel close to Lenseria airport

Posted Oct 8, 2013
Pros: food
Cons: room quality , should be refurbished seems to be date back to 60s
It is a good compromise between price and services , very good staff and delicious South African food. suggested
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Perfect

Posted Oct 5, 2013
Nice and quiet place , very friendly staff. enjoyed our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff!

Posted Aug 20, 2013
Location: We had a great tour of Johannesburg. The cultural village visit was very worthwhile. We enjoyed the animals at Lion Park--especially the male lions!
The surroundings were beautiful. The staff was so friendly and helpful. A driver was always available to take us on excursions. We had a wonderful time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Carlenefrom California

Awesome gem outside of Johannesburg

Posted Jul 2, 2013
Pros: Away from hustle of J'Burg but still close enough to get to airport within 30 minutes.
Location: Near J'Burg, Cradle of Mankind, Soweto, Apartheid Museum, Bush Baby Sanctuary
We stayed here 1 night before flying home from Johannesburg. It's a quaint place to stay...the rooms are large, staff very friendly (let me print boarding passes at 9:00 at night!), free breakfast buffet (it's HUGE...awesome fruit platters and great variety of food for meat eaters and vegetarians). The dinner buffet was ~$20/person and amazing...lot's of food! There are zebra, peacocks and nyala on property as well as horses and dogs. Rooms had AC/heat and fan. Very pleasant atmosphere with water fountains around and lots of tropical plants...well maintained!! Wish I knew about this earlier and would have definitely used it as a "home-base" to explore around J'Burg.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 27, 2013 on Hotels.com